We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh

Expedia.comUS$ 197*
View Deal
#41 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,402 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,369: English reviews
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 December 2015

We were married (myself and my husband) on the 13th December 2014 at Norton House Hotel. From the minute we walk into this venue and met Lisa and her team we knew it was the perfect place for us to marry. With a year and half before the wedding itself, Lisa and her team ensured that our day was planned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julie w
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a super review following your wedding in December 2014. I am genuinely delighted we were able to play host to such a special occasion and it fantastic that we were able to rectify your on the day predicament. I will ensure the team get to see your comments and I will personally...

Cowdenbeath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2015 via mobile

Our wedding in the Garden Suite was simply stunning and I cannot praise Norton House highly enough. Our wedding co-ordinator Lisa Lesuik was excellent from our very first meeting in November 2014. No question was ever stupid and always answered promptly and professionally, an asset to Norton House. Attention to detail was outstanding and I am a super organised person...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chez6577
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Congratulations on your recent wedding here at Norton House Hotel & Spa. I was delighted to read you had a truly amazing day. I will certainly pass on your kind words to all the team and I will personally thank Lisa and Jen who you have highlighted in your review. I am sure they will take great delight in knowing...

Fife Scotland
Reviewed 13 December 2015 via mobile

We decided to go for an early dinner . My wife ordered the prawn cocktail and she got the most unimaginative prawn cocktail starter and 7.50 !! Some supermarket prawns , laid on the plate , bit of lettuce on the side and two blobs of rosemary sauce, ( flat side plate ) . Even put in a sweet bowl...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gmoncur
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to Norton House. Your feedback is really important to us and whilst we naturally enjoy receiving positive reviews, we add just as much importance to comments letting us know where we did not do well. Please accept my apologies that dinner was not to your expectations. Please...

Reviewed 13 December 2015 via mobile

I had a spa package booking for Saturday morning and the experience fell nothing short of excellent. Attentive staff, wonderful maseusse, great facilities and nice lunch. I would definitely repurchase the package and spend more time at this wonderful relaxing spa.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gugute
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a super review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted you enjoyed all aspects of your Spa experience and that you found our facility to be so relaxing. I will ensure the team in the Health Club and Spa see your feedback and I am sure they will take great encouragement from your...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2015

We spent a very enjoyable day at the spa on Thurs 10th Dec for my partner's birthday. We arrived and were give a complimentary fruit juice whilst one of the staff members gave us a welcome pack. We were also given a tour of the spa and our own robe/slippers/towel. We used the gym, swimming pool, steam room, sauna, experience...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexa Y
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a great review following your visit to the Spa. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your Spa Experience and that you utilised all the facilities in the Health Club. Thank you for recommending us to prospective guests and I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel very soon. Kind regards Chris Monks

Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2015

This was a lunch Groupon deal of £29 for 2 courses. The service was good and the dining room which was in the brasserie was comfortable and spacious. The food was very good however we felt the portions were a bit on the small side but apart from that had a most enjoyable lunch.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank esfalkirk
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to post a review following your visit for lunch. I am delighted to read you enjoyed the food and that you found the service to be good. I take on board your comments regarding portion size and have discussed these with our Executive Chef. I do hope we can welcome you back to Norton...

London
Reviewed 11 December 2015

Stayed here for 2 nights while in Edinburgh on business. I recently stayed at Dalmahoy and Houstoun House and wasn't impressed with them so Norton House was next on my list. The staff were lovely, always very friendly and accommodating. I was in an Executive room which was spacious and had a lovely bathroom. The only downside was the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GR27
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you fir taking the time and trouble to post a review following your stay on business. I am delighted you found the Executive room to be spacious and that you liked the bathroom. Please accept my apology that the room temperature was not as you would have expected. We had a compressor that went down in our air conditioning...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2015

Stayed on a Saturday night with hubby & friends. Picked Norton House because of the excellent reviews. We stayed in the original part of the hotel & had a lovely view from our room over the grounds. The room was very comfortable with good facilities such as a fridge with fresh milk, water & space for a bottle of wine....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andi911
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay, I was pleased to read you found your room to be comfortable and that you enjoyed the food at lunch and dinner. I was sorry to read about your experience in the Spa and I apologise for this. I have spoken to Carla our Spa Manager...

Kraainem, Belgium
Reviewed 6 December 2015

Nice hotel and really lovely staff, we felt very welcomed. We had afternoon tea but this was not so great. We were in a room that had no atmosphere and just one other party in it, felt like a bit of a side room from the main area. The afternoon tea itself was also very average. No major complaint but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NicStiltonMassey
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review following your stay in May. I am delighted to read you found your room to be lovely and that you were felt welcomed by our team. I was disappointed that you did not enjoy your afternoon tea experience and I apologise for this. I was pleased to read you enjoyed the room service food...

Reviewed 6 December 2015 via mobile

Fantastic hotel, facilities amazing, rooms sumptuous, food stunning! Had our wedding at the Norton house hotel and as you can see from the above everything was fantastic! This is clearly down to the amazing staff from front desk to restaurant to the events team. Big thanks to Jen and Jamie on the day and Gemma. Will make sure to visit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for posting such a great review and please let me offer my congratulations on your recent wedding at the hotel. I was delighted to read you thoroughly enjoyed your special day and that the team looked after you so well. I will certainly convey your kind words to all the team especially Jen, Jamie and Gemma...

737 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (354)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (50)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (62)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (161)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (352)
Viewed
Dining (61)
Viewed
The Edinburgh Suite (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (150)
Viewed
The Kingdom Suite (100)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 147 in Edinburgh
2,738 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
3,671 reviews
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#82 of 147 in Edinburgh
2,107 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
1,781 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Norton House Hotel & Spa, one of the finest country house hotels in Edinburgh and AA Hotel of the Year Scotland 2010. The perfect backdrop to any wedding in Scotland, this romantic venue will make your Scottish Wedding dream come true. Built in 1840, Norton House Hotel & Spa in Edinburgh, Scotland was always intended as a traditional country retreat, removed from the bustle of the city. This four star hotel in Scotland is just a 20-minute drive from Edinburgh city centre and a mere ten minutes away from Edinburgh Airport. Situated in 55 acres of grounds, Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh offers 83 bedrooms, including 36 luxury executive bedrooms, junior suites and the master suite. Norton House Hotel in Scotland offers the popular contemporary Brasserie. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh

Address: Ingliston, Edinburgh EH28 8LX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: ₹ 10,853 - ₹ 25,493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norton House Hotel And Spa Edinburgh
Norton Hotel Edinburgh
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh Scotland
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh staff and other travellers.
29 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (29)

Questions? Get answers from Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If booking suite try to ensure it is not a duplex room you are choosing as the layout is not great. Have stayed before in the Lomond Suite.”
ChristineM191250, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“we had the exec which was very spacious for the 4 of us together!! and very comfortable”
brugeegg, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“if you have any special requirements The Hotel was happy to oblige”
diddyd331, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Executive rooms are good and have balconies.”
MarionM405, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Only went for afternoon tea but family have stayed and found it very good”
763pams, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$ 197* /night
View Deal
CancelonUS$ 209
Booking.comUS$ 203
Orbitz.comUS$ 197
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates