We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
02/07/2017 03/07/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Sgeir Mhaol Guest House

    Soroba Road, Oban PA34 4JF, Scotland
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    02/07/2017 03/07/2017
    1 room
    • 1 room
      2 adults
      • 2 adults
        0 children
        • 0 children
          Overview
          • Excellent40%
          • Very good25%
          • Average14%
          • Poor12%
          • Terrible9%
          18 Sep 2016
          “Stop over on way to Isle of Iona”
          5 Aug 2016
          “One angry landlady”
          Free Internet
          Free Parking
          Pets Allowed
          All hotel details
          {"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null}
          Write a Review
          Turn Your Opinions into Points!
          Turn your opinions into JPMiles
          Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
          *You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
          JPMiles / Payback Arrow
          JPMiles / PAYBACK
          50
          Reviews (64)
          Traveller rating
          Traveller type
          Time of year
          Language

          1 - 5 of 64 reviews

          Reviewed 18 September 2016

          Ishbell was very welcoming and pleasant. Room only which is great value and the room was comfortable and very clean. Ample tea, coffee, toiletries, breakfast bars and fruit. Ishbell very accommodating with a small problem which arose. I would go back if passing through Oban...More

          2  Thank 563jenny
          Response from Ishbell S, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest HouseResponded 27 October 2016

          Thankyou so much for your kind review,it makes it so worth while when guests enjoy their stay with me at Sgeir Mhaol.Hoping you enjoyed your week on Iona and the weather was kind to you and your friends. Again many thanks, kindest regards, Ishbell

          Reviewed 5 August 2016

          Sgeir mhaol is relatively clean n tidy but beware the so called landlady ishbell is friendly when taking your money but when a problem occurs even how minor the problem is she completely flies off the handle and is extremely rude and arrogant she does...More

          4  Thank Billy P
          Response from Ishbell S, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest HouseResponded 23 September 2016

          Thankyou for your review on Sgeirmhaol. Thankyou that you found sgeirmhaol 'relatively clean !!!!! and tidy,if the room was not up to your standards why didnt you come and tell this instead of all on tripadvisor !!! I did take your money pressuming you were...More

          Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

          Stayed here for one night recently. While the room was clean and comfortable I found the guest house owner to be extremely rude and unprofessional. This made for an uncomfortable stay. I have travelled extensively and stayed in many guest houses in Scotland. I can...More

          5  Thank D2341
          Response from Ishbell S, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest HouseResponded 23 September 2016

          Thankyou for review on SgeirMhaol. Thankyou for stating that your room was clean and comfortable as ALL rooms are at Sgeirmhaol. You had a problem with the lock on your door as in that the spring had broken,however as much as I am very capable...More

          Reviewed 3 July 2016

          First of all I want to emphasize, that this is my first Tripadvisor review and I usually don’t do reviews. But after our experience in the Sgeir Mhaol Guest House I felt I need to do it to prevent others having the same one. I...More

          3  Thank Bernd S
          Response from Ishbell S, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest HouseResponded 23 September 2016

          Firstly may I say I NEVER ask guests in to my home or would ever ask them to view correspondance between us. The customer is always right even when wrong ! Secondly..I omitted to e-mail you to inform you that due to ill health I...More

          Reviewed 1 June 2016

          I had a great stay at the Sgeir Mhaol, Ishbell (the owner) was friendly and very accommodating! As I was on placement, I stayed for 5 weeks and experienced continual high standards. My room was furnished very well with plenty of fresh towels, tea and...More

          Thank Sylvia135
          Response from 742eeshee55, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest HouseResponded 2 June 2016

          Sylvia, thankyou so much for your lovely review.It was lovely having you here for 5 weeks,that went past quickly didnt it.Hope everything goes well for you and may see you back here soon, Ishbell

          About
          Amenities
          • Top amenities
          • Free Internet
          • Free Parking
          • Hotel Amenities
          • Free Parking
          Details
          • Number of rooms
          • 4
          • Location
          • United Kingdom >
          • Scotland >
          • Argyll and Bute >
          • Oban
          • Also Known As
          • Sgeir Mhaol Guest House Oban, Scotland
          Nearby
          Manor House Hotel
          416 reviews
          .98 km away
           
          Columba Hotel
          1,029 reviews
          1.02 km away
           
          The Perle Oban Hotel
          47 reviews
          .79 km away
           
          The Ranald Hotel
          792 reviews
          .68 km away
           
          Royal Hotel
          937 reviews
          .70 km away
           
          Nearby Restaurants
          Oban Seafood Hut
          1,296 reviews
          .81 km away
          The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant
          2,324 reviews
          .79 km away
          George Street Fish Restaurant & Chip Shop
          637 reviews
          .82 km away
          The Lorne Bar
          420 reviews
          .73 km away
          Nearby Attractions
          Caledonian MacBrayne - Oban Day Trips
          446 reviews
          .79 km away
          McCaig's Tower
          1,904 reviews
          1.08 km away
          Oban War & Peace Museum
          592 reviews
          1.11 km away
          Dunstaffnage Castle & Chapel
          383 reviews
          .44 km away
          Questions & AnswersAsk a question
          Anne C
          Do you have Wi-Fi? Thanks.
          15 May 2015|
          Answer
          Response from | Property representative |
          Hi yes we have wifi in our rooms
          0
          Votes
          Room Tips
          "All ground floor. Not a luxury B and B, room only, but very good value. Welcoming, very clean and comfortable."
          Read review
          "Handy for ferry terminale"
          Read review
          "only stayed the night couldn't fault anything"
          Read review
          "Room 4 (A Double bed,) for me was quiet enough for a good nights sleep,! Exellent wi fi"
          Read review
          Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
          Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing