We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

850 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 814: English reviews
Start your review of BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
 Click to rate
Campbeltown, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I work in Oban for a week in every month and have done for longer than I care to remember and try to avoid the hotels as much as possible as my preference is for the 4* guest houses that provide a great service for single travellers. On my last visit my preferred locations could not take me so I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thebooler
BW_The_Queens_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Hello thebooler, Thank you very much for leaving a review of the hotel following your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you returned after a less than enjoyable experience on your last visit, and even more so that you found your stay welcoming, comfortable and good value for money. We have limited parking on site but as you...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Overnight stay for 7 tired bikers! The hotel itself has seen refurbishment in places and looks to be an ongoing project. We had 4 twin rooms to the rear of the hotel which looked to be recently refurbished and had whirlpool baths which were a nice touch and would have been used if we had stayed longer. The bar and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adam k
BW_The_Queens_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Hi adam k, Thank you very much for reviewing the hotel following your overnight stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you were looked after from start to finish and that our team were even able to assist one of you with the bike battery. We are very lucky to have a great team here so it is...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My boyfriend booked this hotel for easter weekend as a break for us. From start to finish we couldn't fault anything about this hotel. We were met by the friendly receptionist as we arrived and she checked us in and made sure we got parked ok. Parking could be increased as it is very tight and not many spaces. The...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank clairebbz91
BW_The_Queens_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Hello clairebbz91, Thank you for leaving a great review following your weekend break in Oban. We are so pleased to hear you had a great time and enjoyed the views of the bay from your room - we agree it is beautiful and well worth booking a bay view room. Parking is very tight across all of Oban unfortunately, but...

Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed recently for 5 days. From the warm welcome from reception staff till the farewells, our stay was fabulous. All the staff from management to waiters & waitresses were all very well mannered and could not be more helpful. We must single out Sonya who made our meal times more enjoyable with her banter. Breakfasts were well cooked and plentiful....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank blairboy2017
BW_The_Queens_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Hi blairboy2017, Thank you so much for the great review of the hotel. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and were able to enjoy both the spectacular bay views and our on site bar/restaurant whilst here. We are very fortunate to have a hard working and committed team here so it is always...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It is not a fancy hotel, but i makes it up with its charm. We had two rooms facing the bay, highly recommended, with great views. The service was great and the rooms very comfortable. The breakfast had the usual fare and was adequate. We definitely stay again if in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Walk-a-bout0606
BW_The_Queens_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Walk-a-bout0606, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent trip to Oban. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and that you got to experience two of our front facing rooms as the views over the bay really are beautiful. We look forward to seeing you again in...

Arezzo, Italy
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was there for one night during my trip around Scotland and I found this lovely victorian hotel perfect. It is lovely inside and it has a great view on the bay. My single room was small but comfortable and clean. Heating, hot water and wifi worked well. Breakfast was buffet style, with plenty of options. They also serve tea/coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AChiara78
BW_The_Queens_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Hi AChiara78, Thank you for reviewing the hotel following your short visit to Oban. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you are able to return to us for longer in the future. Kindest regards, Tipi

Wyandotte, Michigan
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent the day shopping in Oban and then looked for a hotel and found the Queen's Best Western. We were given a room with a view of the water and a fancy Jacuzzi tub with colored lights for 65 pounds. There was a very good breakfast included with our room. This is a very pretty city. We walked the streets...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James P
BW_The_Queens_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Hello James P, Thank you for reviewing the hotel following your recent overnight stay with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed beautiful Oban and also got a view of the bay from your room, especially with a last minute booking! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and hope that you get the chance to sample...

Glasgow
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just returned from a 4 day stay at this hotel, our party of 4 have nothing but excellent praise for the hotel, facilities and most of all the staff. The rooms we had were clean, spacious, comfortable with a sea view, all we expected from a good hotel and certainly value for money.. Breakfast had pretty much everything...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JoannyGlasgow
BW_The_Queens_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Hi JoannyGlasgow, Thank you for reviewing the hotel following your 4 day stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your time here and benefited from a room with a view. I am sorry that you were unable to dine in our Cuanra Restaurant; as you say we are at full capacity most nights...

Edinburgh
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived and were warmly welcomed by the receptionist. After going to the room i was bitterly disappointed. It looked into a wall that had algae on it and a broken down pipe was leaning against the wall. I went down to reception and politely asked if we could be moved. This was not a problem and we were given...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ericamb
BW_The_Queens_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Hello ericamb, Thank you for reviewing the hotel following your recent trip to Oban. I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your allocated room on arrival but very pleased that this was amended promptly and without hesitation by our reception team. I will pass on your lovely comments to the rest of the team and look...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely hotel was given an upgrade to the front overlooking the bay, breakfast was excellent plenty of choice staff were very friendly and helpful highly recommend a visit. Also recommend ferry trip to mull very cheap.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wildfowler51
BW_The_Queens_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Hi wildfowler51, Thank you for reviewing the hotel following your recent stay with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time here and also got an upgrade to a bay view room as they really are beautiful and offer spectacular views of the surrounding area. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future....

434 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (172)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (76)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (230)
Viewed
Queen Mary Suite (72)
Viewed
Dining (61)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.2 km away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
1,677 reviews
1.2 km away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
778 reviews
1.1 km away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
426 reviews
1.1 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
905 reviews
0.6 km away
Bay Great Western Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family owned and managed 4 star hotel branded through Best Western situated next to the bay of Oban with wonderful views of the Island of Kerrera ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel

Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Price Range: ₹ 6,639 - ₹ 14,441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Oban
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel Oban, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Seminole, Florida

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want to see the water and the lighted boats and shoreline in the evening, then this hotel can more than provide that for you.”
K4817AVjamesp, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Forth floor is a good sea view”
JoannyGlasgow, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“do not stay in Room 35 (next to the lift)”
S4lly, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Dont stay in room 44 as it has rubbish shower”
fraser_macleod, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“we stayed in room 37 and had a lovely view of Oban bay”
ninahorse, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5