We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh

Haggis Hostels

416 reviews
Save
Traveller (22)
Room & Suite (33)
Dining (11)
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good25%
  • Average9%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“haggis”(52 reviews)
“train station”(32 reviews)
“great location”(45 reviews)
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Kitchenette
Multilingual Staff
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
4.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Offers from Haggis Hostels
Special Price: Book Direct to save 10%
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (416)Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
There are newer reviews for Haggis Hostels
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveller rating
222
86
32
6
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
222
86
32
6
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshaggistrain stationgreat locationfree breakfastcommon roomstairs to climbprinces streeta nice place to stayrooms are cleanroyal milecommon areasbalmoral hotelthe heart of the citycentral locationvisit edinburghfew minutes walkbeds
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
51 - 55 of 356 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2016

Fantastic stay, good hygiene and clean facilities. The showers were brilliant. Staff were really friendly and helpful. They helped us to find local places.would definitely stay again, the only issue was the stairs haha!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank georgiekoch
Response from HaggisHostelsTeam, Manager at Haggis HostelsResponded 10 January 2017

Thank you so much, we hope to see you again soon! Think of the stairs as your daily exercise :)

Reviewed 9 June 2016

Stayed 2 nights in an all girls room (4 people) Pros - Well-located, just off Princes Street. 5-10 minute walk to Edinburgh Waverley Station and Airlink bus service to airport; 10-15 minute walk to Old Town and Royal Mile where many attractions are. - Friendly...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank SLXL24
Response from HaggisHostelsTeam, Manager at Haggis HostelsResponded 10 January 2017

Happy to read all of your positive comments. Unfortunately as we are in a listed building, there is not much we can do about the stairs except for lend a hand when it's needed! We have started replacing the bunks as required with a stronger...More

Reviewed 7 June 2016

This is somewhere between 3 and 4 stars for be, but I'm rounding up. Pros: - Large showers with room to change - Good breakfast - Comfortable beds - Great location, next to Princes Street only 5 minutes to Royal Mile - Friendly employees Cons:...More

Thank Noelle B
Response from HaggisHostelsTeam, Manager at Haggis HostelsResponded 10 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. Unfortunately we are unable to do anything about the stairs as we are in a listed Georgian building, we are however happy to help carry luggage up the stairs. The reason we don't allow use...More

Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

cheap hostel but i paid big money cuz when i booked this hoster, edinberough was full of tourists. everything was normal hostel. 3rd floor, not clean, small toilet, small bed,... but staff is nice. sonya is her name. she was excellent!! she explained a lot...More

Thank eddyphdhong
Reviewed 26 May 2016

I've stayed at Haggis Hostel for three nights, in a four-bed female room. The hostel is extremely well located, a few minutes away from Princes Street and Waverley Station. It's an old Georgian building, so there's no lift, but no one visiting such a hilly...More

Thank sancie23
PreviousNext
191011121372
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (22)
Room & Suite (33)
Dining (11)
Hotel & Grounds (64)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (5)
Bathroom (4)
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Self-Serve Laundry
Details
Price range
US$ 25 - US$ 146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 25 - US$ 146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Nearby
New Town
Suits and shopping bags rule the streets of New Town,
until after dark when strappy dresses come out to
play. This is the city’s central business district
with its smaller offices, clothes boutiques, and many
of the city’s flashiest restaurants and ritziest
clubs. The architecture along roads like George Street
helps give it a swank and formal feel: it’s a planned
Georgian development of regal townhouses, geometric
...More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite