We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

St. Anne's Guest House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
St. Anne\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

52 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 44: English reviews
Start your review of St. Anne's Guest House
 Click to rate
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here a while back - forgot the post the review. A nice guesthouse near to the centre of Oban and the water front. Lovely staff, a good breakfast, only downside was the shower 🚿 very tight squeeze for the bathroom!

Thank FabGab13
Banbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2016

This is a low end guest house in need of renovation. Wardrobe door handles missing, interesting wiring and the shower held up with duct tape. The free parking as advertised is approximately half a mile away at the leisure centre and the parking anywhere near the house is either expensive and time restricted or £1 per hour on a pay...

1Thank pwegbr
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed for one night so we could get up and out for the Tiree ferry at 4.30am. First thing you realise is the place is in pretty poor condition. The second thing you realise is you're paying quite a lot for it. Doesn't look like there's been upgrade or investment in the business for years yet we paid around...

1Thank lowal88813
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed 2nights and wasn't the best..wardrobe in room had one handle the two single beds were as squeeze as anything you would hear no matter what ...room abit cold cause the window doesn't even shut proberly 😱..they said we do breakfast for £9.50 well thought ok that sounds like a good one well look like dogs dinner when it came...

1Thank Ann C
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

Whatever you do, don't pay extra for free cancellation! I cancelled my stay here before the deadline and St Anne's has decided just to keep my £140! For a family room that didn't even have its own En suite. My daughter took tonsillitis so as well as the disappointment of not going to Oban I've been charged for it anyway!...

1Thank kenneth390
Arbour G, Owner at St. Anne's Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Sir, As far as I am aware there is no payment system for free cancellation. You booked a room with a third party website, not directly with ourselves. You called us and said you MIGHT have to cancel, but there was a possibility that some friends would come instead. We explained that you would have to cancel directly with...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2015 via mobile

Sadly very disappointing accommodation - very over priced, tv did n't work, charged extra for poor quality breakfast, abrupt and absentee landlady, charged us immediately we arrived. Drunken couple making noise outside the door at 3am, no One around to apprehend them. Love Oban, but would never go back there.

2Thank stephen b
Callander, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2015

Welcomed by scruffily dressed unprofessional individual who speedily took our £84 for 1 nights bed and continental breakfast. Bedroom tiny i.e. the first person entering had to go behind the door to let the second one in, toilet/shower even tinier. TV too high on wall an although the room was extremely small the TV screen was tiny and opera glasses...

1Thank susan C
Reviewed 4 August 2015 via mobile

My family and I stayed for 3 nights in this guest house. The location gave easy access to the ferry terminal and the station. Our room was a standard family room with shared bathroom. The room and the bathroom were clean and there was a welcome tray in our room. The price however was too high for the quality of...

Thank Erika O
Reviewed 21 July 2015 via mobile

The room was fine, if a little basic with unusual decor and a couple broken lights. And the kettle with filthy (attributed to other guests boiling milk in it, so not the guest houses fault directly). The rating is due to poor service, which we felt was fairly rude and unwelcoming. Attitude felt defensive from the outset with host taking...

1Thank Lathrisk
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 July 2015

The Accommodation was basic and dated, but clean with a large separate private shower room. Our Main complaint is the unwelcoming, verging on rude, attitude of the host. We felt the accomodation and overall service was very overpriced. There are much nicer places nearby.

2Thank Louise W

8 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (4)
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (4)
Room/Suite (1)
Dining (1)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.9 km away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
768 reviews
0.6 km away
MacKay's Bed and Breakfast
0.7 km away
Barriemore Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Alltavona Guest House
0.2 km away
Glengorm Guest House
Glengorm Guest House
#88 of 99 in Oban
32 reviews
1.6 km away
Glenview Guest House
Glenview Guest House
#76 of 99 in Oban
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
St Annes Guest House accommodation in Oban offers high quality accommodation at a reasonable price. Each year we enjoy welcoming visitors from around the world who come to experience for themselves the magical, dramatic beauty of Oban and the Argyll coast, the ancient seat of the Kings of Scotland which is not only steeped in history, beautiful scenery and great culinary delights, but has leisure pursuits and entertainment to suit all tastes. St Annes is a Victorian Town House built in 1880 and has large airy rooms which retain many of the original Victorian features. St Annes is very close to the Town Centre and many local amenities are close by. The Atlantis Leisure Centre, The Corran Halls,Tennis Courts, McCaigs Tower, the Cathedral and local Cinema are all within easy walking distance. We are also conveniently situated for buses,trains and ferries. Parking is available in the street, and the pay and display car park at the end of the road which is free between 6pm and 9am. The Guest House has seven letting rooms, all comfortably furnished, with colour T.V. And complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about St. Anne's Guest House

Address: St. Annes 6 Victoria Place Dunollie Road | Dunollie Road, Oban PA34 5PH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Price Range: ₹ 3,725 - ₹ 6,209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Anne's Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your St. Anne's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Anne's Guest House Oban, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from St. Anne's Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from St. Anne's Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid this Guest house!”
 of 5 bubbles K2438DTsusanc, 23 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Avoid any room that includes the shared bathroom on first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles vivekgokarn, 29 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Always try to book well in advance to get a good value for money deal and the sort of room which suits you.”
 of 5 bubbles MoneypennyT, 25 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Definitely not room 1 but to be honest don't stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles UnhappyGuest88, 24 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Room 5 can sleep up to 3 with a private bathroom and at the time of writing look very recently renovated.”
 of 5 bubbles CarlFrog, 2 May 2014 | Read review
5 of 5