We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Park View House Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Park View House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

194 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 167: English reviews
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

Reading these reviews I really don't understand why they are all so negative. For the price this was a great find. Stayed here with a group of friends and the rooms were a lot better than we expected. They look a lot better than the photos on the site! A little bit out the way but you know where you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Claire C
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my partner (male..) stayed here at the end of October, what an absolute joke this place is. We booked for the end of October and they took money out in September without any warning, we then got too the hotel after travelling up from Suffolk and the "male member of staff" didn't like the fact that we had... More 

Helpful?
Thank ap_bury94

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I booked to stay at this hovel for two nights from 4th November. What a hole, the first room we were given was very dated with furniture from the fifties. Dirty old wrinkled blinds on the windows and no curtains, parts of blinds missing. Second room offered, no blinds of any nature in bathroom so people in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stuart N
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

As inconvenient a hotel is without a 24hr desk these days, this charges a fee every hour past 10pm!! Rooms were filthy, dust and dead wasps everywhere. Mirror broken. Our room had a door leading to room 12 next door, no lock. Awful. Only plus side was free parking area at the rear. I stay in different hotels every night... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank porltravel
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2016

Due to a mistake in their booking program, the hotel was overbooked (despite our booking confirmation). They asked us to return 3 times, before we got news that they didn't have a room available for us. They managed to get us a room on the other side of the park. Which we had to pay for ourselves. But they couldn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cynthia V
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

Room ok, toilet secured from public hallway by tiny snib lock. Had to ask for new bath mat as one supplied was still on floor & wet. Police there twice during my stay & I was questioned about a cash payment!!!! Keep your receipts!

Helpful?
Thank Raye C
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

The hotel is situated I would say halfway between Edinburgh city centre and leith terminal. The area itself is ok. Opposite a park. Tesco within a few minutes walk. Plenty of parking available along the main road the hotel is on. That's the only real selling point of this hotel. The parking. It's cheap which I why I chose this... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Our room was quite spacious compared to many other European hotels. The staff was very accommodating and helpful. It is close to a number of bus lines. The neighborhood is quiet but close to a couple of good pubs.

Helpful?
Thank Bill L
preston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

My daughter booked through a third party and used the option of free cancellation two weeks prior to her stay..hotel still charged her account and are refusing to refund her as the manager is away for a month..the person covering is also away for 2 weeks..when asked who is in charge we were told "no one" sounds an absolute farce... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank tatt002
Park_View_MGR, Front Office Manager at Park View House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am Sad to hear that this has occurred and at no point were any of the management approached for authorization for refund due to cancellation if you are able to contact the hotel either by email or phone i am sure we can get this sorted for you once again my appologies More 

1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

It is fair to say I wouldn't be back here. The room which could sleep up to 6 people had one towel. When I asked for more towels I was told that it could be a problem! One of the beds was made up with a sheet that was too small and the mattress protector was not fit for purpose.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Greg B
Park_View_MGR, Front Office Manager at Park View House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I would welcome the opportunity to discuss the issues raised with you directly as i was not made aware of any issues from the reception team please can you contact the hotel either by phone or email so i can prevent these issues from occurring further Rudeness is not acceptable by any member of staff and this will... More 

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Victoria Park Hotel
#123 of 150 in Edinburgh
163 reviews
Corstorphine
The Corstorphine Lodge Hotel
The Corstorphine Lodge Hotel
#269 of 444 in Edinburgh
136 reviews
Pillars House
#100 of 444 in Edinburgh
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mackenzie Guest House
#131 of 444 in Edinburgh
71 reviews
Clarin Guest House
#123 of 444 in Edinburgh
103 reviews
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
#207 of 444 in Edinburgh
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Park View House Hotel

Address: 14 Hermitage Place, Edinburgh EH6 8AF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: ₹ 3,358 - ₹ 13,260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Park View House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Park View House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park View House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Park View House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms outside at the back of hotel were nice!”
 of 5 bubbles P3952KIclairec, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The basement rooms and the rooms located to the backyard are very quiet. No traffic or noise from other guests can be heard.”
 of 5 bubbles MrBackground, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Try a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles edwardcJ5422FY, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
“There isn't one probably”
 of 5 bubbles 729robb, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
“the view is better at the front over the park”
  • Real old school.. shampoo in packets
  • Some work going on right now in the car park
  • Sofa
  • Beds
  • shower and sink area
 of 5 bubbles Barrie2010, 9 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay