We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hazeldene Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hazeldene Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

321 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 317: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Overnight stay here heading south from Scotland. Friendly staff. Room comfortable but quite cramped for three people. No WiFi in room although this was advertised as being available. Hearty breakfast included, with good range of cold and hot options.

Helpful?
Thank 869Liz
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

My husband and I had lunch at this hotel recently. Staff were very friendly and attentive. Food was very good. Excellent choices from soup and a sandwich to varied main meals. Real chips , not frozen was a bonus. The decor was really nice and the hotel had a lovely atmosphere. Very handy for Gretna Gateway. Will be making this... More 

Helpful?
Thank cmcintosh56
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

What an absolute gem of a small hotel,from the moment that we checked in the staff were friendly, welcoming and attentive. Myself and my two daughters were on a Christmas shopping weekend at the Gretna Outlet which is only a few minutes away. The room was clean, bright and comfortable a little on the small side but it was three... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mollmacs
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had lunch here a couple of Saturdays ago. I had the two course lunch for £8 something and my husband had the One course lunch for £4.95. My nachos were a large portion which we shared. Our main courses; steak pie and fish and chips again were generous potions. The food was lovely and the service was good. We will... More 

Helpful?
Thank DHaich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Earlier this month we travelled to Gretna for our wedding with family & friends and booked out the Hazeldene Hotel for three nights over a weekend. The hotel was very comfortable, the food was absolutely fabulous, really fresh and wholesome. The staff were very accommodating and friendly. The whole experience is a wonderful memory for us. All of our party... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank PMcG-Goodfellow
Shifnal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here on a Friday evening en route from Shropshire to the Highlands. We received a friendly welcom upon arrival and settled in quickly. The reception is really a small desk in the lounge, but the staff quickly sorted us. We had a meal in the bar as we had our dog with us. The food arrived promptly and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It was clean staff are brilliant and can't do enough for you. Food is fabulous there is a warm atmosphere from locals and visitors alike. Everyone wants to be happy friendly and at ease. Rooms are clean well equipped and easily accessible from the car park. Tea coffee and got chocolate with bickys too! Breakfast was to die for tea... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Keighley E
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Robert, Karen, Steven and everyone else could not have done more for us when we stayed here for Paula & Steven's wedding ....The hotel, food, rooms, service and the atmosphere are top class ...can't wait for our trip back in November 2017 !! :)

Helpful?
1 Thank purplebeach
Newton-Le-Willows, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall, a nice hotel. The room was a good size, comfy bed etc. Nothing to complain about at all, even the rooms do suffer from squeaky, creaking floors. The problem is, there is no hotel service. On my first night, I reported that the light over the mirror by the desk flickered on and off maddeningly. I needed to use... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anthony C
Paula B, Owner at Hazeldene Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review. I am upset to hear that our housekeeping staff did not service your room; it is policy that rooms are serviced every day. The only thing that doesn't (or shouldn't) get done daily is that the bedding linen doesn't get done when the guest is staying more than one night. I do apologise about... More 

Wexford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were in the area this weekend for a family wedding, most of the wedding party stayed at the Hazeldene but I was with the others who stayed in another local hotel. I wish I had stayed at the Hazeldene! The rooms were adorable, warm, clean and homely. We ate here everyday with everyone else and considering the amount of... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Amy K

61 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (47)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.2 km away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.3 km away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
844 reviews
1.2 km away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Solway Lodge Hotel
Solway Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
279 reviews
1.3 km away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
324 reviews
1.4 km away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A family run 11 bedroom hotel in the UK's Wedding Capital; Gretna Green. We have recently undertaken a £250,000 refurbishment of the hotel; now boasting a 60 seat restaurant and a 40 seat covered decking area adjacent to the restaurant, with a door access inbetween. So therefore this area can accommodate up to 100 diners. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hazeldene Hotel

Address: Main Street, Gretna Green DG16 5EA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Price Range: ₹ 4,432 - ₹ 7,091 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hazeldene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hazeldene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazeldene Hotel Gretna Green, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hazeldene Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Small hotels with e!even rooms and one bridal suite.”
 of 5 bubbles Mollmacs, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Although we weren't bothered by noise rooms away from the bar area would be a good idea for those who like an early night”
 of 5 bubbles PaulW900, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If your are early to bed on weekends, request a room away from the bar area”
 of 5 bubbles robinsamui, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We only ate at the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles ALANJ174, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“ask for the hooneymoon suite its a lovely four poster and a chusie”
 of 5 bubbles psnow101, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay