We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Show Prices
#32 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,654 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,464: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Very happy with a recent 3 night stay in the Missoni. Very stylish set up and we found it extremely comfortable with friendly and proactive staff. Its got a good Italian restaurant if you are feeling lazy but is in a superb position to explore the Old Town and its sundry attraqctions. Would be awesome during the festival but cannot...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lewis_Ma_48
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Lewis_Ma_48, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the hotel and have taken the time to share it with us! We aim to provide excellent and friendly service consistently in every department and your comments will be definitively shared with the whole team. The hotel really is located in the prime spot in Edinburgh...

Reviewed 27 February 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Missoni and it was amazing. From the moment we came in through the doors to the moment we left. Amazing food, great service - I dont know why people whine so much in previous comments there crazy - the location is amazing and also the spa treatments where to die for!! .My partner...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank VictoriaW1
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear VictoriaW1, Thank you so much for your fantastic comments; it is always great to receive positive feedback! I am pleased to hear that you and your boyfriend tried our lovely Spa Missoni as well, its treatments truly are a treat and you feel well rested afterwards. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in not too distant...

Ardrishaig, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in Saturday for the night with my boyfriend after getting a great deal. The service was brilliant and so friendly the minute we stepped through the door. The rooms were amazing and very comfortable. I would also recommend the restaurant cucina attached to the hotel - the food was delicious!!!! Will definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Kate S, Thank you so much! I am so pleased you had such a fabulous stay with your boyfriend and that you had a chance to eat in our award winning Italian Restaurant Cucina. We cannot wait to welcome you back to Hotel Missoni soon, please let me know when you will be returning and we will all be...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I would like to pass on my experience after staying in your hotel on Saturday the 23.02.2014 after being relocated from the Radison Blu due to over capacity issues (despite our advanced booking) Both my partner and I had come to Edinburgh to celebrate a very special evening and understandably where quite disheartened after being told the Radison had no...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Haines-Andy
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Mr and Mrs Haines, Thank you so much for your kind comments once again. We really enjoyed your unexpected visit to Hotel Missoni and I am delighted that you felt so welcome and at home staying with us. I have personally passed on your feedback to the team who are truly grateful. Please feel free to get in touch...

Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Spent the weekend in edinburgh and wanted something a little different. This was in a great location just off the hight street, close to Royal mile. Handy for Grassmarket bars and restaurants. Parking is a pain so book in advance and drop off with valet at the door. if they are fully booked they have arrangement with closeby hotel. Thought...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LindasScotland
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear LindasScotland, Thank you very much for your review. I am pleased that you were able to make use of our valet parking service. For the benefit of other Tripadvisor users, we have a few secure and cctv'd parking spaces underneath the hotel and run the service at £35 per night. Our kilted doormen will help guests into the hotel...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2014

on arrival we were greeted warmly and with a smile by the charming doorman Aiden, once through the door that,s as good as it gets, it was the most unattentive, unfriendly stays i have ever experienced in any hotel, the rooms are certainly immaculate bright colourful and very chic, but the whole hotel lacks atmosphere in the bar & restaurant....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank wdrain
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear wdrain, Please accept my sincere and profuse apologies for the issues you faced whilst staying with us in Edinburgh. To say that we are disappointed is an understatement; we have not delivered on our usual friendly, professional and unique 5 star service that we have become known for in Edinburgh. I would really appreciate the opportunity to speak to...

London
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The pros: one of the most stylish hotels we've enjoyed anywhere in the world. Friendly staff. An excellent location off the Royal Mile, within easy walking distance of Princes Street and Edinburgh Castle. Clean and comfortable. The cons: • Our key cards failed on the second day and had to be renewed at Reception. The same happened to a couple...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BMacDLondon
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear BMacDLondon, Thank you very much for your detailed review following your staying with us in Edinburgh. Whilst I am pleased that you enjoyed the style of the hotel and the friendliness of the staff, it is disappointing that your stay was not as seamless and enjoyable as we know it should have been. Needless to say, I have already...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Ideally located next to the Royal Mile, Hotel Missoni is not completely what I expected with a five-star experience. Brightly coloured with a modern theme throughout (so be warned if you're a fan of cream walls and antique furniture), the room was well equipped, particularly with mirrors if you are one who likes to admire yourself whilst sat on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob L
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Rob L, I am very pleased you had such a great stay with us in Edinburgh. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us and other Tripadvisor users which will no doubt ensure that we provide superior service in the future. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Hotel Missoni soon and I am sure that we...

Glasgow
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I booked a one night stay at the Missoni for a birthday treat and was thoroughly disappointed with the whole experience. The one positive thing I can say is that the colourful décor is unmistakably Missoni...but that is where the positive comments end. Rude dismissive door men on arrival, a lengthy check in process, an obligatory £100 pre authorisation on...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Luizeph
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Luizeph, It is with great disappointment that I read your review after your stay with us in Edinburgh. Unfortunately it is very clear on this occasion that we let you down, by falling well short of your expectations and not delivering the service that we know we can. Please accept my profuse apologies. I would really appreciate the chance...

NYC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

My husband and I just returned from a long weekend in Edinburgh and stayed at the Missoni while there. It was a very enjoyable experience. The hotel is located in a great part of Edinburgh, literally steps from the Royal mile, Edinburgh castle, Victoria street, Grassmarket and some of the prettiest streets I have ever seen. New Town is an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nycadventurer
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear nycadventurer, Thank you so much for your fabulous review. We are all delighted you had such a positive experience and that you were so well looked after by our team. I have passed on your feedback to Dan and Ann who really appreciated you singling out their great individual service. We hope to welcome you back to Hotel Missoni...

1,511 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (861)
Viewed
Room/Suite (272)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (83)
Viewed
View from Room (63)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (92)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
4:18
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (315)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (539)
Viewed
Amenities (136)
Viewed
Dining (132)
Viewed
Signature Room (128)
Viewed
The Hotel (143)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (111)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Other (43)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
842 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
829 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
266 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#53 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,515 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#88 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighbourhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh is set in the heart of the capital on the historic Royal Mile. The hotel has breath-taking views over the Royal Mile, Edinburgh's Old Town, Arthur's Seat and even on to and across the Firth of Forth. Established as one of Scotland's most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary Wi-Fi, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV's with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Price Range: ₹ 13,036 - ₹ 31,573 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top rooms for fabulous views”
 of 5 bubbles annier0sie1, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“No need to upgrade”
 of 5 bubbles Blethers, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Deluxe rooms have the better views”
 of 5 bubbles victormQ2396HJ, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try scottie and kipper for breakfast. There is complimentary bottled mineral water available in the gym.”
 of 5 bubbles evabA4287PA, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Top floor offers spectacular views”
 of 5 bubbles bennetbabe, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5