We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel

Show Prices
#64 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

821 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 754: English reviews
South Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We were here for an overnight with breakfast. The hotel was clean and well run although reception seem to be a little understaffed. The bus stop which takes you right to the city centre is next to the hotel and costs £1.60. Breakfast had mostly everything you would want although had one of my pet hates, a self toaster which... More 

Helpful?
Thank john3420
Malaga, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

we are a Spanish couple we stayed here for a few days we recommend the hotel lovely staff apart from the unpleasant breakfast chef who with a ginger head was, last Tuesday, shouting and verbally abusing the waiters and the customers for the simple reasons that we started taking food a few minutes before 7am. He was totally disrespectful to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank oulkachahdou
1 review
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Nice hotel lovely room all very friendly except the restaurant had to ask many times for a drink and would not recommend the food very small and cold. Staff only interested in the American family staying at the hotel. Apart from that was nice warm and very clean

Helpful?
Thank 60996099
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Great hotel in handy location with car parking. Very comfortable rooms/beds and plenty warm and cosy for these cold winter nights. Staff are helpful and there is good food in the restaurant. We have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions and will continue to use it on our trips to Edinburgh.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ian B
BraidHillsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ian B Thank you for your 5* review of your recent stay with us and continued loyalty to our hotel. My team and I hope to welcome you again soon. Kind Regards Andrea Paton, General Manager More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Very good value, superbly updated furnishing and evening meal was great. Enjoy the atmosphere that this hotel creates - many larger chain economy hotels offer similar deals but they are characterless and lack atmosphere.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank suey553
BraidHillsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your fantastic review of your recent stay with us. My team and I hope to welcome you again soon. Kind Regards Andrea Paton, General Manager More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was our second week-end visit, last visit was 24/25 Sept. The room was on the third floor, well furnished and decorated , clean and has all the facilities. Except the sink in the bathroom was very small. Unfortunately ,Breakfast was Luke warm and self service, staff were very sluggish, and the breakfast was not worth £14.95 per person. For... More 

Helpful?
Thank Keith B
BraidHillsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Keith B Thank you for your recent review. I would like to take this opportunity to apologise if we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. The property was built in 1886 without the capability to install an elevator however during our refurbishment we have upgraded our ground floor bedrooms and installed secure, level access to these bedrooms... More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Arrived a few hours ago for a 3 night stay. What a lovely hotel, cosy bar area and restaurant overlooking the city. We opted for a bar lunch and chose the hot sharing platter, delicious! Very attentive but not overly intrusive barman & waiter. I enjoyed a coffee after our lunch while hubby went for a life stroll then we... More 

Helpful?
Thank jan s
BraidHillsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your 5* review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and the beautiful city of Edinburgh. My team and I hope to welcome you again soon. Kind Regards Andrea Paton, General Manager More 

Greater Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is really quirky (in a good way) the team are very friendly and helpful and the location is OK for easy access to the CBD and areas around Edinburugh. The "but" is because the shower in my room (and my friends room staying on the same floor in a different room) didnt flow properly....ie to get wet I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Razzle D
BraidHillsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Razzle D Firstly, I would like to thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent stay at the Best Western Braid Hills Hotel. I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the dis-satisfaction regarding your accommodation. Our maintenance team has investigated the water supply into this bedroom, we do have pumps to... More 

Isle of Lewis, Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I'd booked a table for a Friday night family dinner for five. The restaurant was quiet when we arrived but it had a good atmosphere and the room was attractive. The menu was varied, however the gluten-free choices were not great despite the hotel advertising that they could cater for special diets. We ordered, the starters came quickly and were... More 

Helpful?
Thank purplerabbit
BraidHillsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank for taking the time to review your recent meal in our 1886 Restaurant. Please accept my apologies on behalf of the team for the accident which occurred when delivering your main course, all of our menu options are prepared fresh to order and this is the reason a replacement fish pie would have taken 20 minutes. We... More 

Aviemore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After returning refreshed from Murrayfield. The kitchen was closed but Elsida ensured that there was great food was made, for which I am very grateful. Good breakfast in the morning too. The room was pretty good too, clean and above expectations.

Helpful?
Thank Drumuillie_Grange
BraidHillsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your recent review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and the beautiful city of Edinburgh. My team and I hope to welcome you again soon. Kind Regards Andrea Paton, General Manager More 

409 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (130)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (48)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (249)
Viewed
Amenities (21)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (17)
Viewed
Deluxe Room with Vanity (11)
Viewed
Double Room (13)
Viewed
Family Room (15)
Viewed
Modern Single Room (10)
Viewed
Old Style Single Room (16)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Signature Room (18)
Viewed
Signature Room with Canopy Bed (22)
Viewed
Signature Room with Vanity (19)
Viewed
Single Room (13)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)
Viewed
Twin Room (9)
Viewed
Twin Room with Skylight (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#76 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,907 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Best Western Edinburgh Braid Hills Hotel is magnificently situated in its own grounds, with panoramic views right across the City of Edinburgh, to the Pentlands, the Firth of Forth and the Fife hills beyond. Great contemporary Scottish cuisine served in 1886 Restaurant and genuine, friendly service from the all staff is complemented by ample free parking, free wifi and convenient access to a frequent bus service into the city centre. Come and experience a hotel stay with a real Scottish feel! ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel

Address: 134 Braid Road, Edinburgh EH10 6JD, Scotland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Braid Hills Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: ₹ 5,080 - ₹ 16,360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel Scotland
Edinburgh Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms facing arthur seat”
 of 5 bubbles oulkachahdou, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room with a view was nice”
 of 5 bubbles 60996099, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view. If you don't like a warm bedroom turn down the radiator thermostat!”
 of 5 bubbles ianb282, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“standard room”
 of 5 bubbles scottpW9339JL, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you can get a room to the front of the hotel, you will have the most magnificent view of the city”
 of 5 bubbles 163jeanm, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay