We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

B+B Edinburgh

PricelineUS$ 178*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 258*
US$ 178*
Great Deal
US$ 217*
US$ 217*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
B+B Edinburgh
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

658 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 534: English reviews
Start your review of B+B Edinburgh
 Click to rate
Edinburgh
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Beautiful place staff excellent could not do more for guests. Breakfast fabulous.. Lovely clean rooms.. Lovely fluffy towels and bedding fantastic.. I enjoyed my course there. Will book again very soon... thank you...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Perfect location with wonderful service. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is of good quality and quickly served. Installations in perfect state. Will always return and highly recommand this place

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 783christianed
Tel Aviv District, Israel
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The design of the hotel is vintage but not old. it is very nice, the rooms are clean and pretty big. the staff is nice and helpful an the location is very close to all the interesting spots in the city. the only problem is that if you are travelling by car, there are no convinient parking space in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zuckerdave
Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed for five nights and had no complaints. The room was good sized, the bathroom large. We looked out to a nice little park and the castle in the distance. We were on the street side but it was a quiet street, no noise. We walked there from the train, Hay market station. We walked every where. So many...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tjb5
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I would go back and stay at B+B. The staff were really friendly and helpful, always nice and with a smile on their faces. The location was good, took about 15min to walk to the "city" and it was on a calm street.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank V5928RZsaram
Milan, Italy
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The B+B was located in a posh area of Edinburgh, just a few yards away from Princes St. The room was comfortable and clean, and the staff was very friendly. Similarly, the breakfast was good, with a choice of continental and Scottish dishes cooked on order, but with a limited supply of bread and juices (but toasts were provided on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank danyIM3
Edinburgh
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good location, cleanliness and room quality. Breakfast service could have been better. The staff was rather hectic and stressed, argueing loudly in the kitchen. Food was good. Occasional noise from other rooms. Altogether, recommended.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 963timol
Tania F, Duty Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear 963timol, Many thanks for sharing your review and for your positive feedback on our rooms and great location. We apologize for your experience during the breakfast service, which was due to an unforeseen circumstances. We are glad to hear, however, that the quality of our food was up to your expectations!. Kindest regards, Tania.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed at B+B Edinburgh over the Easter weekend. The entrance is very grand, as was the library and dining room. A very beautiful building indeed. The staff were incredibly welcoming and friendly. The room although clean and tidy was however a little disappointing. The room itself is spacious ( a family room) consisting of a double bed ( two singles...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank omayo5
Tania F, Duty Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Omayo 5, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at B+B Edinburgh. We are glad to hear that you loved the building. It is indeed a charming place. We confirm that an ongoing maintenance and redecoration plan is in place, to ensure that all the rooms are at the highest standard. We hope we will have...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This building is beautiful. The receiption area, dining room and library are lovely, However, our room was disappointing. While it was clean it was definitely in need of some TLC. The paint in the entrance was chipped and the walls had scuff marks on it. Our room was like an attic room with a skylight which gave us a wonderful...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Karyn S
Edinburgh
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful property, excellent friendly staff, comfy beds, clean bathrooms. Very dog friendly - they even set up a table for us for breakfast in the bar so our dog could be with us. Pretty central yet really quiet - easy to walk to most places from here. We love this place. This was our second visit and we wouldn't hesitate...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 536cord
Tania F, Duty Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear 536cord, We would like to thank you for sharing your nice review! We were happy to welcoming you once again at B+B Edinburgh! We are delighted to hear that you, and your lovely dog, enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you had a safe journey and we look forward to seeing you again for your third visit. Kindest...

534 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (326)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (70)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (132)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (192)
Viewed
Accessible Room (18)
Viewed
Amenities (20)
Viewed
Family Room (12)
Viewed
Family Suite (17)
Viewed
Petite Double Room (10)
Viewed
Petite Room (18)
Viewed
Petite Room with City View (12)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Standard Attic Room (9)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (13)
Viewed
Standard Room (11)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,767 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
870 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,630 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#40 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,841 reviews
Channings Hotel
#35 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighbourhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighbourhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theatres and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are here to change the way you think about bed & breakfast.B+B Edinburgh is a stunning boutique bed & breakfast situated in a historic listed building in the heart of Edinburgh. Sensitively refurbished to the highest quality in 2011, the property offers a stylish bar where guests can relax and enjoy a range of specially selected Scottish whiskies. The library offers a cosy retreat for guests wishing to enjoy a quiet moment after a hectic day of sight-seeing. Pets are welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about B+B Edinburgh

Address: 3 Rothesay Terrace, Edinburgh EH3 7RY, Scotland (Formerly Melvin House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Price Range: ₹ 8,041 - ₹ 28,174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — B+B Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your B+B Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B+B Edinburgh Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from B+B Edinburgh staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Portland, Oregon
2 months ago
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
9 months ago
Joplin, Missouri
11 months ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from B+B Edinburgh staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“higher for quieter rooms all tho its a quiet street”
105erico, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 21 not the best if there are three people”
Crawford49, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 22 is on the top floor..a lot of stairs if you don't use the lift... but the views are fab”
MissRubyJewels, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Simple answer is pay more and get a better room!”
Theobub, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I stayed in number 13, unlucky for some, very comfortable, spacious, clean & quiet”
Jonathan_Webb, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$ 178* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$ 217
Orbitz.comUS$ 217
TripAdvisorUS$ 178
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates