We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cross Keys Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cross Keys Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

197 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 196: English reviews
Start your review of Cross Keys Hotel
 Click to rate
Kinghorn, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed at this hotel last Thursday for 1 night. Staff very welcoming albeit a bit disorganised. Eventually got to our upstairs bedroom after member of staff couldn't initially find lift or work it only to find room hadn't been cleaned! Very efficient member of staff called Emma arrived promptly to clean the room obviously looking very embarrassed. TV in room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gabby937
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Firsly, I have no real complaints about the room. It was clean, spacious and comfortable. We had room number 3, top floor, away from any chance of noise. It's winter so the beer garden wasn't really being used but may be a bit of chatter until closing time, in the summer. When we arrived we had no idea how to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trevor V
CrossKeysPeebles, Manager at Cross Keys Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Trevor V Thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and we have taken your comments about clearer check in signage on board. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Craig & The Team

Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a great break at this hotel. The service we received was excellent. Ok, we had a few stairs to climb to get to the room but it was worth it. It was large and well equipped and very nicely decorated. The bathroom was nicely decorated with bath and separate shower. Superb. The hotel is located in the centre...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorna G
CrossKeysPeebles, Manager at Cross Keys Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Lorna G Thanks for taking the time to write a great review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and hope we'll see you again soon. Kind regards Craig & The Team

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Everything is going smoothly ever since I arrived to Keys hotel. Excellent, fast and organized check in process, very helpful staff at the reception and they help me with directions to places around the hotel and I absolutely love the breakfast that includes a variety of food. Also I really like the warm hospitality from the staff especially Sonam. I'd...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ali E
CrossKeysPeebles, Manager at Cross Keys Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Ali E Thank you for taking the time to write a great review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future. Warmest regards Craig & The Team

Whitburn
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were both well impressed with the room ,every thing you would want.Plenty tea ,coffee,water and biscuits.The staff were all very helpful.We stayed for two nights ,went to a show at the eastgate theatre on the Thursday which was excellent.The curry club was good before we went to the show.We will certainly stay here again.The only complaint we had was...

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce W
CrossKeysPeebles, Manager at Cross Keys Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Bruce W Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we have taken your comments about the housekeeping up with our housekeepers. We hope you'll visit us again in the future. All the best Craig & The Team

Avignon, France
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Delightful newly renovated room, spacious and spotless. We enjoyed our stay and found Peebles well worth a visit. No lift so it was up the staircase, if that is a problem for some travellers. Certainly recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maxles1995
CrossKeysPeebles, Manager at Cross Keys Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Maxles1995, Thanks for taking the time to write a review and thanks for the positive comments. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. All the best Craig & The Team

falkirk, scotland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic place to stay. We had room 7, lovely room, ensuite, beautiful new decor but retaining its old charm. Comfy beds, big TV, tea and coffee, ironing board, hairdryer etc. Very peaceful sleep and would highly recommend. Literally seconds before you are in the pub, what more do you want. Perfect for exploring Peebles as just off the high street...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mightybairns
CrossKeysPeebles, Manager at Cross Keys Hotel, responded to this review

Hi mightybairns, And thank you for taking the time writing a great review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and hope we'll see you again soon. All the best Craig & The Team

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

An interesting historic building with character, the rooms are freshly decorated with a decent size bathroom with both bath & shower. Tea/coffee/biscuits provided. Staff friendly & attentive. Competive price. Would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NikkiR226
CrossKeysPeebles, Manager at Cross Keys Hotel, responded to this review

Hi NikkiR226, Thanks for the review and the positive comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. All the best Craig & The Team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The rooms in this old coaching house still held some of their charm with deep recessed windows and sloping floors! They were also warm, well furnished, beautiful bathroom, with flat screen TV and coffee/tea making facilities. Everything (iron and ironing board too) you could have wanted. We joked with the girl who check us in about haunted room 5, she...

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Weebubs39
CrossKeysPeebles, Manager at Cross Keys Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Weebubs39, Thanks for taking the time to write a great review and also the positive comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again soon. All the best Craig & The Team

Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Cannot fault this hotel for location very central. Food was okay not sure how much was homemade as it was served very quickly but it was okay if you want something at a reasonable price. Room was excellent very clean and spacious and modern. Would definitely use this hotel again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank inhouse128
CrossKeysPeebles, Manager at Cross Keys Hotel, responded to this review

Hi inhouse128, Thanks for the great review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Craig & The Team

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peebles
0.2 km away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
0.2 km away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
372 reviews
0.7 km away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
1,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
698 reviews
6.9 km away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
0.7 km away
Castle Venlaw Hotel
Castle Venlaw Hotel
#5 of 8 in Peebles
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Cross Keys Hotel was built in 1693 and is the oldest inn within the picturesque town of Peebles. Located on Northgate, just off the main street, we are close to the local shops, pubs and restaurants but away from the noise and traffic ensuring that your stay will be a peaceful one. Having recently undergone a £3million refurbishment, this Listed Building retains many of its original features, but has been brought bang up to date with two bars, seven individual bedrooms and a delightful garden to the rear. Each of our seven bedrooms is air conditioned and double glazed, bathrooms are en-suite and feature walk-in showers. Flat screen TVs with satellite channels, coffee & tea facilities, hairdryers and usb phone charging points are standard. Disabled access is via a lift to the first floor which has an accessable bedroom with a large en-suite wetroom. Baby cots are available on request, please specify when booking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cross Keys Hotel

Address: 24 Northgate, Peebles EH45 8RS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Peebles
Price Range: ₹ 3,689 - ₹ 9,190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Cross Keys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cross Keys Hotel Peebles, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cross Keys Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
6 months ago
Falkirk, United Kingdom

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Cross Keys Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There's only 7 rooms so any of them would be fine. Steep stairs going up to top floor but furthest from the pub and super quiet”
 of 5 bubbles trevorv450, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in Room 5 which was quiet and very well equipped.”
 of 5 bubbles lornag192, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“will make up a twin on request”
 of 5 bubbles NikkiR226, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The best room is number 3, we have stayed in this room 3 times, this time we had number 4 and although a bit smaller just as good quality.”
 of 5 bubbles sharon_barrie, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in room no 5”
 of 5 bubbles sinclairi636, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5