We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,098 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,781: English reviews
Start your review of Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had a cheap overnight with dinner. The room was clean and fresh with wonderful views over Princes Street. The staff were delightful, very attentive. Dinner was good, as was breakfast. Would certainly recommend this place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maggi B
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

This was our second stay at the hotel! We stayed in a superior room the first time which was unbelievable with the most amazing views of princes street and the castle! We stayed in a room on the fourth floor this time which still had good views...we were directly opposite he big shell on the Christmas market! The beds are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kmcobb12345
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you sincerely for this wonderful five star review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Edinburgh. Kind regards, James Fraser General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stupidly I booked this hotel based on other Mercure hotels and didn't read trip advisor reviews. That'll teach me. My heart dropped even when I saw the sign outside, then the confused lobby with wheelchair access that creaks when you walk on it so god help a wheelchair getting up it without it collapsing. The one - yes one good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gwrench666
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay, I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I will share your comments with our team, I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns...

Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We love Edinburgh and try and visit as much as possible, but this hotel is so utterly rotten than we are amazed it is still open, let alone run by Mercure. The dated grandeur of the un-necessary staircase from street level leads to a friendly enough reception and check in isn't too much of a chore. Then it's up to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Simon P
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay, I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. We do have a guest care manager available 24/7 and we also have notes in all our rooms stating that if you are not completely satisfied to contact the guest care manager...

Hitchin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

No one at reception on arrival and my room was cold, decor tired but worst of all not very clean - hair in bath etc. Views of castle and the location however made it just about acceptable for 1 nights stay.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank X5212GPchrisk
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I was very disappointed to read that your room did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Kind regards, James Fraser General Manager

Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Must be one of the best views from hotels in Edinburgh. But it needs refurbishment. We had a 6th floor room at the front, french doors on to shared balcony (not sure how safe that is). Furniture chipped and well used, bathroom fittings need replacing and small room. Staff were pleasant and bed comfortable. We were in transit to airport...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Naughton_11
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Edinburgh City Princes Street Hotel. It is always helpful to receive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services....

Walsall, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

If it hadn't been for the first contact, I'd have thoroughly recommended this hotel. I arrived at the hotel at 2:40 pm, on a bitterly cold February day. This was well after the indicated check in time but I was told that the room was not ready and I should 'come back later'. No offer to wait in the bar,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Earlgrey16
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Edinburgh City Princes Street Hotel. It is always helpful to receive feedback. I will share your comments with our team as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Kind regards. James Fraser General Manager

Beaufort, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Flew from Cardiff to Edinburgh on a Saturday morning until Tuesday morning for my wife's 50th birthday. Nearly 800 rooms in the hotel and we found our room to be very clean and warm, which in early February is a must! The room was facing out onto Princess Street and what a view we had. Just to the right on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ncrobo
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, What a great review and we thank you for it. We are pleased that you enjoyed our fantastic location. We do hope to see you again on your next visit to Edinburgh. Kind regards, James Fraser General Manager

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Central location, wonderful guy on the check in counter, gave us directions and tips, unfortunately the room is located by an annoying buzzing air conditioner so is noisy, the room is comfortable, small and the bathroom is clean if somewhat a little dated, but we are not here for the room! As we only have a day to explore. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sargepants
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, What a great review and we thank you for it. We are pleased that you enjoyed our fantastic location. We do hope to see you again on your next visit to Edinburgh. Kind regards, James Fraser General Manager

whitley bay
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a deal stay with breakfast and dinner ,plus bottle of wine.The hotel is a well used city centre hotel but good value .The location was excellent we had a great view of Princess street .The staff were very good ,we had a compliant at breakfast ,the guy in charge sorted in minutes .The evening dinner was good apart...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heather b
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at the Mercure Edinburgh City Princes Street Hotel and taking the time to review us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards, James Fraser General Manager

652 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (633)
Viewed
View from Room (99)
Viewed
Room/Suite (149)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (56)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (47)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (255)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#99 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,905 reviews
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#54 of 150 in Edinburgh
467 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Princes Street and Gardens
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
#29 of 150 in Edinburgh
935 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Princes Street and Gardens

Neighbourhood Profile
Princes Street and Gardens
Glaswegians tease Edinburghers that their High Street is only half one, since buildings only line one side. But what they don’t say is how extraordinary the views are from Princes Street as a result. From here you look onto expansive and decorative public gardens beneath the mighty basalt cliffs on which Edinburgh’s Castle stands proud above the rest of the dramatic old town skyline. Yet many of those on Princes Street look the other way, as they’re concerned with chain store shopping or catching the tram or a train at main train station Waverley. But it’s not all utility here; the Scottish National Gallery rewards purposeless wandering, and December’s huge winter market in the gardens begins a season of revelry which ends with Hogmanay, Britain’s largest New Year’s street party.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Downtown Hotel built above 2 well-known stores (Jenners & Marks & Spencer) in the heart of the city. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel

Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2DG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Price Range: ₹ 5,176 - ₹ 18,950 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR and Hotel.de so you can book your Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Edinburgh
Ramada Hotel Mount Royal
Ramada Edinburgh
Edinburgh Ramada
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for views to the castle. Unbelievable!”
 of 5 bubbles 857maggib, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Loved the new decor etc in the bedroom. ”
 of 5 bubbles X4878FOsarahh, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Just upgrade to front”
 of 5 bubbles edpaul123, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“For views, look over Princes St, but may want upper floors to keep away from some the street noise if you need to open the windows.”
  • Edinburgh Castle in the evening
  • The Scott Monument and tram on Princes Street
 of 5 bubbles subwaymark, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“try for a room with Castle View.”
 of 5 bubbles firparklad, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5