We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront

Show Prices
#50 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,313 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,158: English reviews
North Carolina
Reviewed 16 July 2015

I travel frequently and it is pretty rare that I run into a hotel that has WIFI that is so slow that you are unable to stream a news story but that is exactly what happened here. I am actually writing this in the hotel lobby because the wifi in my room is pretty much non-existent. The wifi in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank benfbrown
GMexpressedinburgh, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Benfbrown, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you have been disappointed by the Wi-Fi. At present we do have the possibility to upgrade to an enhanced connection that is better suited to streaming than our current free system. I will arrange for you to receive a voucher...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2015 via mobile

Booked a family room - 2 adults 2 children during a holiday tour in Scotland. We were very satisfied by this hotel - Easy access + carpark - Free Wifi - Frendly Staff - 50m away from a bus stop giving an easy access to the city center - Excellent breakfast - Nice bar for a beer or a whisky,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rami52
GMexpressedinburgh, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Rami52, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that everything was to the satisfaction of you and your family. Your kind comments about our staff and services are very much appreciated. I hope that you will choose to stay with us again if you are in Scotland again. Best Regards, Fiona Deputy...

Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2015

A perfectly fine example of a holiday inn express. Expect to find all the corporate bits and bobs here, and as such is a clean, simple and very conveniently located hotel. There is a good selection of local restaurants to try and it is just across the road from the the ocean terminal housing the cinema and another selection of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
GMexpressedinburgh, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Jim R, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you found the hotel to be clean and our location convenient for your work. If you do choose to stay with us for a leisure visit please ask one of our team to help you out with information on taking the bus...

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 July 2015

Excellent inexpensive basic room with no frills. View over the "Ocean Terminal" therefore close to the cruise berth and the Royal Yacht Britannia, shops and restaurants. Pleasant and helpful staff. Comfortable double bed with choice of firm or soft pillows. No extras like shampoo etc in the bathroom and no bath but a superb shower and huge fluffy towels. Clever...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Artjo
GMexpressedinburgh, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Artjo, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel. I’m pleased to hear that everything was to your satisfaction and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon. Best Regards, Fiona Deputy General Manager

Reviewed 7 July 2015 via mobile

Big hotel in the north of Edinburgh. District Leith has been redecorated so there are many eateries near the hotel. Tip: in Ocean Terminal Frank&Benny's or Zizzi. With bus 22 in 15 minutes downtown. Rooms adequately spacious, clean but simply furnished. Airconditioning does not work enough and is too noisy. Staff is focused on her job and not on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GJ P
GMexpressedinburgh, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear GJ P, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you were able to take advantage of our convenient location and transport connections. I am really disappointed that you felt our team is not customer focused. Providing great welcome and high standards of customer service are two of...

Keith, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 July 2015

pleasant welcome,room clean and fresh.only gripe shower mixed between normal then scalding then cold ...breakfast good for price paid. i am returning again this week. bus stop to town centre right at door. parking a big plus for centre hotel. all in all very good value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DelldollMoray
GMexpressedinburgh, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Delldollmoray, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. It is great to hear that you already have a return stay booked. Thank you for letting us know about the problem you had with your shower this will be fixed as a matter of priority. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused by this. We look forward to...

Leyland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 July 2015

I have stayed here many times over the last few years and find it conveniently located but out of the centre. Plenty of buses to the city centre right outside the hotel. Although quite basic it is very clean and the rooms more than provide what you require. The staff are pleasant. There is a bar which opens at 4pm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lizand30
GMexpressedinburgh, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Lizand30, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. It is really great to hear from someone who has chosen to stay with us many times. I am glad that you’ve found our staff to be pleasant and the rooms to be clean. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us on your next visit. Best...

Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 July 2015

On the positive side it was a convenient location with free parking. Check-in was efficient, the room was tired and needed refurbished. The blinds needed cleaned and the bathroom had a cracked floor tile. Breakfast was awful, lack of choice with no eggs apart from scrambled!! I was glad I only stayed for one night otherwise I would have moved....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JockofNorth
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear JockoMorth, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I'm so glad that you enjoyed our location and that you were able to take advantage of the free parking that we offer to our guests. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy our Express Start hot buffet breakfast. We do provide a...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2015

Ok hotel. Staff very good, breakfast very poor choice. Poor selection of fresh fruit and hot food. Bedrooms ok, carpet not very clean. Lack of drawers or wardrobe. Just a hanging area with six hangers. Great location. Right next to The Royal Yacht Britannia and shopping centre. Very good for bus services to city centre and Magestic Tour Bus.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peggy M
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Peggy M, Thanks you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I'm delighted that you enjoyed our location but am sorry that the wide selection of items provided on our Express Start breakfast buffet was not to your satisfaction as we do try to cater for all tastes. I'm so glad that you...

Cavan
Reviewed 30 June 2015

We stayed here for just one night between stops on a long weekend break to Edinburgh, this hotel situated just across theroad from the Ocean Terminal complex and populat landmark attraction Royal Yacht Britannia is also convenient for regular public busses to the city centre. The hotel was perfect, friendly staff, comfortable and the cooked breakfast delicious, we couldn't have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cavan007
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Cavan007. Many thanks for reviewing your stay with us. I'm delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your time with us and I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Andrew General Manager

255 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (147)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (65)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (61)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Standard Room (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#41 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,802 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#109 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,070 reviews
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront offering free Wi-Fi, air conditioning, great value rates with an inclusive buffet breakfast. Enjoy free parking at the hotel and its superb location, which is ideal for exploring this charming and fascinating city. The Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront is located next to Ocean Terminal, Edinburgh's newest leisure and shopping destination, the Scottish Executive, the Royal Yacht Britannia & close to all major business areas. The old port area of Edinburgh-Leith has many atmospheric bars, bistros and boutiques & is only 1.5 miles from the city centre. Alternatively you can relax and unwind in our cosy lounge bar. The Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront has good parking with 60 spaces available at the hotel on a first-come-first-served basis and there is also ample additional parking available at Ocean Terminal, opposite. There is a frequent public bus service from the front door making it an ideal location for visiting all of Edinburgh's famous attractions such as Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, The Royal Mile, Princes Street, national museums and galleries. We are delighted to unveil our brand new bedrooms which feature a whole new look. You can enjoy modern décor, irons and ironing boards and brand new hairdryers so that you look your best. Additionally our bedrooms are now packed with even more facilities including a comfy sofa (in family rooms) with a movable table, a wall-mounted TV, USB ports and power sockets next to your bed, nifty reading lights and full-width curtains which will make the rooms even cosier. The en suite shower rooms have also been spruced up with cool, fresh decor. We can't wait for your to experience our cool new look! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront

Address: Britannia Way, Ocean Drive | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 6JJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: ₹ 5,163 - ₹ 14,379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Leith
Leith Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront Scotland
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#49 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront staff and other travellers.
30 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (30)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't get rooms 144 or adjacent!!”
 of 5 bubbles NickW906, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Front of hotel is all double glazed and is very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 343christinej, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the back and upper floor if you want quiet”
 of 5 bubbles fiby101, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Lovely Leith, can see the water and the address is Ocean Drive!”
 of 5 bubbles hastobeverygood, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Possibly request a room away from the main car park as there is a light illuminating the park”
 of 5 bubbles ginnysnooks, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5