We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Waverley Hotel

Save
Traveller (475)
Room & Suite (324)
Dining (112)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent24%
  • Very good42%
  • Average21%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“scott monument”(146 reviews)
“princes street”(426 reviews)
“great location”(346 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Multilingual Staff
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Additional information
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (2,255)
There are newer reviews for The Old Waverley Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
2,045 results
Traveller rating
501
829
434
145
136
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
501
829
434
145
136
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscott monumentprinces streetgreat locationtrain stationfirst flooredinburgh castlechristmas marketcorner roomtour busestriple roomyour luggagecentral locationbuffet breakfastprincess stnice bathroomreception areashort break
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 2,045 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a very old hotel that has been well maintained. The rooms and baths are spacious with high ceilings. Very clean and the staff does a great job of serving your needs as best as they can...Meaning, they will virtually assist you with your...More

Thank David B
Response from Leon_GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Waverley HotelResponded 4 days ago

Dear David, Many thanks for taking the time to review Old Waverley Hotel, considering the architecture and restrictions linked to the age of the building we are unfortunately not able to have a lift from the entrance to the reception. We are glad you still...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My friend and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and really enjoyed it. Very centrally located and the staff were friendly and helpful. Especially Steve, the duty manager was all over the place attending customer requests. Great job guys!!

Thank Anusuyah
Response from EdinburghCollection, Front Office Manager at The Old Waverley HotelResponded 1 week ago

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found our location ideal for your visit to the Scottish capital. Thank you for mentioning our staff, we always strive to deliver the best. We hope to welcome you back again in the future!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Amazing location, coffee and tea selection, biscuits, and cute rooms but dated. Tiny wardrobe but we worked with it. We had a top room with a view of an office building but I didn't mind at anywhere else seems like it would have been very...More

Thank BellaVendetta
Response from Leon_GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Waverley HotelResponded 4 days ago

Dear BellaVendetta, Many thanks for takinf the time to review the Old Waverley Hotel, we are currently in the process of refurbishing and the lift has now been fixed. Your feedback is much appreciated and we hope to see you again. Kind regards,

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is in a great location for seeing the sites of Edinburgh. Had a very good room , 510 overlooking Princess Street. The breakfast was ok. There are stairs to climb to reception but a lift after that yo the rooms.More

Thank Wilsons70
Response from EdinburghCollection, Front Office Manager at The Old Waverley HotelResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Old Waverley Hotel. We hope you made the most of our great location and explored Edinburgh and we would love to welcome...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am sorry to say but the hotel was a huge disappointment. We have booked and paid a standard room with two beds by travel agency last ooctober. We got a basic junior room with one double bed, one cover and one small chair. The...More

1  Thank marjaleenas133
Response from EdinburghCollection, Front Office Manager at The Old Waverley HotelResponded 1 week ago

A disappointing review, but I thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel. Whilst the majority of our rooms do have an outlook, due to the design of the building, we do have some inward facing rooms, which unfortunately do...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Edinburgh
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Room Service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$ 129 - US$ 376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 129 - US$ 376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (475)
Room & Suite (324)
Dining (112)
Nearby
Princes Street and Gardens
Glaswegians tease Edinburghers that their High Street
is only half one, since buildings only line one side.
But what they don’t say is how extraordinary the views
are from Princes Street as a result. From here you
look onto expansive and decorative public gardens
beneath the mighty basalt cliffs on which Edinburgh’s
Castle stands proud above the rest of the dramatic old
town skyline. Yet many of those on Princes Street look
...More
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
BernieBeetle
17 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Britt R | Reviewed this property |
They don't have parking, unfortunately.
0
Votes
agnesmar12
24 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Kiwiria | Reviewed this property |
Depends on the booking. I booked through a booking site and could choose between two prices - one with breakfast included and one without. Breakfast there is really good though, and well worth the price.
0
Votes
Google Translation
Room Tips
"At the price point you can find better hotels"
Read review
"Request Front facing hotel room"
Read review
"Do no take the room 604 and 5 other rooms like that, without a view."
Read review
"Ask for a double aspect room on Princes Street. Fantastic views."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing