We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

B+B Edinburgh

PricelineUS$ 171*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 268*
US$ 171*
Great Deal
US$ 214*
US$ 206*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
B+B Edinburgh
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

664 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for B+B Edinburgh
See the most recent reviews
Showing 539: English reviews
Milan, Italy
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The B+B was located in a posh area of Edinburgh, just a few yards away from Princes St. The room was comfortable and clean, and the staff was very friendly. Similarly, the breakfast was good, with a choice of continental and Scottish dishes cooked on order, but with a limited supply of bread and juices (but toasts were provided on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank danyIM3
Tania F, Duty Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear daniloIM, Thank you for your nice review, we are glad to hear that you had a great experience with us at B+B Edinburgh and your review is much appreciated. We are happy you found our building to be in a very central area, just a few minutes walk from Princes St and that you enjoyed the comfort of our...

Edinburgh
Reviewed 19 April 2017

Good location, cleanliness and room quality. Breakfast service could have been better. The staff was rather hectic and stressed, argueing loudly in the kitchen. Food was good. Occasional noise from other rooms. Altogether, recommended.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 963timol
Tania F, Duty Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear 963timol, Many thanks for sharing your review and for your positive feedback on our rooms and great location. We apologize for your experience during the breakfast service, which was due to an unforeseen circumstances. We are glad to hear, however, that the quality of our food was up to your expectations!. Kindest regards, Tania.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed at B+B Edinburgh over the Easter weekend. The entrance is very grand, as was the library and dining room. A very beautiful building indeed. The staff were incredibly welcoming and friendly. The room although clean and tidy was however a little disappointing. The room itself is spacious ( a family room) consisting of a double bed ( two singles...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank omayo5
Tania F, Duty Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Omayo 5, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at B+B Edinburgh. We are glad to hear that you loved the building. It is indeed a charming place. We confirm that an ongoing maintenance and redecoration plan is in place, to ensure that all the rooms are at the highest standard. We hope we will have...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 16 April 2017

This building is beautiful. The receiption area, dining room and library are lovely, However, our room was disappointing. While it was clean it was definitely in need of some TLC. The paint in the entrance was chipped and the walls had scuff marks on it. Our room was like an attic room with a skylight which gave us a wonderful...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Karyn S
Edinburgh
Reviewed 9 April 2017

Beautiful property, excellent friendly staff, comfy beds, clean bathrooms. Very dog friendly - they even set up a table for us for breakfast in the bar so our dog could be with us. Pretty central yet really quiet - easy to walk to most places from here. We love this place. This was our second visit and we wouldn't hesitate...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 536cord
Tania F, Duty Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear 536cord, We would like to thank you for sharing your nice review! We were happy to welcoming you once again at B+B Edinburgh! We are delighted to hear that you, and your lovely dog, enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you had a safe journey and we look forward to seeing you again for your third visit. Kindest...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 April 2017

Great location and accomodation. Potential for improvement on the breakfast side but overall highly recommend staying there when visiting Edinburgh..very good location only a few mins walk from the castle and restaurants. Great value for money.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin B
Tania F, Duty Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Benjamin B, We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us at B+B Edinburgh. We feel lucky to work in suck a beautiful building, in a great location within a quiet area but also close to the city center, and also surrounded by many choices to eat and drink. We are looking forward to welcoming you...

Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 April 2017

Four of us booked 3 nights here so we could explore Edinburgh. The hotel only offers bed & breakfast, which was ideal for us. Our 2 rooms were comfortable and very clean and tidy throughout our stay. Breakfast was a mixture of self service continental plus waiter service for a selection on cooked options, including the "Full Scottish". After 9am,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay G
Tania F, Duty Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Lindsay G, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of B+B Edinburgh. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are lucky indeed to be in such a central but quiet part of town, making it easy for exploring everything that the city has to offer. We look forward to your...

Edinburgh
Reviewed 5 April 2017

- Spacious and modern room - Friendly staff - Area and building with a lot of charm - A la carte breakfast and in addition a small buffet - Central and quiet location Conclusion: All in all a successful stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank happyguest849
Tania F, Duty Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear happyguest849, Thank you for your 5 star reviews! We are happy to hear that you had a memorable experience staying us at B+B Edinburgh. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kindest regards, Tania.

Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewed 31 March 2017

We recently had an excellent stay at B+B Edinburgh. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room was spacious and absolutely spotless. We especially enjoyed the wonderful breakfasts every morning. The location is good and is only a 10-15 minute walk to New Town and the Castle. The building itself and the views outside our window were beautiful. On...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jbowers55
Tania F, Duty Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear jbowers55, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable experience at B+B Edinburgh. We are indeed very luck with the location, few minutes walk from the city center in a quiet area of Edinburgh. I'm happy to hear that our staff has looked after you so well, especially preparing our take away...

Newark, Delaware
Reviewed 25 March 2017

On early arrival before check-in, the hostess at the desk checked our luggage and offered the Library or Bar in the B&B to rest, as well as gave us walking directions to go into Old Town and the Grassmarket area of Edinburgh. Being able to rest a bit in lovely comfortable surroundings after traveling and before your rooms are ready...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anita M
Tania F, Duty Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Anita M, We would like to thank you for your 5 star reviews. We feel very luck to work in this beautiful and historical building. We have tried to merge modern and traditional making the most of the original Victorian features, and recognizing the significant contribution of John Ritchie Findlay, the first owner of this lovely house. It's great...

536 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (328)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (70)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (132)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (192)
Viewed
Accessible Room (18)
Viewed
Amenities (20)
Viewed
Family Room (12)
Viewed
Family Suite (17)
Viewed
Petite Double Room (10)
Viewed
Petite Room (18)
Viewed
Petite Room with City View (12)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Standard Attic Room (9)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (13)
Viewed
Standard Room (11)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
1,784 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
890 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 147 in Edinburgh
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
3,676 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 147 in Edinburgh
1,873 reviews
Channings Hotel
#37 of 147 in Edinburgh
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighbourhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighbourhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theatres and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are here to change the way you think about bed & breakfast.B+B Edinburgh is a stunning boutique bed & breakfast situated in a historic listed building in the heart of Edinburgh. Sensitively refurbished to the highest quality in 2011, the property offers a stylish bar where guests can relax and enjoy a range of specially selected Scottish whiskies. The library offers a cosy retreat for guests wishing to enjoy a quiet moment after a hectic day of sight-seeing. Pets are welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about B+B Edinburgh

Address: 3 Rothesay Terrace, Edinburgh EH3 7RY, Scotland (Formerly Melvin House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Price Range: ₹ 8,986 - ₹ 30,836 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — B+B Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your B+B Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B+B Edinburgh Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from B+B Edinburgh staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Portland, Oregon
3 months ago
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
10 months ago
Joplin, Missouri
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from B+B Edinburgh staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms have view of castle and town on one side and stream and town on the other.”
611theresaw, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“Room #2 on the second floor was quite large with a view from the front of the hotel.”
38JackK, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Best views at back of hotel, also very quiet.”
splatterscreen, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“higher for quieter rooms all tho its a quiet street”
105erico, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 21 not the best if there are three people”
Crawford49, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$ 171* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 214
Expedia.comUS$ 206
HotelQuicklyUS$ 268
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates