We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
3-5 High Street, Selkirk TD7 4BZ Scotland
Booking.com
eDreams
Priceline
FindHotel
Agoda.com
Etrip
View all 8 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (31)
Room & Suite (10)
View from Room (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 02/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from County Hotel
Updated 02/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 5 hotels in Selkirk
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
"The County" is a historic coaching inn, with beginnings dating back to 1746. Under new ownership since 22nd June 2018 an extensive programme of upgrades and refurbishment is under way ... this is being carried out without inconveniencing any guest stays. Interesting and varied new menus are in place, with full-service food available from 07:30 -21:00 (currently 08:30 on Saturday and Sunday). Ideally placed to explore the Borders region and competitively priced, the owners and staff assure you of a warm welcome and their very best attention at all times. Our aim is to DELIGHT our customers, and for that reason we offer a "Total Satisfaction Guarantee", and you will ALWAYS be able to speak directly to one of the owners if necessary to assist you should you have any concerns.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Fishing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Baggage storage
Secured parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Danish, Italian and 2 more
232Reviews3Q+A40Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 101
  • 75
  • 33
  • 14
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Jean Phillips wrote a review Aug 2022
3 contributions
The County is a beautiful old building in the centre of Selkirk, a rwo minute walk from the Walter Scott Courtroom. There is parking to the rear through the old archway. The owners are in the process of upgrading and decorating throughout. I received a warm welcome from Oliver who showed me around. My single en suite room was clean, comfy, well furnished and with everything I needed. Hairdryer, hospitality tray and some basic toiletries. TV with Freeview channels and ample electric sockets, including shaver point in bathroom. Walk in shower in bathroom. For breakfast there was a good choice of cereals, yogurts and a good cooked selection. All very tasty and enjoyable. At present the restaurant and bar are not open but guests are welcome to use the lounge area to eat a takeaway or sandwiches and to socialise. Hopefully the County will be fully operational once the improvements are complete. Advisory: being an old building there is no lift so you may wish to request a first floor room.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Liesl W wrote a review Jul 2022
N yorks408 contributions131 helpful votes
Negatives: Disappointed not to have hotel facilities, as they were advertised when I booked. Entrance felt a bit hostelly. Can only check in from 4:30 to 7:30. No longer has a bar or restaurant. Steep stairs, no lift. Looks a bit tired externally. Positives The room looked recently decorated, spacious, nice and clean, comfy beds. You can use a lounge to socialize and bring in takeaways and drinks. Good restaurants nearby. Staff very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good, wide choice of cooked breakfast. Hotel is centrally located, plenty of off street parking. Great area to explore. Lovely walks in the Haining estate.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Donald F wrote a review May 2022
Edinburgh, United Kingdom534 contributions282 helpful votes
You have to work hard to get into this hotel, we had to wait 2 hours before we got access. Very steep stairs with no lift. Twin room is small and furnishings are tired. Bathroom with shower was adequate. No food available in evening but breakfast was fine.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
magsB wrote a review Nov 2021
Glasgow, United Kingdom276 contributions176 helpful votes
Our first hotel stay since Covid with my husband and friend. So delighted we chose this hotel. Staff were so friendly and hotel was very clean and as a result we felt safe staying here. Our rooms were lovely, clean, comfortable and exactly as described. We ate in the restaurant on one evening and the food was very tasty and enjoyable. It was my friend’s birthday and they even decorated the table for us. Nothing was a problem for them. Would recommend this hotel 100%.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
K W wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
I am disgusted in the service received before arrival, as started I was attending a funeral nearby and was advised as we were late arriving we would be charged an extra amount which I expressed was unfair, spoke with management the owner wasn't helpful at all, rude, distrespectfull and wasn't willing to help, he advised they needed to pay someone on the front desk as no one else had access to computer systems. In the end he cancelled our booking and 'barred' us. I am horrified a owner of a business can speak to customers like this and cancel our booking there and then. He wasn't willing to help at all. Reading all the other bad reviews I am not the only one who has experienced such terrible customer management.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Alexander B wrote a review Sep 2021
Livingston, United Kingdom32 contributions35 helpful votes
This former coaching Inn is on the main road through Selkirk and after climbing a difficult (for us) stair we entered our spacious and well furnished room, spotless. Very comfortable. Breakfast was generous and beautifully presented. The staff were very helpful from the minute we arrived until our departure the following morning. Good value for money and highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Scarlett O wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
Conveniently located in centre of the town with easy private parking. We stopped for the night on our journey north. We had already booked dinner at a nearby restaurant so didn't eat there but the the menu looked great, with very reasonably priced meals (they have their menus on their website). The only slight downside was the noisy drunken couple in the room next door fighting over who had lost their room key!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jessica E wrote a review May 2021
2 contributions
Stayed for a weekend. Room was very basic and bathroom had a strong smell of sewage. We misplaced our key and got a very unprofessional response from the management. Whilst making arrangements to get the key returned to us we were locked out of the hotel on purpose when we were trying to load up the car. Stay anywhere you can apart from here!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Just don't stay here!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Derek M wrote a review Sep 2020
Glasgow, United Kingdom4 contributions2 helpful votes
After myself and my partner working as key workers during the pandemic we decided to do a staycation in Scotland. First we choose the hotel as on booking.com it gave good reviews and stated their was a restaurant on site. Which on our way to the hotel we found out that this wasn’t true and the hotel had changed to run as a B and B which if we had known we wouldn’t have booked. We had a room at the front of the hotel which was noisy and the doors banging on the hotel wasn’t good The bed in our room was a small double with one pillow each which the mattress wasn’t very comfortable so we didn’t sleep. The small bathroom was very small and we struggled shaving at the sink due to how small the area was to move. After not sleeping we tried to see if we could rest in the morning but the cleaning staff tried to come in a few times and were noisy outside We were due to stay for 2 nights but decided to loss out on the money we had paid for what we thought was a hotel and book in to another local hotel to try and enjoy some of our well deserved staycation. Such as shame about the above issues and when I went to see reception no one was available.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Alexa T wrote a review Aug 2020
Cardiff, United Kingdom30 contributions16 helpful votes
We were unable to get to hotel as I was taken I’ll and we returned home. We hadn’t paid as it was pay on arrival but they wouldn’t refund any money at all. It was only two nights and a nice gesture would be one night. I thought this was bad service
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Iain Philipps, Owner at County Hotel
Responded 20 Aug 2020
It is "reviews" like this that greatly diminish the value of Trip Advisor. Why do I say this? Because the person is - at best - misleading. 1. Booked via BOOKING.COM, and tried to cancel WAY after checking for their stay had begun. Policies are clear - "no show" (which is what that is) the first night is charged and the rest is cancelled. 2. The first night was charged (a full refund for the second night WAS made the same day) So ... be careful what you read ... and be careful what you write ...
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$91 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandScottish BordersSelkirk
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about County Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to County Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Sir Walter Scott's Courtroom (0.05 km), Halliwell's House Museum (0.1 km), and Holmes Glass (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at County Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at County Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at County Hotel?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to County Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Fleece, Taste of Spice, and Number One.
Is County Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.03 km away from the centre of Selkirk.
Are pets allowed at County Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at County Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Italian, Swedish, Danish, and Norwegian.
Are there any historical sites close to County Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Abbotsford (7.0 km), Bowhill House & Grounds (4.5 km), and Auld Kirk (0.1 km).