We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all 151 hotels in Edinburgh

Ballantrae Albany Hotel

820 reviews
Save
Traveller (268)
Room & Suite (157)
Dining (21)
Overview
  • Excellent23%
  • Very good33%
  • Average21%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
Free Wifi
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Suites
Free Parking
Pool
4.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Offers from Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Special Offer: Complimentary bottle of wine
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (820)Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
There are newer reviews for Ballantrae Albany Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
733 results
Traveller rating
183
219
155
85
91
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
183
219
155
85
91
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoneymoon suitecontinental breakfastquiet streethuge bathroomhigh ceilingsyork placestaff at receptionprinces streetdouble roomstayed for one nightbars and restaurantslovely roomenjoyable staycentral locationwithin easy walking distancetea and coffeevisiting edinburgh
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
241 - 245 of 733 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2015

Many excellent points about this hotel, fantastic location!! we found our room was lovely but my sister-in-law was very unhappy with hers (over looked the car park, ground floor and they needed to keep their window open as the room was too hote) It had...More

Thank lisafromMaynard
Response from Management360, Manager at Ballantrae Albany HotelResponded 21 September 2015

Many thanks for your review. We have noted both your positive and negative feedback, and will take all your comments on board. Although we do not have air conditioning in our rooms, but we do have fans available on request. We hope to welcome you...More

Reviewed 31 August 2015

The hotel was totally overpriced. The bedroom furniture is shabby, and not in a cool way! The shower did not work properly and complicated to operate and potentially dangerous because it is extremely/boiling hot. The tap heads on the bath just fell off in use....More

Thank E D
Response from Management360, Manager at Ballantrae Albany HotelResponded 14 September 2015

We are sorry that you felt the need to write this review, which is out of place when you look at the other guest reviews on Trip Advisor. We do not believe that any part of the hotel is shabby, having under gone a full...More

Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

Lovely hotel, received amazing service from Tom on Saturday 29 August whilst we were up for the Fringe. He went above and beyond to help us out. Hotel is clean and stylish. We will definitely arrange to stay here next time we're in Edinburgh!!More

1  Thank Leanne G
Response from Management360, Manager at Ballantrae Albany HotelResponded 14 September 2015

Thanks for your Five Star review. We are glad that Tom could help you with everything you needed, and that you will be definitely staying with us in the future. Make sure to book on our website for the best rates. Kind regards, The Albany...More

Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

We really want to thank Tom who was based on the main desk last night. We had lots of issues that could have ruined our holiday and he helped us sort and was a pleasure throughout. Wonderful hotel, thanks TomMore

Thank Chris R
Response from Management360, Manager at Ballantrae Albany HotelResponded 14 September 2015

Many thanks for your 5 star review. We are glad that Tom was helpful, and we hope that you stay with us again in the future. Make sure to check out the great deals and discounted rates exclusive to our website. Kind regards, The Albany...More

Reviewed 29 August 2015

We stayed 2 nights, and this was a good location, to be away from all the hub-bub of the Fringe in August. The bedroom and bathroom were very spacious. The buffet breakfast was ample. The staff were very kind and quite helpful.

Thank GranbyJillo
Response from Management360, Manager at Ballantrae Albany HotelResponded 14 September 2015

Many thanks for your review. We hope to welcome you back again, and we hope that you will be able to stay a bit longer next time. Regards, The Albany Hotel Team

View more reviews
PreviousNext
14748495051147
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Details
Price range
US$ 65 - US$ 368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#62 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 65 - US$ 368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#62 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (268)
Room & Suite (157)
Dining (21)
Hotel & Grounds (199)
Bathroom (22)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Nearby
Broughton & Calton
Lying where grandiose New Town townhouses give way to
malls and utilitarian housing, Broughton and Calton
have long been transitional neighbourhoods with a
mixed identity. It’s here that Edinburgh’s gay village
found a home in the 1980s. But gay culture is anything
but overt along bustling epicentre Broughton Street;
even if polished pubs, hip bistros, smart delis and
art galleries all speak of affluent good taste. The
...More
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
CN1951
13 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from hil68 | Reviewed this property |
Just breakfast, but lots of restaurants a short walk away.
1
Vote
Anne F
14 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Management360 | Property representative |
Hi There. We are a 10-12 minute walk from Waverley (or about £5 in a taxi)
1
Vote
JohnrossCarg
3 October 2016|
Answer
Response from jade m |
lots of parking out on the street. couple of pounds for a few hours.however it's free after late afternoon until the morning.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Seriously , I wouldn't recommend it to anyone"
Read review
"I alway go for a high room, quieter, but not so good should the place go on fire!"
Read review
"No basement. Ask them to ensure wifi will work well"
Read review
"Look elsewhere"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite