We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Oban Bay Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Oban Bay Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,656 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,573: English reviews
Start your review of Oban Bay Hotel
 Click to rate
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We enjoyed our 4 night stay at this Bay Great Western Hotel. Yes it is old and a little tired but It was warm and friendly, the food was good three nights out of four spoilt only by the final night on Thursday when second sitting got a poor deal. The chef’s special was not available and the plaice goujons...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Old_Bloke_Grimsby
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Plus points were, we got a good price, food was excellent,the breakfast ingredients were very good quality and the black pudding really was Stornoway black pudding yay! all staff except one person we're really friendly and helpful, we were allowed our dog, it was quiet, excellent facilities and location, really warm in room, Excellent wifi signal too. Bad points were,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deborah T
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Deborah T, Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay with us. I'm glad to read that in general you had a good stay. I'm really sorry though if there were a few points that detracted from the rest of the stay. I'll share your comments with the rest of the team so that we can be...

Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Mum and I went for a pre Mother's Day treat today. I treated her to a girly pamper day. From the minute we walked in we were totally taken care of. Claire took care of all of our needs and was very friendly and made us feel totally relaxed. With our package we were served an afternoon tea!! This was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucy H
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lucy H, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent visit. I'm delighted to read that you had such a good celebration and that you and your Mum enjoyed the cocktails. I hope you'll celebrate with us again soon. Kind regards David McGhie General Manager

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very tired needing make over, if we were paying peak prices, would have walk out .....dirty carpet old heaters room smelled of animals .breakfast and staff were fine ... Paint work dirty , towel rail in bath room lose

 Report
Helpful?
Thank irisdevlin
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear irisdevlin, Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. Please accept my apologies if we did not meet your expectations. We have recently had our team of decorators in and they have painted most of the hotel. There are a selection of rooms that are considered pet friendly but these are well cleaned after use. We...

lancs
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed overnight early march. Booked a small double online. Checked in and carted my bags up to my room to find it was a single!! The receptionist changed it for me and the second room was much better. The young barman needs teaching how to pull a pint of ale ....should not be using a knife!! As one of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Overnyter
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Overnyter, Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I'm really sorry if your experience at breakfast was disappointing. I will review the training that we prove so that we can improve the experience or all our guests. Kind regards David McGhie General Manager

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently stayed at the Oban Bay hotel with family as part of a coach holiday. The hotel staff were very friendly and welcoming. The rooms were adequate, with the smallest TV I have seen, but never actually watched it. There were tea making facilities, but you had to pay if you wanted hot chocolate, which was disappointing. The food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anniek08
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear anniek08, Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I'm glad to read that you had a good stay and that you enjoyed the food and the views. I hope you will visit Oban again soon. Kind regards David McGhie General Manager

Elgin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a lovely stay in the Oban Bay Hotel. It was clean, comfortable and had a fantastic view over the bay. The room was warm and comfortable. Their breakfast was very good and the service was very good as well. Situated no more than a two minute stroll from the center of Oban the hotel is in a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank submariner01
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear submariner01, Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay with us. I'm really pleased that you had such a good stay with us and that you enjoyed breakfast and the service from our staff. Parking is limited at all hotels in Oban. We have two alternatives nearby that are very handy. I hope you'll stay again soon....

Glasgow
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely break at the Oban Bay Hotel. Friendly staff. Comfortable room and great shower. Fine food in the restaurant. Views across the bay to Oban and the harbour. Great value. 10 mins walk into town, or turn right out of the hotel and walk along the seafront.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PostiePatwithCat
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PostiePatwithCat, Thank you for our review of your recent stay with us. I'm delighted to read that you had such a good stay and that you enjoyed the hotel. I hope you an visit Oban again soon. Kind regards David McGhie General Manager

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've stayed twice now as I wanted to do the Ganavan Sands Parkrun plus the missus loves Oban so kills 2 birds with 1 stone so to speak. Any parkrunners out there not driving or cycling you can easily walk/jog up. Roughly 2.5k on my garmin each way plus the 5k of the parkrun makes it an even 10. Great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ritchie T
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ritchie T, Thank you for taking the time to write review of your recent stay. I'm glad that you enjoyed the hotel and that you're a fan of Oban too. I hope we'll see you again very soon. Kind regards David McGhie General Manager

Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A largish seaside hotel that's seen better days. We were in the new block to the rear of the hotel, to which we walked through corridors and through endless fire doors. The carpets in the corridor were stained with what I think may have been over-concentrated carpet cleaner, but didn't give much of an impression. The room was conventionally laid...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Christine M, Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I'm very grateful for your feedback and I am sorry if we have not met our normal high standards on this occasion. We continue to get great reviews about the quality of our food and the service from our team members. We do have an ongoing...

422 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (358)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (65)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Other (168)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (50)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oban
33.0 km away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,314 reviews
15.8 km away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
768 reviews
1.0 km away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
400 reviews
0.7 km away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoying a prime position on the seafront, the Oban Bay Hotel & Spa has great views to Mull and Kerrera. For guests looking to relax and get away from it all, the hotel now offers an outdoor hot tub, spa treatments, along with a small sauna and steam room. In addition, Oban Bay Hotel has a comfortable bar and lounge area from which you can watch the world go by. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oban Bay Hotel

Address: | Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Price Range: ₹ 4,497 - ₹ 12,836 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oban Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Oban Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oban Bay Hotel And Spa
Oban Bay Hotel Oban
Oban Bay Hotel Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oban Bay Hotel staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Oban Bay Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room with a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles Old_Bloke_Grimsby, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Front room with view”
 of 5 bubbles irisdevlin, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“There are rooms with a sea views, but these cost extra”
 of 5 bubbles anniek08, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“A variety of rooms are available, the more expensive the more luxury”
 of 5 bubbles submariner01, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in back area of hotel are really quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 578mickl, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5