We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Balmoral Hotel

Show Prices
#11 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Balmoral Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,626 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Balmoral Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,329: English reviews
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2015

We've stayed here several times, and this time opted for a room with a castle view. We had a great view, but on the downside there was extremely loud music coming from outside the windows for much of the days and until late at night. I guess it was from the festival-related events outside near the top of Waverley steps....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne D
BalmoralEdinburgh, Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for sharing your impressions following your recent stay at The Balmoral. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the Castle views and found your room both comfortable and spacious. I would also like to thank you for your kind feedback regarding the service you received from my colleague at reception; your comments are much appreciated....

Reviewed 2 September 2015

We stayed at The Balmoral for three nights in August during festival season. The hotel lobby is inviting and the staff was nice but not always accommodating. We flew in from the US with a stop over in Dublin. We had a morning arrival and I had requested an early check-in. We arrived at the hotel at 11 am the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Willsmom99
BalmoralEdinburgh, Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for sharing your feedback following your stay at The Balmoral. I am pleased to read that you found the room and bathroom spacious, our lobby inviting and the central location of the hotel convenient. However, I am very sorry to learn that your overall impressions were marred by a breakdown in communication throughout the...

Hilton Head Island, SC
Reviewed 1 September 2015

fantastic hotel. Concierge/Bellhop was fantastic. Literally threw bags, returned car, and headed to Tattoo . We got into Edinburgh late and had little time to get to Tattoo. Hotel was clean. We were able to get food after Tattoo which was near midnight

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank HiltonHeadTwins
Falkirk
Reviewed 1 September 2015

A fantastic and luxurious hotel if a little pricey for what you get. Climbing skills required to get in and out of the (very high) bath/shower whilst I don't consider myself to be unfit or limited in movements the step in and out of the bath required some thought and care. I do not know if all rooms are like...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Donald M
BalmoralEdinburgh, Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your kind comments following your stay at The Balmoral. I am delighted to read that you found the hotel fantastic. Our high sided bath tubs are extremely luxurious, but we recognise that these may not suit all guests and do therefore have a number of rooms with lower sided tubs. Please do let us know...

near London , UK
Reviewed 31 August 2015

Booked for New Year's Eve and New Years Day, thought I had booked a room with a view of the fireworks, you'd think a Princes Street View Room would do that...sadly I got a view of about 20m of Princes Street, and no fireworks. Despite the price the room was just OK, the staff closed the bar before midnight and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lauri C
BalmoralEdinburgh, Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am very sorry to learn of your disappointment following your stay with us at The Balmoral over New Year. I have shared your feedback with my team as well as our Food and Beverage Manager, who is already looking at how we can improve this aspect of our service for future occasions and joins me in apologising...

Brooklyn, New York, United States
Reviewed 31 August 2015

Stayed here two weeks ago for my honeymoon. The service was beyond incredible-there were chocolates welcoming us to the room one night, rose petals on the bed another. We wanted to tickets to a show, the concierge got them immediately. Needed dinner reservations at a seafood restaurant, no problem. We stayed at many 4 and 5 star hotels during the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joshua S
Fort Lauderdale, United States
Reviewed 31 August 2015

After reading all the nice reviews we were expecting an outstanding hotel. It was the opposite. The whole hotel is not in top shape. Paint is worn out, decoration is quite mediocre, service was poor. In several occasions we asked front desk and concierge for things like sending an extra luggage stand or making a reservation and was either not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Beliza B
BalmoralEdinburgh, Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I was very sorry to learn that you left the hotel feeling underwhelmed with most aspects of our service and facilities. I regret that I did not have the opportunity to meet with you whilst you were staying at the hotel, and would very much appreciate the opportunity to speak with you personally to discuss your experience. I...

TELFORD
Reviewed 30 August 2015

My wife and I stayed at the Balmoral last Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday, we had a slight problem with our room on arrival which was quickly and efficiently solved by the front desk staff, and a special mention to front desk manager Francesca Marcia for her help and assistance. The room, as the rest of the hotel was decorated to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BILLTTelford
Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

I loved this hotel! Everything about it was amazing including the breakfast downstairs. Loved all the books, maybe not the best set up if you have children but still nice. Like a ton of books and things that are breakable, I just had to move those away from the children, but still, one of the best places ever!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alicia D
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2015

was in for dinner two months ago and the cocktail bar was busy so was asked to go directly to our table. We did ask if you could please reserve a table after dinner for cocktail before going home. Not guaranteed but would try. No tables available but very sorry. So today visited with friends to have a cocktail at...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank T0m1954
BalmoralEdinburgh, Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for sharing your feedback following your visit to The Balmoral Bar. I am very sorry and concerned to read your review. Our aim is to deliver warm yet professional service and I am very sorry to learn that your experience fell short of both yours and our own expectations. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss...

1,633 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1034)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (200)
Viewed
View from Room (78)
Viewed
Room/Suite (217)
Viewed
Dining (58)
Viewed
Bathroom (74)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (400)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (561)
Viewed
Amenities (53)
Viewed
Braemar Grand Suite (72)
Viewed
Pool (30)
Viewed
Dining (148)
Viewed
Spey Deluxe Suite (80)
Viewed
Superior Deluxe Room (62)
Viewed
The Hotel (116)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,765 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
858 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,705 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#88 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Princes Street and Gardens

Neighbourhood Profile
Princes Street and Gardens
Glaswegians tease Edinburghers that their High Street is only half one, since buildings only line one side. But what they don’t say is how extraordinary the views are from Princes Street as a result. From here you look onto expansive and decorative public gardens beneath the mighty basalt cliffs on which Edinburgh’s Castle stands proud above the rest of the dramatic old town skyline. Yet many of those on Princes Street look the other way, as they’re concerned with chain store shopping or catching the tram or a train at main train station Waverley. But it’s not all utility here; the Scottish National Gallery rewards purposeless wandering, and December’s huge winter market in the gardens begins a season of revelry which ends with Hogmanay, Britain’s largest New Year’s street party.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Number One at The Balmoral
Number One at The Balmoral
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
Palm Court at The Balmoral
Palm Court at The Balmoral
Cuisines: British, Scottish
The Balmoral Bar
The Balmoral Bar
Cuisines: Bar, British, Scottish
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
You will find The Balmoral at Edinburgh's most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street, where the Old Town stops and the New Town begins. Our hotel's majestic clock defines the city's skyline and since the day we opened in 1902 it has run three minutes fast to ensure you will never miss your train. The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel where our porters can still be organised to whisk guests from the station hall to the reception desk, and our kilted doormen will guide you into the hotel. Experience Number One our Michelin-starred restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea at Palm Court or drinks in the signature whisky bar, Scotch. A comprehensive range of treatments will help you unwind in the award-wining Balmoral Spa. The 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms have magnificent views of the city or the hotel's internal courtyard. The hotel's ten banqueting suites all enjoy natural daylight and stunning views of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or the historic Old Town and can accommodate a wide range of events. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Price Range: ₹ 18,485 - ₹ 58,025 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Cancelon, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#8 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Balmoral Hotel staff and other travellers.
39 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (39)

Questions? Get answers from The Balmoral Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a view of Edinburgh Castle”
gsc1975, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We wanted a room with a view, but the rooms without a view were also spacious and well appointed.”
SusanB466, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Try to get one of the newly refurbished rooms - very chic.”
223vickiw, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask at check in for upgrades, they sometime give free or for a nominal sum, worth a try.”
johnpaulm564, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rear facing. There was a bit of construction so best to ask about it.”
colliegirl101, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5