We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Edinburgh

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,970 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,823: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We booked a two day stay with Althams which included 1st class travel with Virgin trains. Had a wonderful time! The hotel staff were friendly, efficient and professional. When we inquired about the bus times we were given a card with the bus numbers on and staff advised us of the next bus due. Our room was room 111, it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rachelemma123
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

What no porridge at breakfast, this is Scotland.We ordered decafe tea and we got one tea bag between us. Buffet food in the evening was cold and lack of choice. We spent £24 on a bottle of wine and the food did not warrant it. The room was just ok, the heated towel rail in the bathroom did not work,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thehappytraveller15
Scotland
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Hotel is located between Edinburgh Zoo and Murrayfield Spire hospital. Double room was large. Typical large hotel. Reception was very helpful. Service in restaurant was quite slow. Nice bar and coffee area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex5Scotland
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Nice hotel, good parking. Staff friendly and polite. Our son fell and banged his head and the manager visited us personally to make sure he was ok and if we needed help. We did not as my son was fine but was nice to have the personal touch. Room was a bit dated, could benefit from a makeover. The restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RM T
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am really pleased to read about the personal attention that was given to your Son when he banged his head and it is great to hear that he was ok. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again in the future. Kind Regards Claire...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Not going to be the easiest of reviews I'll ever write - during the one night business trip here, there was little to get exited about, but it was relatively good value for money. Quite simply, there are simply a few positives & negatives to take into consideration when looking to book this hotel. On the plus: -This is only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashley T
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent experience at Holiday Inn Edinburgh. I am pleased to read the positives of your stay and overall you rated us good value for money. I am sorry you were disappointed with the DBB allowance that was used in the bar area however as you have stated this...

Campbeltown, Scotland
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was easy to access and lots of parking. Right next to the zoo and there was a cheap, quick bus service into the heart of the city just right outside the hotel. Check in/out was quick and pleasant - the staff were lovely. Rooms were small-ish but comfortable. The room decor was a bit dated but everything was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elainemcgeachy
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for your very pleasantly review of your recent experience at Holiday Inn Edinburgh. I am delighted to read that you had a great stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again in the future. Kind Regards Claire Claire.borthwick@hi-edinburgh.co.uk

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We ended up in this hotel when our booking at another hotel was messed up by the booking agent. Standard of decor was very poor. Not very welcoming atmosphere. Corridors and carpets were stained and looked unkempt. Two restaurants to choose from First went to a Chinese Restaurant on site with menu that was unhelpful - not enough description. Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rblanc2016
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your recent experience. I am really disappointed that you had such an unpleasant stay. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you wish to discuss the unacceptable levels of service further. Kind Regards Claire claire.borthwick@hi-edinburgh.co.uk

liverpool
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We always stay here when we are in Edinburgh, park your car up for free and use the excellent bus service that stops right out side. Stayed dinner bed and breakfast in a king-size executive rooms which was great. The food was really nice in traders with a good choice from a set 3 course menu, the chorizo and potato...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jpinning
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for your five star review and for recommending us to others. We are delighted that you have returned to stay with us again I when visiting the Christmas Markets in Edinburgh. I will ensure your lovely comments are shared with the Team. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards Claire Claire.borthwick@hi-edinburgh.co.uk

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Room and bathroom was dated but clean, staff is very professional and friendly across the hotel Lovely spa, great breakfast, bus stop to town 5 minutes walk, ticket only £1.6. What we really did not like was the temperature in the room, only a small radiator and nothing in the bathroom. Apparently the towel rack heating is switched off in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tünde G
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh. I am pleased to read that you found the Team to be friendly and the Leisure facilities a great asset to the Hotel. I am sorry that the Towel rail in the bathroom was not heated but as you have already been made aware these...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

had a family room for three on the 3rd floor beds were very uncomfortable woke early every morning because of the noise in agony. paid for evening meal very little choice first nights meal was burnt burgers! view out the window was the car park.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment on your recent stay. I am really disappointed that you have not enjoyed your stay and your expectations were not met. I will ensure the feedback on your evening meal experience is followed up as this is not acceptable. Kind Regards Claire Claire.borthwick@hi-edinburgh.co.uk

622 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (279)
Viewed
Room/Suite (62)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
1:19
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (133)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (310)
Viewed
Amenities (31)
Viewed
Executive Room (76)
Viewed
Dining (77)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (66)
Viewed
The Hotel (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#79 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#93 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,068 reviews
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#76 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,909 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Holiday Inn Edinburgh is a 4 Star modern hotel situated on the west of Edinburgh, three miles from the city centre, four miles from Edinburgh Airport, and adjacent to Edinburgh Zoo.The Hotel is ideally situated for both Leisure and Business, near to Edinburgh Business Park. The Holiday Inn Edinburgh enjoys great panoramic views of the Pentland Hills. The Hotel is perfect for leisure customers, with many nearby attractions including Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace and the Museum of Scotland. The hotel has 303 rooms including Executive and Family rooms, ideal for Bank Holiday breaks. The hotel has a choice of two restaurants - Traders Restaurant or Sampans Oriental Restaurant, as well as a café and relaxing bar. Kids Stay & Eat Free*. The Hotel boasts a Spirit Health and Fitness Club which is the ideal way to relax, with a fully equipped Gymnasium, Swimming Pool, Sauna, Spa and Beauty Treatments. Beauty Treatments can be booked prior to arrival on 0131 316 4739.On-site there are 200 complimentary Parking Spaces. Our Conference Centre 'The Academy' offers state-of-the-art suites, with 14 meeting rooms which can cater for up to 120 guests. Also accessible to Edinburgh University and ideally situated for Royal Highland Show Festival, Tattoo and Rugby Six Nations. *Terms and Conditions apply. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Edinburgh

Address: 132 Corstorphine Rd, Edinburgh EH12 6UA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Price Range: ₹ 4,419 - ₹ 17,328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Edinburgh Scotland
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Edinburgh staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Leeds, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Athens, Greece
3 months ago
5 months ago

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Edinburgh staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“choose another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles G2207RWsarahc, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Become a member of the chain to get the best direct prices”
 of 5 bubbles emmalouised309, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Zoo view rooms can mean you are woken by animals wanting their breakfast!”
 of 5 bubbles CambridgeTourists, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Maybe it was just the family room that was dated, ask before you book!”
 of 5 bubbles SteveT35, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Views over the hills worth going for, but watch out for unexpected Zoo-ish noises!!”
 of 5 bubbles Suddy, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay