We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ranald Hotel

Overview
41 Stevenson Street, Oban PA34 5NA Scotland See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Bar/Lounge
Housekeeping
Free Parking
Pool
3.5 Star accommodation
{"containerAttributes":null,"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
Reviews (909)
Filter reviews
844 results
Traveller rating
454
255
95
30
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
454
255
95
30
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews baked eggs no lift metro hotel compact room grand room modern hotel great wee hotel third floor ferry terminal central location powerful shower haggis smoked salmon breakfast room stayed for one night car park comfortable bed
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 844 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

Booked in no problems,given room G1 very spacious room well decorated with nice bathroom.After unpacking we went out for a look round Oban and had something to eat on returning to the hotel we found that there was no heating in our room,we reported this...More

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank linda S
Response from Info T, General Manager at The Ranald HotelResponded yesterday

Thank you for taking the time to review us here at The Ranald Hotel. I am very glad to read that you were satisfied with the room you got and we were able to accomodate your needs. However, I can only apologise about the heating...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

Been here before and it was good however our recent stay was a bit of a disappointment ! On our second day we had no breakfast and waited a good 25 minutes before asking the waitress who replied “ the ovens broken” no communication at...More

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank anng782015
Response from Info T, General Manager at The Ranald HotelResponded 4 days ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Ranald Hotel. We appreciate all feedback both positive and constructive as it helps us to improve guests' future stays. I am sorry to hear that your recent stay...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having read other reviews I was looking forward to my stay at The Ranald very much. On arrival the whole street was under road works. There was no parking, nowhere to pull over to get your luggage out. The nearest car park was a good...More

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank ChristineHove
Response from Carla M, General Manager at The Ranald HotelResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave The Ranald Hotel a review. We take all feedback on board whether it is positive or negative as there is always room for improvement. With regards to the parking, we understand this can be an issue although...More

Reviewed 5 November 2018 via mobile

Apparently this is a "metro hotel". I've never heard of it but I think it means "no parking and not enough space to swing a cat". The room is clean, bathroom fine, shower nice but so small. I struggled to open my suitcase. The only...More

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank Mhairi B
Response from Carla M, Manager at The Ranald HotelResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to give such an honest review of your recent stay with us here at The Ranald Hotel. We're delighted to see you enjoyed your breakfast and found are staff to be friendly. Many thanks, The Ranald Hotel team

Reviewed 22 October 2018 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel using an It Is On voucher but would 100% pay full price to come back. The hotel is located in a central spot of Oban near to the waterfront, pubs and restaurants. The hotel has no designated parking but there is...More

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank Lauren D
Response from Carla M, Manager at The Ranald HotelResponded 27 October 2018

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, I am delighted to see you enjoyed your stay and would come back and stay with us again. I hope to see you in the future.

View more reviews
About
Description
Oban's only purpose built hotel in decades, ushering in a new era ofmodernity whilst keeping a distinctive local flavour. Add the passion, warmth and dedication of Hayley's team and The Ranald experience was More born.Our metro hotel is set in the heart of Oban's Victorian architecture and located just off the main esplanade. We are just a couple of minutes walk from both the Calmac Ferry Terminal and Oban Train StationOur vision at The Ranald was to bring you affordable luxury. Our range of 17 ensuite guest rooms have sumptuous king sized beds, fluffy duck down pillows, flat screen TV's, i-Phone docking stations and complimentary wifi throughout the hotel. Enjoy a relaxing drink in our contemporary lounge bar, perfect for before or after sampling Oban's fine choice of restaurants. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Spa
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
17
Price range
US$ 81 - US$ 183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
The Ranald Hotel Oban, Scotland
Location
United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
17
Price range
US$ 81 - US$ 183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
The Ranald Hotel Oban, Scotland
Location
United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Photos
Traveller (123)
Room & Suite (117)
Dining (32)
Pool & Beach (1)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 13 nearby hotels
Royal Hotel
1,169 reviews
.08 km away
Perle Oban Hotel
393 reviews
.14 km away
Columba Hotel
1,218 reviews
.36 km away
Regent Hotel
1,137 reviews
.44 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 104 nearby restaurants
Etive Restaurant
94 reviews
.01 km away
Baab
105 reviews
.15 km away
The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant
3,054 reviews
.24 km away
George Street Fish Restaurant & Chip Shop
877 reviews
.16 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 77 nearby attractions
Oban Distillery
2,498 reviews
.34 km away
Caledonian MacBrayne - Oban Day Trips
692 reviews
.33 km away
Oban VisitScotland iCentre
179 reviews
.06 km away
McCaig's Tower
2,433 reviews
.41 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
setterboy
19 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Info T | Property representative |
Unfortunately we don't allow pets in the hotel. However we can allow assistance dogs.
1
Vote
Michelle934
18 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Maureen B | Reviewed this property |
In the room we had there was no dressing table but there was a large mirror on the wall
0
Votes
scchisolm
25 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Y2446YZstevens | Reviewed this property |
Believe not, so bring your own
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Facing the Cliff that the Hotel backs onto."
RichardD836
2 Oct 2018
Read review
"Ground floor if you have mobility issues."
robertlang2
1 Sep 2018
Read review
"At front on first floor."
AMHGreenock_Scotland
28 Apr 2018
Read review
"Request a lower room in writing if you have mobility / health problems"
699carolo
23 Mar 2018
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing