We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
3/9/2017 4/9/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Backpackers Plus

    Breadalbane St | The Old Church, Oban PA34 5PH, Scotland
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    3/9/2017 4/9/2017
    Lock in the lowest price from our partners
    US$ 43
    View Deal
    Traveller (41)
    Room & Suite (15)
    Dining (3)
    Oban Bay Hotel
    1,770 reviews
    #7 of 13 hotels in Oban
     
    Muthu Alexandra Hotel
    268 reviews
    #12 of 13 hotels in Oban
     
    The Taynuilt
    311 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in Taynuilt
     
    Bay Great Western Hotel
    716 reviews
    #6 of 13 hotels in Oban
     
    Overview
    • Excellent68%
    • Very good23%
    • Average7%
    • Poor1%
    • Terrible1%
    Travellers talk about
    “common room” (17 reviews)
    “old church” (9 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Breakfast included
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Family Rooms
    Laundry Service
    Free Parking
    Pool
    Restaurant
    All hotel details
    Offers from Backpackers Plus
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_hsx","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_hsx","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel_hsx__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_hsx__widget"},"scriptFlags":null}
    Oban Bay Hotel
    1,770 reviews
    #7 of 13 hotels in Oban
     
    Muthu Alexandra Hotel
    268 reviews
    #12 of 13 hotels in Oban
     
    The Taynuilt
    311 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in Taynuilt
     
    Bay Great Western Hotel
    716 reviews
    #6 of 13 hotels in Oban
     
    Write a Review
    Turn Your Opinions into Points!
    Turn your opinions into JPMiles
    Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
    *You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
    JPMiles / Payback Arrow
    JPMiles / Payback Arrow
    50
    Reviews (198)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 160 reviews

    Reviewed 1 week ago

    This hostel has a nice common room with well equipped kitchen. The room I stayed in was for 12 people and was spacious. There seemed to be enough bathrooms/toilets since I didn't see any queues. The shower was a bit odd, as you had to...More

    Thank DaphneMaas
    Response from BackpackersPlus, Manager at Backpackers PlusResponded 6 days ago

    Hello Daphne! We are glad you overall enjoyed your staying with us. Thanks for letting us know about the "inconvenient gap" in the female bathroom...We weren't aware of the issue.

    Reviewed 1 week ago

    I stayed one night here and the building is amazing. The staircase and the common room have an excellent atmosphere and the staff was very helpful and polite. The only drawback are the windows in the dormitories. Only after one night with three other people...More

    Thank RaulFidel
    Response from BackpackersPlus, Manager at Backpackers PlusResponded 1 week ago

    Good Morning Mr Fidel! Thanks for the nice review! We love our skye room and its atmosphere as well. We understand that sharing dorms with other people can be really warm and resulting in a lack of fresh air. That is why we have fans...More

    Reviewed 4 weeks ago

    Just stayed the one night before catching the ferry to Barra. No complaints at all. A very helpful friendly lady checked me in. Lovely big clean hostel. Had a good nights sleep. The free breakfast is very much appreciated too. There's a lovely lounge, and...More

    Thank Karen F
    Response from BackpackersPlus, Manager at Backpackers PlusResponded 4 weeks ago

    Thanks Karen for the nice review! We hope to see you again!

    Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile

    3 nights here in mid-June with my boyfriend. We had a privste double room with shared kitchen and bathroom facilities. It was perfect, really homely and cosy. All the thoughtful little touches really make the place stand out; the free breakfast is a great idea...More

    Thank Imogen M
    Response from BackpackersPlus, Owner at Backpackers PlusResponded 22 June 2017

    Thank you very much for your kind review. We always love to have guests who enjoy staying here and that makes things good for the staff as well. We hope to see you back here soon.

    Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

    First came here in 2013 for 1 night on a coach tour and we'd agreed that we wanted to come back. We booked a family room with shared bathroom and counted down the days. When we arrived we'd been upgraded to an ensuite room in...More

    Thank deborahadams24
    Response from BackpackersPlus, Manager at Backpackers PlusResponded 8 June 2017

    Thanks for your review Mrs Adams! We are glad you enjoyed your staying so much. We hope to see you again soon!

    Oban Bay Hotel
    1,770 reviews
    #7 of 13 hotels in Oban
     
    Muthu Alexandra Hotel
    268 reviews
    #12 of 13 hotels in Oban
     
    The Taynuilt
    311 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in Taynuilt
     
    Bay Great Western Hotel
    716 reviews
    #6 of 13 hotels in Oban
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Breakfast included
    • Laundry Service
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$ 40 - US$ 53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Family Rooms ,
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 21
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Backpackers Plus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • Scotland >
    • Argyll and Bute >
    • Oban
    • Also Known As
    • Backpackers Plus Oban, Scotland
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (41)
    Room & Suite (15)
    Dining (3)
    Hotel & Grounds (36)
    Bathroom (6)
    Family and Play Areas (1)
    Nearby
    Muthu Alexandra Hotel
    268 reviews
    .32 km away
     
    Bay Great Western Hotel
    716 reviews
    .10 km away
     
    The Taynuilt
    311 reviews
    14.45 km away
     
    Oban Bay Hotel
    1,770 reviews
    .46 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    St Columba Hotel
    120 reviews
    .22 km away
    Coast Restaurant
    769 reviews
    .21 km away
    Oban Chocolate Company
    930 reviews
    .14 km away
    Oban Fish and Chip Shop
    1,425 reviews
    .18 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Caledonian MacBrayne - Oban Day Trips
    497 reviews
    .64 km away
    McCaig's Tower
    2,003 reviews
    .32 km away
    Oban War & Peace Museum
    615 reviews
    .23 km away
    Oban VisitScotland iCentre
    153 reviews
    .49 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    lovetravelling107
    26 April 2017|
    Answer
    Response from BackpackersPlus | Property representative |
    Hello ! At the moment, our en-suites are £25 per person per night. The price will change from the 1st of June for the summer period, going up to £29 per person per night. hope this was useful.
    0
    Votes
    Karen F
    17 January 2017|
    AnswerShow all 5 answers
    Response from BackpackersPlus | Property representative |
    Hi Karen, Thanks for your question! It would be great if all our guests provided photograpic ID (passport, ID, drivers licence, etc.) but of course if you don't have any of those you are still welcome to stay with us. Hope... More
    1
    Vote
    Room Tips
    "the bright yellow extension to the hostel has cozy private rooms"
    Read review
    "Multi bed bunkrooms make for the best conversations"
    Read review
    "The room heated up nicely once I realized I had to turn the heaters on."
    Read review
    "Ask for a room with private bathroom if available."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing