We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Days Inn Gretna Green M74

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

378 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Days Inn Gretna Green M74
See the most recent reviews
Showing 369: English reviews
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 July 2015

Myself and my husband stayed here as we were attending a wedding nearby. We were booked in for 2 nights but only ended up staying for one night due to the heat in the room. There was no air-conditioning and no fans in the room. We couldn't leave the windows open due to the noise from the traffic at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
JamieLeighRamadaDays, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gretna Green M74, responded to this review

Hi Sarah, I am sorry for any disappointment you felt during your stay with us. We do take all of our guests feedback seriously so please be assured the hotel manager has been made aware of the problems you encountered, unfortunately the heat and the location is out of our control - our hotels are based either on/near the motorway,...

Airdrie, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 July 2015

I was supposed to stay at the Days Inn Gretna Green Services for two nights, we stayed for one and we only stayed because we were attending a wedding a short drive from it or I would have went home. The hotel was like an oven, the room was unclean. Went to put a used face wipe in the bin...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Danielle W
JamieLeighRamadaDays, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gretna Green M74, responded to this review

I am very sorry for any inconvenience caused and disappointment you felt during your stay with us. I understand that you were given a full refund as this level of cleanliness is unacceptable, the issues you encountered have been raised with the housekeeping team so we can prevent anything like this from re-occurring again. Yours sincerely Jamie-Leigh Rapp E: Jamie-leigh.rapp@welcomebreak.co.uk

Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 June 2015

Stayed here for 1 night on way to visit friends down south wasn't expecting too much as it is at the motorway services but quite pleasantly surprised . Check in staff very friendly and helpful . Room excellent ( room 64 ) very clean and fairly big . Bathroom huge with double jacuzzi bath which was great for a relaxing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Whatsappenin
JamieLeighRamadaDays, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gretna Green M74, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. It is very encouraging to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable leaving you with a positive impression for Days Inn Gretna Green. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future, should you wish to re-book with the jacuzzi bath please contact reception on 01461 337566 Best wishes Jamie-Leigh Rapp...

Kilwinning
Reviewed 21 June 2015 via mobile

This place seems to be reasonably priced and rooms were not too bad. Seemed clean enough with good shower although you will need to ask at reception for a bath mat. Only issue i really had was that the cups for tea and coffee were not washed before we entered our room. Cups had tea/coffee ring inside and lipstick on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian K
JamieLeighRamadaDays, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gretna Green M74, responded to this review

Hi Ian, thank you for your review for Days Inn Gretna Green. I am sorry that the cups were not clean, this is unacceptable as housekeeping do clean the rooms daily and replace the cups - I will pass this on to the hotel manager to communicate back to our housekeeping team to prevent this from happening again. Kind regards...

Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2015

My work took me to Gretna and we stayed in the Days in At Gretna the A74,The no frills hotel did exactletly what it says on the tin .Clean friendley hotel.Nice rooms great staff .Any food or meals you need are taken at the service area next door.Only one slight thing as you approach the Hotel its quite tricky to...

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
 Report
Helpful?
Thank keith r
JamieLeighRamadaDays, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gretna Green M74, responded to this review

Hi Keith, thank you for taking the time to share your review for Days Inn Gretna Green. It is very pleasing to hear that our staff made you feel welcome and the rooms met your requirements so thank you. Should you or your work wish to book again please do not hesitate to contact us directly on - 01461 337566...

Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2015

I stayed at the Days Inn Gretna for two nights in early June whilst working in the area. Situated within the motorway services the hotel is fairly basic but it's clean, comfortable and decent value. Arriving late afternoon I was checked in quickly and off to my room. All the rooms here are on the one level which is handy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
JamieLeighRamadaDays, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gretna Green M74, responded to this review

Hi Chris, thank you for your lovely review - it is very encouraging to hear such positive comments following your stay with us Days Inn Gretna. We hope to have you stay with us again in the foreseeable future. Best wishes Jamie-Leigh Rapp E: Jamie-leigh.rapp@welcomebreak.co.uk

Reviewed 8 June 2015 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night whilst en route to the Western Isles. Couldn't fault the room or the service. Under £50 for 1 night in a family room for 2 adults and a dog. Certainly better than other options for motorway sleepovers. Would use the Gretna Days Inn again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex U
JamieLeighRamadaDays, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gretna Green M74, responded to this review

Hi Alex, thank you for your positive words following a stay at Days Inn Gretna Green - It is very pleasing to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable from start to finish, leaving you with a memorable impression overall. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor, please do not hesitate to contact...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 June 2015

We booked this hotel for the purpose of a basic cheap stop off before a wedding the next day. We were pleasantly surprised at the standard of the room - fairly modern, very clean and overall a very nice night spent there. Check in was quick and easy, the area was very quiet and peaceful and I had a very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren T
JamieLeighRamadaDays, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gretna Green M74, responded to this review

Hi Lauren, thank you for your lovely review - it is very encouraging to hear that our room standards met your expectations and have left with a memorable impression for Days Inn Gretna Green. Please be assured we are looking in to the problems that we are experiencing with our wi-fi (or lack of wi-fi as it seems) I hope...

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 June 2015

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
 Report
Helpful?
Thank K S
JamieLeighRamadaDays, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gretna Green M74, responded to this review

Reviewed 4 June 2015 via mobile

I stayed at this Days Inn while attending s friends wedding, I wasn't surprised that the pictures on the internet didn't match the hotel, it looked rather run down. The are was pretty much a black spot with lack of phone signal, and for Internet, forget it, the hotel advertised free wifi but that was near impossible to use as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Donald M
JamieLeighRamadaDays, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gretna Green M74, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback you have left on Trip Advisor following a stay at Days Inn Gretna Green - I do apologise that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We always endeavour to ensure we make our guests visit the best possible, sadly on this occasion we seem to of been unsuccessful. I would like to thank...

75 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (64)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.0 km away
Welcome Lodge Gretna Green
Welcome Lodge Gretna Green
#4 of 4 in Gretna Green
6 reviews
1.2 km away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
1.2 km away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
386 reviews
1.9 km away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
143 reviews
1.5 km away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Days Inn Gretna Green is close to the M74 and M6 motorways, and within easy reach of Carlisle. It has free Wi-Fi and free parking. Newcastle-upon-Tyne and County Durham are about 1 hour from the hotel. The famous wedding village of Gretna Green is close by. Tasteful en suite rooms and personal service make this convenient hotel an ideal place to break your journey. Each bedroom has a TV (with Freeview channels), a free hot drinks tray and newspaper, a hairdryer and a trouser press. All rooms have broadband Wi-Fi at an additional cost. Pets are permitted in the hotel. Please inform the hotel when you make your booking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Days Inn Gretna Green M74

Address: Junction 21/22, A74M Northbound | Welcome Break Services, Gretna Green DG16 5HQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Price Range: ₹ 3,222 - ₹ 6,573 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Gretna Green M74 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Gretna Green M74 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Gretna Green m74 Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Green Days Inn
Days Inn Gretna Green M74 Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Days Inn Gretna Green M74 staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Days Inn Gretna Green M74 staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“our room had brilliant sound-proofing for being near a truck stop”
, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had a room at the front of hotel and was very quiet”
753deniset, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Executive Room was a lovely size.”
ElaineM894, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't do it!”
RosieF480, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Just don't. We had one of their luxury rooms...it was awful. Much better and cheaper hotels within Gretna and the surrounding areas.”
NoeleenH_13, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5