We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel

Show Prices
#38 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Panoramas (23)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,270 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,002: English reviews
Start your review of Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
 Click to rate
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great location,friendly staff and we're always helpful when I needed any information. Had breakfast one morning which was really nice and the room was of a good standard but could have done with a fridge maybe for drinks. Overall an ideal place to stay with fantastic views of the castle in this beautiful city

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tarina T
ZsoltJakri, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, thank you for your kind comments, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Please get in touch with us prior to your next visit, we have several rooms with fridges and we will be happy to assist you with any specific requirements. We are looking forward to welcoming you back. Yours sincerely, Z Jakri General Manager

Scotland
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We booked a two night getaway for my wife's birthday and were pleasantly surprised with the high standard of this hotel. Swift check in with excellent staff who cannot do enough for you. We had continental breakfast each day and had dinner on the second night. Food was of a very high standard and well presented. I highly recommend this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paterson5
ZsoltJakri, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your amazing feedback, I am delighted we had the opportunity to play a small part in your getaway! We really appreciate your recommendation and we are looking forward to welcoming you back. Yours sincerely, Z Jakri General Manager

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The room was very clean with both a walk in shower and bath in the bathroom. The room was comfortable with a sofa which was very welcoming after a busy day sightseeing. We didn't eat at the hotel but it all looked lovely. There are lots of bars and places to eat very close to the hotel. Would certainly recommend...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank L1486NGbarbarac
ZsoltJakri, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, thank you for your lovely words, we really appreciate your comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you back! Kind regards Z Jakri General Manager

Manila, Philippines
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The location was perfect - right smack in the middle of Grassmarket and only a few meters (slope) from Edinburgh Castle. A lot of pubs and nice breakfast places nearby giving us multiple dining options. Staff were very pleasant and helpful and check-in/check-out was quick. Spacious and clean bathrooms (the Apex duck was cute, I took it home) with large...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulangelo_chang
ZsoltJakri, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, thank you for your amazing feedback - and also for taking our duck away! Please send us some photos of his (called Bobby) travels. We are looking forward to welcoming you back! Kind regards Z Jakri General Manager

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Excellent location. Check in was smooth and friendly. Room was comfortable and shower, particularly fabulous being big and with good control of temperature. The room was refreshed very well too. All staff were very polite.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank goranb65
ZsoltJakri, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your comments, I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel. We work hard to deliver exceptional service and it is great to know we did not fail to impress you. Yours sincerely, Z Jakri General Manager

Alsager, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed on the weekend of 18th Feb with my partner. Were both really happy with the hotel - well designed and spacious rooms. Stayed in the comfort plus room and paid an extra £25 per night for a castle view room (perhaps a bit overpriced as we had already paid for upgraded room) but view was great. Lovely bathroom with...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte1604
ZsoltJakri, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Charlotte, thank you for your amazing comments, we are really pleased you had such a marvellous experience! We are looking forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards Z Jakri General Manager

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Great overnight stay. Quick check in, everything you could want in room. Really appreciated hand written birthday wishes and drinks vouchers to help celebrate. Nice Elemis toiletries and walk in shower. Free wifi. Booked DBB package. Really enjoyed dinner and good service. Breakfast had good choice of self service items but coffee and cooked order took ages to come. Think...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ERS2013
ZsoltJakri, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your comments, I am delighted you had such a great experience. Apologies for the issue with your cooked breakfast, I have raised this with the restaurant team to avoid any recurrence. Kind regards Z Jakri General Manager

Tyne and wear
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here with my wife for a Weekend break, Booked an upgrade City plus room which came with bathrobes and toiletries, a safe and a fridge. £240 for 2 nights with breakfasts an extra £62 which at £151/ night was reasonable. Very comfy and quiet room on the 4th floor with views of the castle. Smack in the middle of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnDoeTyneandwear
ZsoltJakri, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, what a lovely detailed review! I am delighted you had a fabulous stay with us and enjoyed everything this fantastic city can offer. I could not agree with you more on your comments regarding breakfast, we have some fantastic dishes and a huge selection of continental items. Kind regards Z Jakri General Manager

Northern Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great Hotel , Fabulous Location , I would highly recommend...we did not use restaurant so cannot comment on food etc...we ate breakfast out at different cafe as there are loads close by...Apex is close to all main attractions , the hop on hop off bus stops right outside the door, there is also a taxi rank at the door who...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank stillaraver
ZsoltJakri, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, thank you for you lovely comments, we are delighted you had a great stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back! Kind regards Z Jakri General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really pleasant stay. Nice hotel and very clean. Perfect location on Grassmarket. The hotel is right near the castle and on the doorstep to a wide range of pubs and food establishments. Love Edinburgh

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Faye W
ZsoltJakri, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review! As you love Edinburgh, we hope you return to us in the not too distant future - we are looking forward to welcoming you back! Kind regards Z Jakri General Manager

714 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (539)
Viewed
View from Room (51)
Viewed
Room/Suite (133)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (81)
Viewed
Bathroom (72)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
2:13
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (172)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (141)
Viewed
City Plus Double Room (23)
Viewed
City Plus Twin Room (21)
Viewed
City Standard Double Room (22)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#83 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,114 reviews
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#47 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,982 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#57 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 150 in Edinburgh
251 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,371 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 150 in Edinburgh
4,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighbourhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Agua Restaurant & Bar
Agua Restaurant & Bar
Cuisines: European, Scottish, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the heart of Edinburgh's Old Town, this contemporary hotel has 122 stylish rooms. Designed for comfort, rooms include HD widescreen LCD TV, large desk, free Wi-Fi and local calls, ground coffee and selected teas, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. Facilities include Agua Bar and Restaurant, event space for up to 80 delegates, use of leisure facilities a few doors away at Apex International including pool and gym. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel

Address: 61 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Price Range: ₹ 6,077 - ₹ 19,480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Edinburgh
Hotel Apex City
Apex City Of Edinburgh Hotel Scotland
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles JohnDoeTyneandwear, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Look for a room with views of Edinburgh Castle”
 of 5 bubbles DerekF607, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“we were on floor 3 and had a brilliant view of the castle”
 of 5 bubbles HappyMackem212, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Deluxe rooms have view of castle and Grassmarket.”
 of 5 bubbles wanderer593, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There is a great view of the Castle from the front of the hotel so ask for rooms facing Grassmarket.”
 of 5 bubbles Bev-Max, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5