We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Scotsman Hotel

PricelineUS$ 216*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 298*
US$ 216*
Great Deal
US$ 246*
US$ 245*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Professional photos
The Scotsman Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,243 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,109: English reviews
Start your review of The Scotsman Hotel
 Click to rate
Cleveland u.k
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Fantastic hotel Easy check in with very friendly and helpful staff - Beautiful room fully stocked mini bar and reasonable prices too (for a 4star) - beds very comfy and pillows fluffy yet firm. Everything you could possibly need is in the room. Breakfast was so tasty I have a full Scottish and mum had a fresh grapefruit followed by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wink_bink
64manager, General Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review

Dear wink_bink, We are glad that you and your Mom enjoyed your stay with us. We are dedicated to serve the best to our guests and our staff are well trained to be friendly and helpful. Please let us know of your next visit to us and we are more than happy to look after you. We wish your Mom...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed for 3 nights in room 601, room was very warm despite no heating on but not really a problem as we just left the window open. Hotel staff were very friendly, helpful & knowledgeable especially with what sights to see and how to get there. Yes, the spa & restaurant is no longer open but there are so many...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mandi M
64manager, General Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mandi M, It was great to hear from you. Thank you for a great review and your kind understanding. I have rectified the issue with the WiFi in your room. Please let us know of your next visit and we are more than happy to assist you. Kindest Regards Kannan Nair General Manager

New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent 3 nights at the Scotsman and found the hotel to be in a perfect location, right near the train station. Our room was comfortable and had lots of nice amenities. The only downside was the internet was not strong and we sometimes had trouble getting online. The breakfast was great and the service was excellent. The staff was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
64manager, General Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sue P, Thank you for the review. I was nice to hear from you. We are so glad to understand that you enjoyed your stay. Please let us know of your next visit and we are more than happy to look after you again. Kind Regards Kannan Nair General Manager

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Scotsman hotel does not achieve its star rating and I would rate it at about 2 star. The staff are pleasant and try to be helpful but are not very efficient . The bedroom was very much below standard, having no temperature control ,some of the lights did not work and the handle fell off the bathroom door. Meals...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eoerico
64manager, General Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review

Dear eoerico, Thank you for your valuable comments. We are so sorry to understand your disappointment during your stay with us. We take pride in our product and services but sorry to understand that it didn't reflect on your stay. I hope you give us another chance to put things right for you. If you change your mind, please let...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have just spent two very comfortable nights in room 609 at The Scotsman hotel, thanks. The trip started with a warm welcome (after carrying my bags up the stairs from the station as the door opposite the station entrance isn't particularly obvious!) from the reception staff. The room was a good size with large en suite bathroom; large bath,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
64manager, General Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter G, Thank you for your valuable comments. Sorry that you had to carry all the bags up the stairs. On the left hand side of the Scotsman Steps, the is a double black door which says Scotsman Hotel and the door has a buzzer. Once you press the buzzer and given your name of reservation, we open the...

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very dissatisfied with the "Junior suite" large empty space with no soft furnishings. Thought I would try this as a change from the George hotel, my usual choice, big mistake. Classic old building that could be so much better, great location and wonderful potential. Would not return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PAJ1962
64manager, General Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PAJ1962, It was great to hear from you. I am sorry that you had a disappointing stay. We have started our full refurb of the hotel and I can promise you that on your next visit, you will not be disappointed. Please let me know if you wish to discuss the matter further. Kind Regards Kannan Nair

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a lovely room on the 8th floor with wonderful views of the city . The reception staff were very friendly. The only disappointment was that it has no restaurant. Breakfast was in a very small room . We had a long wait for a table and then to be served . Most of the breakfast was pre cooked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie D
64manager, General Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Julie D, It was great to hear from you. We are glad to understand you enjoyed the room and the service provided by our staff members. When we bought the hotel, the restaurant was not on offer to purchase. But we are working hard to resolve the issues. Our new Bar and Lounge offers lunch, afternoon tea and dinners....

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the Scotsman. It's right off the Royal Mile. The room was great size and we had a great view from our window. It's an older building, so there is some wear and tear in the carpets in the room, but not dirty. The bathroom was roomy and clean. The lounge had a good selection of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrewkZ4332YA
64manager, General Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review

Dear andrewkZ4332YA, It was great to hear from you. We are in a process of refurb and most of the rooms carpets have been changed. Our hotel is located centrally and most of the touristic attractions are on walk-able distance. Unfortunately our hotel doesn't have in house parking but the discounted car park facility at the Waverley APCOA carpark is...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked the Scotsman Hotel via AMOMA site on the 4th Feb for the 22nd of April for my daughter and myself as we were going to see a show...at first a really nice hotel, reception staff very friendly...there was no restaurant it was closed down and looked derelict dirty windows etc at the front of the hotel, the spa...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank norah s
64manager, General Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review

Dear norah s, Thank you for sharing your valuable comments. As explained on my email, since you have booked and paid to an agent, I am not in a position to offer you a full refund from the hotel. But as explained by me, once you contact your agent, I am more than happy to authorise the refund to you....

Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at this hotel during May, while on business in Edinburgh. Clearly this hotel has been one of the best at some point. I know that the hotel is going through a number of changes with ownership and renovations etc, however at the moment its just falling a little short. The location is perfect, although for anyone driving the car...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DavidTPtank
64manager, General Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DavidTPtank, Thank you for your review and it was great to hear from you. Since the day we took over the hotel, our full concentration has been to improve our guest experiences. We are working towards it every day . Our hotel building is very central and has lots of historical values. Our staff are very welcoming and accommodating....

961 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (633)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (93)
Viewed
Room/Suite (147)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (55)
Viewed
View from Room (54)
Viewed
2:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (256)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (214)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (62)
Viewed
Director Suite (71)
Viewed
Editor Room (60)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (114)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Other (13)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
3,674 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
887 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#56 of 147 in Edinburgh
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#26 of 147 in Edinburgh
915 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighbourhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in a desirable location on North Bridge, The 4 star Scotsman Hotel is nestled between the hustle and bustle of the New Town and the historical Old Town, the hotel is perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Just off the famous Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and Princess Street are within 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. Tourist attractions, entertainment venues, restaurants, bars and shopping are all conveniently near-by, making The Scotsman Hotel the ideal base to explore the our great city. Many of the original features and layout remain intact from the former national newspaper of Scotland printing house, bringing historical character to this luxury boutique hotel. The Marble staircase, now the centre of the hotel, retains its imposing stained glass window and glows magnificently by candle light each evening. Within the heart of the historic and iconic building is our comfortable bar and lounge area which serves a wide variety of drinks to suit all tastes, a luxurious afternoon tea and a great range of bar snacks. A high quality Scottish breakfast with superb service is served daily in our dedicated breakfast restaurant. With discounted parking at local secure car park, complimentary Wi-Fi and all the little extras you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel, we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Scotsman Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Price Range: ₹ 11,562 - ₹ 38,875 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Scotsman Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#49 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Scotsman Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from The Scotsman Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room 601, smallish but more than adequate for 2, we heard no noise from anyone”
MandiM834, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“Try to get outward looking rooms.”
DavidTPtank, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for rooms overlooking the New Town, if you can”
colonialdrummer1, 10 May 2017 | Read review
“Penthouse depending on price outstanding room tho , check before using mini bar as there is a charge”
K8546CDdavido, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“Honestly we were upgraded to a suit and that was very dated so I recommend booking another property.”
Hindy1, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$ 216* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$ 246
TravelocityUS$ 245
HotelQuicklyUS$ 298
View all 15 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates