We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Buccleuch Arms Hotel

Traveller (94)
Room & Suite (42)
Dining (13)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The charming Buccleuch Arms Hotel is simply passionate, full stop! It boasts a warm welcome with an award-winning restaurant catering to most dietary needs and a couple-friendly bar. No request is seen as a stretch. The hotel has 14 comfortable, en-suite bedrooms. Situated centrally in Moffat, it is an ideal base to explore the beautiful surrounding area with some magnificent walks and country side. As an added bonus the Buccluech is also a dog-friendly establishment.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast Available
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
70Somewhat walkable
Grade: 70 out of 100
20Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
10Attractionswithin 0.5 km
346Reviews
131Photos
2Q+A
40Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 222
  • 86
  • 23
  • 8
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Called here for lunch only during travel back from Glasgow to Newcastle as it is dog friendly. I had soup to start which I found very good and then had the Bangkok Bad Boy Burger, which I had not realised was vegetarian and found very poor. It tasted like it had been deep
Read more
Response from Buccleuch A, Owner at Buccleuch Arms Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear davemcbeth, Every now and then we have a review that distresses us way beyond the norm. This review sadly falls into that category. According to your review you ordered the Bangkok Bad Boy Burger and then stated that you had not realised that this was a burger for vegetarians. I have to at the onset set the record straight. This burger, in the menu, is titled "The Bangkok Bad Boy Veggie Burger" (written in bold) and in addition exhibits the Vegetarian Symbol next to it which we use throughout the menu for Vegetarian dishes. Anyone can verify this by looking at our menu on our website or in-house. I cannot begin to understand how a Veggie Burger in the title can be misread. Having said that, yes, I can understand that under those strange circumstances and being a meat eater that you did not get what you were expecting and therefore were personally disappointed. We are however pleased to see that everything else was in, your words, was ‘very good’ and ‘nice’ for you. So you may sense our frustration that your review is title disappointing followed by a three stars as the result of a personal erroneous order? In principle we are big proponents of the review system, however to apportion blame in this review to us in any way is erroneous at best and extremely harmful to our business at worst. Unfortunately Tripadvisor’s algorithms will only recognise 3 stars and this will hurt us! Our staff were under no obligation to make any form of discount in this instance. However we are very proud of the young man who went out of his way to try and accommodate you personally and rectify your misreading of the menu by offering a replacement dish and on your refusal still went on to issue a 50% discount. As a side note, The Bangkok Bad Boy Veggie Burger is extremely popular with Vegetarians, is highly acclaimed and comes with frequent 5 star reviews in its own right. I do hope you get the chance to return and order something to your liking.
Read more
We’ve been to the Buccleuch Arms a few times now and think the place is ace! The food is freshly cooked to order and super tasty, plus the biscotti with the coffee are to die for!! I’m coeliac and there’s so many options for me on the menu - I loved the blue cheese tart for
Read more
This staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The food is excellent with some unusual options on offer. This is my third visit and will always stay here if in the area. Seems to be a stop off for bikers, so there is always a variety of folks to chat
Read more
I’ve been returning to the Buccleuch every year since I discovered this gem back in 2004. One of the most remarkable aspects of the Smiths and their hotel, is their genuine aspiration to be the very best. To this end they devote unfailing energy to improve their service year on
Read more
Needed a break during a drive from Derbyshire to the Highlands. Unwisely chose this Hotel, although it had good reviews. Booked a table for evening meal, but we were left standing in the busy front of house with two large dogs, getting in everyone's way. There was a free table,
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & Beach
skirt board / carpet edge goes around room
cracked tiles, dirty grout !!
old and well used
PreviousNext
1234569
Hi there, do u have any downstairs rooms, my sister is in a wheelchair?
Hi MasonH25 ... sadly we don't have any ground floor rooms at all. The only areas that are accessible from street level are our function room and toilets approached from the side of the hotel. The main entrance to the hotel and restaurant, and indeed all the rest of the hotel, are accessible by a minimum of about 8 steps with the bedrooms up another flight to the first floor. However, we do have strapping lads who are always available to give a helping hand where needed ... it's been the result of much hilarity in the past and we really don't mind.
0 votes
Show all answers
"We have stayed in Rooms 302 and 303. Both overlooking the main square."
"Friendly and helpful staff, good food and great motorcycle garages."
"We did not stay overnight, However the people at the table next to us commented on the great breakfasts and comfortable rooms."
"Can't really say - my room on the first floor was fine."
"Did not stay in a room due to no vacancies last minute but i wouldn't hesitate to stay another time but book in advance.."
PreviousNext
1234568
PRICE RANGE
US$ 74 - US$ 110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
buccleuch arms moffat
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandMoffat
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing