We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

787 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West
See the most recent reviews
Showing 737: English reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2015

yes, it is a holiday inn but it is damn good. The room is really big and the beds are pretty comfortable. The dining room is great as the breakfast. The location is good, and you can get a bus to the city center at the bus stop in front of the hotel. Everything was great in my stay and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mamamamama1111
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Mamamamama1111, Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a feedback. I am delighted to read that you found the beds pretty comfortable and I appreciate your comments on the location and the price. I hope to be able to welcome you to Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West in the future. Best Regards

Irvine, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 January 2015

We have stayed in this hotel a few times and have always received a warm welcome from the staff. On this visit we were fortunate enough to have a room on the fourth floor with brilliant panoramic views of the city. The free car parking is an obvious attraction for a hotel so close to the city centre. All areas...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derek I
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Derek I, Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that you liked the view over Edinburgh and that you found the areas of the hotel of a good standard of décor and cleanliness. I appreciate your comments on the location and the staff and we...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 January 2015 via mobile

One of the best Holiday Inns I stay at, everything about it spot on Always get upgrade, room first class food very good, Lee on reception always welcomes you with a smile Love staying here, a standard that other Holiday Inns should aspire to Keep it up!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trigger131186487
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Trigger131186487, Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a feedback. I am glad to hear that our hotel is one of the best Holiday Inns you have stayed at and I will pass your comments on to Lee. I hope you had a great time in the city and you will be back again soon. Kind Regards

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 January 2015

Booked this very last minute, like an hour before arrival on expedia as a secret hotel, due to another hotel letting us down. Staff were friendly, we got to upgrade to a suite for 10 or 15 quid extra. It had two rooms and wAs very spacious and comfortable! Location is close to city centre and you also have a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abi S
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear abi_sloan, Many thanks for this fantastic five star review on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to hear that you found the staff friendly and I appreciate your comments on your rooms. I hope you had a great time in Edinburgh and you will be back again soon. Kind Regards

cupar
Reviewed 16 January 2015

Due to the weather forecast suggesting an imminent likelihood of severe, prolonged, travel disruption, my wife and I booked into the hotel to ensure that her daily appointments at the nearby hospital could continue uninterrupted. Therefore, our visit to the Holiday Inn was as result of necessity rather than choice. That said we thoroughly enjoyed our three day off-season stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank outerhebridesdutch2
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear outerhebridesdutch2, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that you were satisfied with your room and that you liked the view over Edinburgh. I appreciate your comments on the staff and we look forward to your next visit. Best Regards

Londonderry
Reviewed 14 January 2015 via mobile

We booked Edinburgh City West as part of a very last minute venture to Edinburgh. Everything about this hotel is wonderful. We had adjoining rooms as it was a little family trip which were perfect. The beds were comfortable and so clean, breakfast was beautiful and the staff were so attentive. We bought an all day bus ticket for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jlovestravelling24
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Jlovestravelling24, Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that you found the hotel lovely, comfortable and clean and that you were so satisfied with our services. I hope you had a nice time in Edinburgh and you will be back again soon. Kind Regards

Glasgow
Reviewed 14 January 2015

From the moment I arrived I loved this hotel. Only 2 miles away from Edinburgh city centre and with generous free parking. Edinburgh is a city that is horrendous to drive in and costs £3.20 per hour to park on the street. Check-In was easy and as I'm a platinum member I was upgraded to room 202 (mini suite) which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cakealito
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Cakealito, Many thanks for this fantastic five star review on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to read that you found the staff nice and helpful and that you liked the food in the restaurant. I appreciate your comments on the rooms and we look forward to your next visit. Best Regards

Aberdeenshire, Scotland
Reviewed 12 January 2015

Just stayed at this hotel for one night as it was close to where we wanted to be. Its about 6 mins away from Princess Street by bus and has ample parking space. The staff were all very friendly and the rooms were very comfy. Opposite the hotel is Craigleith shopping, very handy if you don't want to go into...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank divajules
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear divajules, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. I am delighted to read that you found the staff very friendly and the rooms very comfortable. However I am disappointed to learn that you were not fully satisfied with our breakfast and will pass on your feedback to the Food & Beverage Manager and...

Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 January 2015

arrived at hotel and was upgraded to Junior suite brill. room quality, bed quality,food quality all good. free parking 35 minute walk to centre but bus stop right outside hotel , bus every 10 minutes. only downside for hotel was price of drink, £9.10 for a pint of beer and a whisky and mixer highest price i paid in Edinburgh.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank brian5154
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear brian5154, Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a feedback. I am pleased to read that you were satisfied with the quality of the room, the bed and the food however I am disappointed to learn that you found the prices of the drinks high. I hope you had a great time in Edinburgh and you will...

UK
Reviewed 7 January 2015 via mobile

We stayed between Xmas and new year for a couple of nights in a family room. Slightly small but excellent view of the city from the 5th floor. Much better than the pictures on the Internet. Excellent breakfast and friendly staff. A couple of miles from the centre.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yazanmas
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Yazanmas, Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a feedback. I am delighted to read that you liked the view over Edinburgh and that you found the breakfast excellent and the staff friendly. I hope to be able to welcome you to Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West in the future. Best Regards

237 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (95)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (31)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (85)
Viewed
Double Room with Handicap Accessiblity (12)
Viewed
Double Standard Room with a Sofa Bed (14)
Viewed
Double Twin Room (16)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Suite (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#107 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,097 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#79 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,069 reviews
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#82 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Settle in to one of our 101 modern guest bedrooms at the Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West. Located over 7 floors and tastefully decorated throughout, our bedrooms in Edinburgh offer splendid views over Leith port, Edinburgh Castle or the scenic Pentlands Hills.Our rooms have recently received the new look Holiday Inn treatment and been revitalised with new bedding, soft furnishings and our unique pillow menu offering a choice of fillings and comfort levels to ensure that you get a great night’s sleep.The Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West hotel offers you an excellent base for exploring the famous city of Edinburgh, located only 1.5 miles from Edinburgh's bustling city centre and a mere 2 miles from the world famous Edinburgh Castle! Leave your car in our complimentary car park and hop on a bus to the city centre, it only takes 10 minutes! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West

Address: 107 Queensferry Road | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH4 3HL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: ₹ 6,466 - ₹ 17,988 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West Scotland
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#58 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room with castle view, 6th floor, away from the elevators.”
SilverFoxNorthumbria, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The rooms on higher floors have a better view of the city.”
navjyo08, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room on upper floors facing city”
481grahamn, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a high up room facing the city”
Pammyjz, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the castle.”
R5350CVroberth, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5