We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel

Show Prices
#58 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

848 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 778: English reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Unfortunately a slightly negative review. Wifi is unusable for anything(i use 4g as i type this!) The room was nice but cold. Bathroom sink tiny had to fill the kettle from the shower. Service at bfast extremely poor and slow. To end on a positive mote the staff are very friendly when you can get hold of them amd the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David B
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Well equipped hotel with friendly staff. Bedrooms and public areas are clean and well maintained. Good food - breakfast & dinner. We stayed for 3 nights and would certainly stay again when visiting Edinburgh.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David O
BraidHillsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David O Thank you for your recent review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and the beautiful city of Edinburgh. My team and I hope to welcome you again soon. Kind Regards Andrea Paton, General Manager

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were greeted by a piper in full regalia. We were shown into a private with complimentary welcome drinks. Once again, the piper announced time to take your table. The food service was speedy and slick. The food was lovely and piping hot. The live band played music to suit all tastes and were excellent. Just after midnight the piper...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
BraidHillsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anne M Thank you for your fantastic review of your recent Hogmanay experience in our hotel. We all had a great time that night. All the best to you and your family. My team and I hope to welcome you again soon. Kind Regards Andrea Paton, General Manager

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed one night on a deal, it was great value, enjoyed my stay. I had an excellent room , comfortable and clean (except for a few little things, which didn't spoil it). Dinner was good , breakfast was a wee bit busy and I think understaffed ....there was always a wait for something at the buffet whether it be glasses...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alison c
BraidHillsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review

Dear alison c Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I am really happy to read about our great team and comfortable room. My team and I hope to welcome you again soon. Kind Regards Andrea Paton, General Manager

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice hotel in good location. Stayed on an 'Itison' deal for one night. Room and shower room were tiny and glad we were only in it for 1 night. I guess you get the least nice rooms when staying on a deal. Had drinks in the bar & meal in restaurant both really good. Staff all friendly without exception. Nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Weirdytwins
BraidHillsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Weirdytwins Thank you for your recent review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and the beautiful city of Edinburgh. My team and I hope to welcome you again soon. Kind Regards Andrea Paton, General Manager

Douglas, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

stayed for new years period whilst attending hogmanay festive on new years eve. room was comfortable and staff friendly ate in restaurant for evening meal and that was ok had breakfast new years day; it was £14.95pp, however this was extremely disappointing. the porridge was like gruel, the baps were stale and the cooked breakfast whilst in heated containers was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jo m
BraidHillsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jo m Thank you for your recent review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and the beautiful city of Edinburgh. Also I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the shortcomings in breakfast service you experienced during your last day of visit in our hotel. I passed on all your comments to...

Ardrossan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We use this hotel when we visit Edinburgh which can be 3/4times a year for short breaks. It's a lovely character hotel with very pleasant and efficient staff. The overall appearance of the hotel is good and it is spotlessly clean, the staff work hard to keep it in good order. The breakfast buffet is excellent a good choice of...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cairistiona65
BraidHillsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cairistiona65 Thank you for your recent review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and the beautiful city of Edinburgh. I am glad you mentioned about high quality of food served in our restaurant. We are very proud of our kitchen team. Also I agree with you that our front of house team work very...

Scotland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 3 nights over Xmas as we have done for the last few years. This is a very nice hotel. It is very clean, lovely rooms and happy staff. The friendly atmosphere around the reception area is very welcoming as is the warmth throughout the building. We had drinks from the bar and dinner in the restaurant on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank N_FScotland
BraidHillsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review

Dear N_FScotland Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We highly appreciate your loyalty to our hotel. I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the shortcomings in breakfast service you experienced during your visit to our restaurant. Thank you for sharing your constructive feedback with us. It allows team to learn and develop...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked to stay here last minute to visit family in Edinburgh and stayed for 2 nights from 27th-29th December 2016 with my fiancé and our 3 year old little girl. We arrived quite late on the 27th and we checked in quickly and were shown to our room by a porter. Our room was 415 and was one of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danniwalsh32
BraidHillsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Danniwalsh32 Thank you for your recent review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and the beautiful city of Edinburgh. I am glad you particularly liked your room and breakfast. My team and I hope to welcome you again soon. Kind Regards Andrea Paton, General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is the second time I've stopped here and I'm still not disappointed. The rooms are bigger than most, they are quiet. The ensuite bathrooms are also very nice, the shower is powerful but took a little time to heat up. The bed was very comfortable. Downstairs the hotel boasts a very good restaurant and bar which is a little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew O
BraidHillsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Matthew O Thank you for your fantastic review of your recent stay with us. My team and I hope to welcome you again soon. Kind Regards Andrea Paton, General Manager

422 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (144)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (58)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (249)
Viewed
Amenities (21)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (17)
Viewed
Deluxe Room with Vanity (11)
Viewed
Double Room (13)
Viewed
Family Room (15)
Viewed
Modern Single Room (10)
Viewed
Old Style Single Room (16)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Signature Room (18)
Viewed
Signature Room with Canopy Bed (22)
Viewed
Signature Room with Vanity (19)
Viewed
Single Room (13)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)
Viewed
Twin Room (9)
Viewed
Twin Room with Skylight (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#94 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,093 reviews
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#80 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Best Western Edinburgh Braid Hills Hotel is magnificently situated in its own grounds, with panoramic views right across the City of Edinburgh, to the Pentlands, the Firth of Forth and the Fife hills beyond. Great contemporary Scottish cuisine served in 1886 Restaurant and genuine, friendly service from the all staff is complemented by ample free parking, free wifi and convenient access to a frequent bus service into the city centre. Come and experience a hotel stay with a real Scottish feel! ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel

Address: 134 Braid Road, Edinburgh EH10 6JD, Scotland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Braid Hills Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: ₹ 5,155 - ₹ 15,464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel Scotland
Edinburgh Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms with a bath are generally a bit bigger”
 of 5 bubbles alisonc436, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade if you like a large spacious room.”
 of 5 bubbles N_FScotland, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Great views in room 212”
 of 5 bubbles 642margaretc, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Heating didn't seem to be working but we don't like a too hot room anyway.”
 of 5 bubbles briantmcm, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Get a room with a view of the city”
 of 5 bubbles glennr670, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay