We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Edinburgh Capital Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,057: English reviews
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2015

Reception staff very friendly, went out of their way to help friend get connected to the Hotel wifi. Felt they were really genuine when they said if anything was needed they would be happy to help. No issues with the room. Swimming pool was much bigger than it looks on website pic, which made a pleasant change from the normal...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Brian E
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brian E, Thank you for the very kind feedback from your stay in July. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to our front desk team so that they are aware how positively they were able to impact your stay. And great to hear your enjoyed the hotel’s leisure club: we offer the use free to...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2015 via mobile

I may be slight at fault here and will admit that. Booked where you couldn't amend or cancel. Something has come up so we need to push it all back one day, I rang and asked. They to the point said no and offered no help, I'm sure there is something that could be done, we would even pay more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank York_court
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review

Dear York_court, Thank you for your review. As we discussed on the phone I am afraid that it is important for us to follow our terms and conditions, which each guest agrees to, so that we are fair and consistent to all our guests. If we were to continually amend non-amendable bookings which have an applied discount then we would...

Reviewed 4 August 2015 via mobile

Beds were comfortable and the shower was typical of a hotel room. The floors creaked like an old house which made it impossible to move round without making loads of noise, and you could hear the floor creak in other rooms as well as being able to hear their shower like it was in our room. We did find a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kerry c
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kerry c, Thank you for staying with us and for reviewing our hotel. It was pleasing to read that you had a comfortable night sleep and you found our reception team friendly. But it was obviously disappointing that you did only find our hotel average as I do think for a 3 star rating we offer a number of...

Reviewed 3 August 2015 via mobile

I would like to thank Tracey and the rest of the team at the Edinburgh Capital Hotel. My Mum and step Dad got married here on Friday and we all had an amazing day. It was a great venue, function room just been painted and public areas lovely, modern and clean. The rooms were also beautiful, very spacious and welcoming...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kelly D
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kelly D, Many thanks for the wonderful 5 star review and the photos you added. We run a number of weddings throughout the year and all the team concentrate on is delivering an excellent experience during such an important day – it was great to read that was achieved. I will be sure to pass on your lovely comments...

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2015

We stayed one night on the way back to London from the Highlands, glad we had a car as it was some way from the centre of the city. The room was a good size but soundproofing was poor, our neighbours were a touch noisy and we could hear everything. The staff on reception were helpful, printed off our train...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joseph H
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joseph H, Thank you very much for staying with us and for reviewing our hotel. It was pleasing to read that you found our reception team very helpful and our rooms a good size. However, I do appreciate your comments about our bathroom towels and I will speak with our linen supplier as they should all smell fresh for...

geelong
Reviewed 1 August 2015

We stayed at the Edinburgh Capital Hotel for 2 nights. We had 2 rooms booked as there were 4 of us travelling. We felt the hotel was quite tired and dated. The rooms were very average for the price paid. One room we were given was a disabled room right near the front desk. Whilst the room was clean, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank loveholidays3
Brisbane
Reviewed 30 July 2015

Had three nights here as a base for a city tour. Easy access to city on cheap bus. Breakfast was standard and even had haggis!! Fitness centre attached was a bonus with above average facilities for a hotel.Rooms were clean and adequate. Had a good lunch here and one dinner which was again standard. The only let down was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank legs71
Morristown, New Jersey
Reviewed 23 July 2015

The Capital Hotel was one of many on a Cosmos tour, but I searched it our for a review because I really enjoyed the indoor pool and athletic center. We were just unfortunate to hit it on a warm night (no AC). The bus from downtown (#26?) cost just 1.5 pounds and it let us off right around the corner...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bob K
Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2015

We chose this hotel as close to relatives we were visiting. Great location as buses pass right past the hotel and run regularly into the city centre. Hotel was clean and adequate but room we stayed in was starting to look tired. The flooring was incredibly squeaky and creaky as we're the floors above! Very hot over night. Most members...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Diane M
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2015

We are just back from our wedding at this hotel and couldn't have asked for anything better, from the moment we booked our wedding, staff were on hand to help keep us right and to help with any questions we had. I (the bride) stayed the night before the wedding with 2 of my bridesmaids and my mum we had...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Lee M
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review

Dear The_McIntosh, Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review of your wedding experience, and with such a nice review title. Everyone in our team puts a lot of effort and hard work in to making sure your day is as special as possible, and it really is rewarding for us when we hear such good feedback. I...

491 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (176)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
2:10
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (56)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (245)
Viewed
Amenities (22)
Viewed
Double Room (32)
Viewed
Family Room (37)
Viewed
Pool (12)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)
Viewed
Triple Room (27)
Viewed
Twin Room (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (70)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#79 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#84 of 150 in Edinburgh
756 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,217 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#40 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Westview Restaurant
Westview Restaurant
Cuisines: European
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Edinburgh Capital Hotel has great views across the west of the city and enjoys close proximity and easy access to Edinburgh Airport, Murrayfield Stadium and Edinburgh Zoo. You are never too far away to explore the sights and sounds of the historic City of Edinburgh. Stylish and comfortable guestrooms with free WiFi, extensive leisure club and substantial free car parking. Westview Restaurant and Bar offers good food at great prices. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Number 26 bus operated by Lothian Buses runs a regular service into the City Centre. Whether your stay is business or pleasure, Edinburgh Capital is the perfect choice for a memorable visit to the City. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Address: 187 Clermiston Rd | Corstorphine, Edinburgh EH12 6UG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: ₹ 6,018 - ₹ 13,108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh Capital Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edinburgh Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
Edinburgh Capital Hotel Scotland
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Edinburgh Capital Hotel staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from Edinburgh Capital Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were on the third floor and the views were fantastic.”
charlessC9232ZS, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Would ask for the rooms at the entrance level or higher, not the lowest level. Also ask to face the Park across the road.”
510simpson, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a top floor room.”
elaineg374, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Be mindful of rooms over the function rooms if Wedding taking place especially room 212.”
40sandyk, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors obviously give better views.”
Homejames63, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5