We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Backpackers Plus

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Backpackers Plus
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 150: English reviews
Start your review of Backpackers Plus
 Click to rate
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Travelled here with about 40 students who slept in the church-converted hostel. I had a single room in the bright yellow building next door: room #5 on the top floor -- about 8 ft. x 12 ft., large enough for a twin bed, wicker chair, table w/ flat-screen TV, and a sink. I loved the "tiny house" feel. There were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FayFuji
Sint-Truiden, Belgium
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Maybe i am growing to old but i was disappointed in the hostel. We travelled with haggis and booked a private room. The room was very small( each side of the bed just space to stand up), no toilet and no shower in the room even not on our level. The location is great, walking distance from bar and pubs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Loadie1980
BackpackersPlus, Manager at Backpackers Plus, responded to this review

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us! We do offer en-suite rooms, but they are not usually booked by Haggis. If you had let us know about your complaint on Thursday night we could have upgraded you to an en-suite. I'm certain we can do better on your next stay with us!

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just awesome!! Had a really homey, family like vibe! Could easily spend months staying there and not minding at all! Lounge area was large and inviting this real comfy couch settings and tables to work and eat at. Was really bright and cheery and rooms where awesome! Had a real atmosphere of family and fun!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank camery97
BackpackersPlus, General Manager at Backpackers Plus, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the amazing review! We are glad you enjoyed your staying with us. Come back anytime, we will be happy to see you again!

Neustadt an der Aisch, Germany
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Backpackersplus offers a brilliant package of everything you need. Comfortable beds, clean toilets, hot showers, free breakfast and a lounge room that is so lovely it's hard not to feel welcomed or at home. The Staff is extremely helpful, always ready to lend a hand. With the size of the hostel if you are only a bit outgoing you are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _moritz_scholz
BackpackersPlus, General Manager at Backpackers Plus, responded to this review

Thanks Moritz for the amazing review! We are glad you enjoyed your staying. Come back any time!

Reviewed 14 February 2017

Clean, comfortable, warm. Very colourful, which makes everything feel cheery and welcoming. Large kitchen with several stove tops and ovens and dishes. Excellent location. Nicest hostel I've stayed in.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura G
Tsina-mc, deputy manager at Backpackers Plus, responded to this review

Thank Laura for your kind review! Hope to see you again some day!

Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

I travelled on a Haggis tour with a friend and we booked a private room. The private rooms were clean but too big to be heated by the heater the room properly so it was quite cold. The toilets and showers were also not in the room they were floor down. This was very annoying. I feel when you pay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin R
BackpackersPlus, Owner at Backpackers Plus, responded to this review

Hello Caitlin and thank you for the review. I'm sorry you weren't in the sort of room you wanted - we have a number of rooms with their own private facilities so I'm not quite sure how you weren't booked into one of those. What you say about the heating is worrying! I'm just wondering if it was not turned...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2016

Stayed as part of a tour group. Very friendly atmosphere in this quirky hostel. Rooms were spacious, had a comfortable sleep, the showers worked well. Good kitchen and choice of facilities. Close to everything you want to get to.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
BackpackersPlus, Manager at Backpackers Plus, responded to this review

Hi Elizabeth, Thanks for the lovely review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again one day.

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016

What a great place to stay in! Friendly staff, very nice rooms, free breakfast! Highly recommended! We really enjoyed staying there as a family! I wish we could have stayed there longer than just one night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rafa44918
BackpackersPlus, Manager at Backpackers Plus, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Hope to see you again one day!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Booked 2 dorm beds last minute. Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean rooms, kitchen and living area, bathrooms. Great price for one night stay, including breakfast (toast and cereals) and hot drinks! Mattress a little on the thin side, but can't complain for the price!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Klara B
BackpackersPlus, Owner at Backpackers Plus, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. We enjoyed you being here as well. Come back soon!

Chicago
Reviewed 10 October 2016

No matter who you are you are welcome here. There were older adults and young people. The kitchen was the nicest and most well-equipped I've ever been in at a hostel. Location: an old church retro-fitted. There were plenty of rooms and the bathrooms were really nice. Oban itself is a GREAT town and this hostel is absolutely the best.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chicagojane2014
BackpackersPlus, Owner at Backpackers Plus, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words. We loved having you here and hope you'll be back one day. Enjoy the rest of your travels!

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.6 km away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
778 reviews
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
0.5 km away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
406 reviews
0.3 km away
Rowantree Hotel
Rowantree Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
311 reviews
0.1 km away
Corran House
Corran House
#14 of 99 in Oban
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This is a fun, cosy hostel with loads of character and the friendliest staff you'll meet! We've got a great central location convenient to all amenities in the bustling Scottish west-coast town of Oban. We have comfy, spacious dormitories as well as family-friendly private rooms (some with ensuite), all with access to a very well eqiupped self-catering kitchen. Our prices include all bedding, a buffet breakfast and free internet. We have a huge, fantastic lounge and socialising area with a pool table, board games, books, and all-day free tea/coffee and hot chocolate... Every creature comfort for the budget-minded traveller! Our private rooms are in our annex about 100 metres away from the main building. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Backpackers Plus

Address: The Old Church | Breadalbane St, Oban PA34 5PH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Price Range: ₹ 2,399 - ₹ 3,306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Backpackers Plus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers Plus Oban, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Backpackers Plus staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Blackpool, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Backpackers Plus staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the bright yellow extension to the hostel has cozy private rooms”
FayFuji, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Multi bed bunkrooms make for the best conversations”
_moritz_scholz, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The room heated up nicely once I realized I had to turn the heaters on.”
, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with private bathroom if available.”
steveroy2016, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We were in a separate building to the hostel reception, which was a little way up the street, and our room was very quiet.”
ROFRCO, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5