We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club

Expedia.comUS$ 119*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

742 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
See the most recent reviews
Showing 736: English reviews
Kilmarnock
Reviewed 26 July 2015

We needed to visit Dumfries as an emergency on 18th July, The Cairndale was able to offer us a room, with breakfast at an excellent rate. Our double room had everything you could ask for, right down to bottled spring water(not that Scottish water isn't pure enough). The staff were a credit to the hotel, from check-in to room attendants,...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank gjm2
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review following your visit to the hotel. I know that everyone concerned with your visit will be pleased to read your remarks about the friendliness of our staff and I know Kymm will be particularly encouraged by your feedback.

Wetherby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2015

Stayed at this hotel on a 3 day golf trip which was really well organised by the hotel. Considering the price, the food was fairly good. My only slight grouse was that my room, which was facing the Solway, was subjected to really loud seagull noise at about 1.30 each morning. Presumably a local business was putting out rubbish at...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lancepor
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your very positive feedback following your recent golf trip. I was sorry to hear about the disturbance caused by the seagulls. The seagulls have been particularly noisy in the past week and we're already planning on how to alleviate the problem next year during the nesting season. I should of course point out that the "patter" on...

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2015

My husband and I spent a very welcome short break at the Cairndale Hotel in Mid-July. The Reception staff were very welcoming, hats off to Douglas, and the atmosphere of the hotel was very pleasant. Our room was lovely, with comfortable furnishings, tea and coffee, a fruit plate, etc to welcome us on arrival. We had booked Dinner Bed and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank quierida
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent visit to the hotel. As you know we arrange regular entertainment in the hotel and it's always best to check the hotel's website to see what's on if you're planning a visit to the hotel.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 July 2015

We stayed at the cairndale hotel on the 8th of July for 2 nights. When we went in we were very surprised at the size of our room, it was big and airy. The bed was large and comfy. We used the pool and the hot tub which were exelent. The staff were very kind and helpful. We definitely would...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Weevee1955
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback following your recent visit to the hotel. Your comments about our staff being kind and helpful are particularly appreciated.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 July 2015

I booked this trip through 5pm at a great price. The hotel is perfectly situated for exploring the local area and has good leisure facilities. The rooms are a bit dated and the breakfast was ok but the staff more than make up for this and were warm and friendly

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Sylviam186534
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Hi Sylvia. I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your visit to the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Cairndale on a future occasion.

Glasgow
Reviewed 14 July 2015

Stayed two nights in a twin room whilst on business. Old hotel but very comfortable. Buffet breakfast was excellent as were the pool, sauna and jacuzzi facilities. Room was a little hot but no real complaints and would return for sure

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Craig B
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Hi Craig. It was great to know that you enjoyed your recent visit to the hotel and we hope to welcome you back to the Cairndale in the very near future.

Greasby , United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2015

I went with friends from a golf society for a 3 night break to this hotel handy for the golf courses we had booked to play. This is a 3 star hotel so the rooms were nothing special but they were clean and comfortable. We were on a golf trip tariff and paid only about £280 for 3 rounds of...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Colin N
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Hi Colin. I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent golf trip to the area. As I'm sure you appreciate we welcome a large number of golfers to the hotel and also employ a dedicated golf coordinator who can arrange tee off times etc.

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2015

We have just returned from a 2 night break via Living Social at the Cairndale Hotel in Dumfries and would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit this part of Scotland. We found the staff very helpful and friendly, the room clean and comfortable and the breakfasts were good, with efficient service from the waitresses. All in all a...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Heather G
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Hi Heather. Thank you for your excellent feedback following your recent visit to the hotel. Your comments about the friendliness of our staff is particularly appreciated.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 July 2015

Accommodated in a spacious room at front of hotel. The room was spotless, had a king size bedroom which led to a great sleep both evenings. Bathroom was big and again cleaned to a very high standard. Great shower which was over the bath. Good quality towels and toiletries. Staff made you feel so welcome throughout the hotel, and have...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank imacthisyear
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

I was delighted to read the contents of your review and to hear how much you enjoyed your stay in the hotel.

Spring Hill, Florida, USA
Reviewed 8 July 2015

We found this hotel to have tiny rooms without AC or proper ventilation. A fan was made available upon request. The condition is time-worn and in need of remodeling. The WiFi was not working until the spokesperson from a large wedding party threatened to find other accommodations. The restaurant and breakfast was good with a large buffet. This hotel IS...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank caulleys
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

It's quite true we don't have air conditioning in our bedrooms and we don't advertise otherwise. We offer free wifi throughout the hotel and rarely have any problems with this. Providing free wifi does not come at a minimal cost to the hotel and although we have invested heavily in this facility there are occasionally issues with weak spots or...

265 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (213)
Viewed
Amenities (20)
Viewed
Family Room (29)
Viewed
Four Poster Room (25)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Single Room (20)
Viewed
Superior Room (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
2.1 km away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,017 reviews
0.3 km away
Best Western Station Hotel
3.0 km away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
12.2 km away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 7 in Dumfries
633 reviews
19.2 km away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: English St., Dumfries DG1 2DF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Price Range: ₹ 6,899 - ₹ 12,452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairndale Hotel And Leisure Club
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club Dumfries, Scotland
Cairndale Dumfries Hotel
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Dumfries
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Hampshire
9 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The room we stayed in was in annexe, in building next to main building and I think this was quieter and rooms appeared larger”
julietU9143VZ, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room in the main building of the hotel”
118JamesS118, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't take room 84 every floorboard squeaks exesively”
Safetraveler1956, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Superior rooms are spacious.”
Janetp8594wg, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go for a special offer as they seem to do them regularly.”
Meziepie, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$ 119* /night
View Deal
AMOMAUS$ 215
TravelocityUS$ 119
Hotels.comUS$ 119
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates