We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel

Save
Traveller (819)
Room & Suite (368)
Dining (31)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent19%
  • Very good39%
  • Average26%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“princes street”(409 reviews)
“scott monument”(85 reviews)
“privilege room”(28 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Multilingual Staff
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (2,606)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
2,193 results
Traveller rating
457
807
563
214
152
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
457
807
563
214
152
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprinces streetscott monumentprivilege roomcastle viewwaverley stationexcellent locationchristmas marketbit datedsuperior roomcentral locationfew minutes walkshort breaklovely roomroyal milehaggisjennersbuses
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
291 - 295 of 2,193 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2017

After a mix up when checking in I was eventually allocated a room. Staff were very apologetic over the confusion and the time it took to resolve. The room itself was clean, the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was a little dated. This was a...More

Thank Lynn1138966
Response from James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street HotelResponded 30 June 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. We really appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience. We do hope to welcome you on your next visit to Edinburgh. Kind regards, James Fraser General Manager

Reviewed 26 June 2017

No the best hotel. Room was super small, wasn't able to open wardrobe doors, because the bed was in the front of the wardrobe. Room was clean, no complains of that. Breakfast was fine, have eaten better. During the night alarm system started to work,...More

Thank Agnese B
Response from James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street HotelResponded 30 June 2017

Dear Guest, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Edinburgh City Princes Street Hotel. It is always helpful to receive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to...More

Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

Bit overpriced (booked by travel agency), but convenient hotel at central location. Room was clean and spacious enough, breakfast was just average (starting at 7am), view from the room was awful (just another dirty wall). Overall our stay was okay but wuold not visit again.More

Thank hvaarala
Response from James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street HotelResponded 30 June 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent...More

Reviewed 22 June 2017

This hotel was booked for us by a well-meaning client - thank god we were not paying the expensive rate ourselves. Indeed we love Edinburgh and were going to stay the weekend, but cancelled those days with this hotel. The plus is the central location...More

2  Thank Sue R
Response from James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street HotelResponded 30 June 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I was very disappointed to read that your room did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Kind regards, James Fraser General Manager

Reviewed 22 June 2017

Stayed here with work, my first complaint of this hotel was that the two beds i had in my room the wheels on them did not have locking mechanisms so every time you sat on the beds they would move 5/6 metres across the room....More

1  Thank jemmaheard12
Response from James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street HotelResponded 30 June 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay, I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I will share your comments with our team, I...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Edinburgh
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$ 141 - US$ 368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 141 - US$ 368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (819)
Room & Suite (368)
Dining (31)
Pool & Beach (1)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Nearby
Princes Street and Gardens
Glaswegians tease Edinburghers that their High Street
is only half one, since buildings only line one side.
But what they don’t say is how extraordinary the views
are from Princes Street as a result. From here you
look onto expansive and decorative public gardens
beneath the mighty basalt cliffs on which Edinburgh’s
Castle stands proud above the rest of the dramatic old
town skyline. Yet many of those on Princes Street look
...More
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Robert3856
3 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from _edonaldscotty | Reviewed this property |
I don’t think jackets and ties are required at this restaurant. Casual would be fine
1
Vote
Deasy D
10 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Kevon R | Reviewed this property |
hi i am scottish we have had a week of summer already so that will be about it i found it warm not hot my missus was still cold air conditioning aint really a scottish thing its either heating or open a window. It aint... More
2
Votes
Rosalind O
28 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from jes40 | Reviewed this property |
No they are all the same size according to the reception. Which means no baths anywhere I assume!!
1
Vote
Room Tips
"best view rooms are the front facing rooms but the are old"
Read review
"If you are love to be in the center of things, and do not care about the rooms quality, price and ease of..."
Read review
"Groupon often have this hotel on a special deal.Room at the front is a must for the view."
Read review
"Front facin"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing