We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Dunstane Hotel

Show Prices
#13 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Dunstane Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,249 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Dunstane Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,178: English reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

We've just come back from 3 nights here and can't recommend it enough! We stayed In a deluxe room in the townhouse which is across the road from the main hotel. Staff were friendly, breakfast was served in the bar in the townhouse (didn't have to go to the main building). Breakfast cooked to order and the full Scottish breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dizzy2778
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you so much for your review - I am pleased the rooms had everything in that you require. We are serving breakfast in our townhouse now yes so you don't have to leave the comfort of the building in the morning! I do ho[pe we can welcome you again - we are expanding the selection of drinks...

Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Was taken here by my boyfriend for a surprise weekend away for my 30th Birthday! Loved every minute of staying at the hotel! Our room was very clean and i even got a birthday card from the staff. (Thank you). Breakfast was lovely! Staff were very bubbly and outgoing and were always happy to help! Would definitely recommend and will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan M
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you so much, I am delighted that we made your birthday stay extra special - lucky you what a lovely treat from your boyfriend. I hope you can join us for his next birthday too! Samantha

Reviewed 13 February 2017

Perfect weekend in Edinburgh. Hotel were great in communicating with us prior, greated us on arrival with a smile and were fantastic throughout the weekend. Ensured any taxi's arrived within minutes, had great fun in the bar and suggested numerous places for us to visit, all of which were excellent. Would recommend to anyone to use this hotel over and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan A
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Dan A Thank you very much what a fantastic recommendation for us! Our staff really do try their best to do all they can for our guests and I am so pleased you benefited from that. I look forward to welcoming you again to The Dunstane Samantha

County Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Really enjoyed my stay at The Dunstane. The staff is super friendly and the hotel offers all amenities needed - I especially liked the fact that upon booking the staff reached out and asked if I had any questions about Edinburgh or my stay at The Dunstane. I received a document with great tips on where to eat/what to do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JFranziska
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review

Hello there Not a problem at all you are most welcome for the recommendations I am pleased we were able to help you with your stay - we always try and do the best we can for our guests and make sure their stay is as memorable as possible. Best Samantha

Pudsey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Dunstane for the weekend in late January. The location was great, about five minutes from the train station, with some decent bars and restaurants nearby. The deluxe room was very spacious, beautifully furnished, and a very clean bathroom. The staff at checkout/check-in were also very friendly and helpful. All round a very nice stay, and would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kingduncan81
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you so much for the lovely comments, delighted you enjoyed your stay and I do hope we can welcome you back in the future. Best, Samantha

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 January 2017

I booked a stay at The Dunstance for my boyfriend's birthday in December 2016. We were impressed with the whole hotel, the reception and bar area have lovely decor and our room was exceptionally clean and comfortable. The hotel is around a 20 minute walk from the city centre, and the reception staff were very helpful in telling us what...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank REH90
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there REH90 Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review for us. I am delighted the Dunstane helped to make your stay hassle free and enjoyable and that you found us a good location. Hopefully we can see you again for your next birthday celebration! Best, Samantha

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 January 2017

I was wow’ed by the reviews on Dunstane and so when work brought me to Edinburgh in early January 2017 and my client office was in the Haymarket area, I chose Dunstane coupled with the fact that they had a January half price sale! The room I chose was a small double in the modern building but it was large...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bukmas
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there Bukmas Thank you very much for your review I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and booked with us off the back of other guest feedback. I do apologise about the internet - this is not usual for us and was caused by the awful wind we were experiencing that week which blew down some equipment from...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 January 2017

We booked one of the Luxury rooms for our stay over New Yer and it certainly was Luxury. We arrived early and the hotel kindly allowed us to leave our bags and then have breakfast before embarking on our trip into town. It is a very nice 20 minute walk into the city centre and at no point over the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jollyman11
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there jollyman11 Thank you so much for that wonderful review I am so pleased you enjoyed your Hogmanay stay with us! We certainly had a great time and I am pleased the atmosphere passed on! I do hope we can welcome you back again to the Dunstane in 2017. Best regards Samantha

Ireland
Reviewed 9 January 2017

What a chilled out hotel with friendly staff and top quality standards. Location is excellent in that there is a bus stop outside the door (going to/from airport and City)and it is an easy 15 min walk into town. The rooms are tastefully designed, lovely temperature, quality towels/robes and Molten Brown products, great expresso m/c, kettle and tea cakes -...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pixie067
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you so much for those comments I am so pleased we exceeded all your expectations! The refurbishment is gong along really well - do keep in touch and let us know when you want to come back, I am sure I can sort out a deal for you to try one of our new suites! Best, Samantha

Newcastle-u-Lyme
Reviewed 7 January 2017

Booked this hotel as it has a car park and looked lovely on website. We were not disappointed ! It is a beautiful building and tastefully decorated. We requested to stay in the old house and our request was acknowledged. We had booked a petite double which was sufficient for our stay and not as small as expected .The breakfasts...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank RoxyDog09
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review

Hello there Thank you so much for your comments and for choosing The Dunstane for your Hogmanay Break! I am so pleased that we were able to fulfil your requests and that you were pleased with your room - however next time I really would try one of the bigger suites - they really are something special! I look forward...

347 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (306)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (72)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (58)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (145)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,756 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
258 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
993 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#15 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighbourhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighbourhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theatres and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Dunstane dates all the way back to 1852 to a design of William Playfair, one of Edinburgh's most famous architects. Now a boutique hotel privately-owned and managed by Derek and Shirley Mowat, each of our bedrooms offers a fresh take on country house charm. You can look forward to restful nights in four-poster beds with subtle accents of current style. Or stretch out king-size and enjoy all the period details and in-room features. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Dunstane Hotel

Address: 4 West Coates & 5 Hampton Terrace | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5JD, Scotland (Formerly Dunstane House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Price Range: ₹ 6,862 - ₹ 19,360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dunstane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Dunstane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh
Dunstane House Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Dunstane Hotel staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
5 months ago
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
6 months ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from The Dunstane Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 17 is fantastic. The view is phenomenal...”
 of 5 bubbles 12121874, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“203 overlooks the main road, so can be a little noisy with traffic in the morning. But it is a good size.”
 of 5 bubbles CatieF, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The rooms in the main building are getting a facelift”
 of 5 bubbles 818maricarh, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Superb room”
 of 5 bubbles phill528, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the Luxury rooms or the ones in the main hotel”
 of 5 bubbles jollyman11, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5