We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Northern Hotel

Booking.comUS$ 77*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 85*
US$ 77*
Great Deal
US$ 85*
US$ 85*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Northern Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

137 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 135: English reviews
Start your review of Northern Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very friendly, helpful and competent receptionist found life music event for me - Thank you again K ! Hotel is fairly close to the University of Aberdeen, which was important for me. Finding parking was no problem. I hope to come to Aberdeen again and to stay at the Great Northern Hotel again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank E2804BCkarlh
ANH2016, Manager at Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review! We look forward to welcoming you again next time you decide to visit Aberdeen.

Nice, France
Reviewed 1 week ago

I came to Aberdeen from France to surprise my mother on her 80th birthday and having a late flight I needed something inexpensive but not too far from the airport. I arrived close to midnight but was warmly welcomed. The room was very clean and had a comfortable bed. Bathroom needs a bit of updating and the towels were rather...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui N
ANH2016, Manager at Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking your time to review your stay. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again next time you decide to visit Aberdeen. Our bedrooms are undergoing renovations just now so we invite you to come and see the result for yourself. Have a...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Rooms need redecorating and modernised and a little TLC. Staff were friendly and breakfast was nice. Bed and shower room was clean and tidy although the hair dryers were a bit prehistoric. Would return to visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lorraine F
ANH2016, General Manager at Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review your stay, we appreciate your helpful feedback! We have been undergoing renovations for the past couple of months so some of the rooms have already been upgraded. We hope to see you again soon to give you a chance to see for yourself. Have a lovely day!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a find, sitting quite central in Aberdeen we found a great restaurant with fantastic ambience and great food in the Northern Hotel. This is an Art Deco hotel of a very high standard, I cannot believe that I have passed this hotel for years without trying it out. We were so impressed with the restaurant that we asked to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
ANH2016, Manager at Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking your time to review our hotel! We are very pleased to hear that you had such an amazing experience with us and hope to see you soon.

Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed at The Northern over the Easter holidays as we were visiting family. It was really lovely to return to this hotel as I had stayed here as a child years ago when visiting Aberdeen. We were given one of the 3 bedroom apartments for our stay. It was clean and comfortable and suited our needs. Myself and my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma P
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

Staff were pleasant and helpful. Decor is a little dated however there was building work being done which suggests they are updating. Breakfast was good with plenty of selection. The hotel is able a 20 minute walk from the town centre. No parking at the hotel but adjacent streets had parking spaces.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarkAndrews99
ANH2016, Manager at Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to leave a review! We are glad you had a pleasant stay with us. Yes, we are undergoing some redecorating of the rooms at the moment so we hope you come back to stay with us next time to see the final result. Have a lovely day!

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

Really disappointing visit to the northern , We had 17 people there so had a room to dine as a family. We waited 55mins for 5 starters to come and the a it was a further 1hr later that some of the main courses came , one of which did not turn up at all, we were told we could...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Boxy1976
ANH2016, Owner at Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review but disappointed with the rating ! I was on at the time your table was in and I recall popping into your room a few times and even put the music on for you ! at the time I did say "excuse the odd Xmas song but its a reminder to book for Xmas"...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Would definitely recommend. Went for a carvery with my family, the food was delicious, piping hot and the service was first class. Will definitely be returning with friends and family and would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maureen C
ANH2016, Manager at Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am very glad you had a great experience with us. We pride our self on getting our Carvery right for people every week so I am glad you enjoyed it. look forward to your return.

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2017

I've never stayed in the hotel but my family are regulars for the sunday roast, and it is something special, definitely the best in town - my kids love their carvery so we have tried a lot of places and this is always where we go back to (the kids insist!). The staff are also great, and service is quick.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sazzer11
ANH2016, Manager at Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking to review your experience with us. I am glad you had a great Sunday Carvery with us. We pride ourselves on our food and service so it is nice to see we are achieving our goals. look forward to seeing you again.

Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2017

On arrival we were told we hadn't booked, despite sending emails for several weeks, we were then allocated a room in the hotel which wasn't habitable due to a very noisy drain in the bathroom. When I complained I was assured it had been fixed last week and there had been people in there the previous evening. We were then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grantleonard
ANH2016, Manager at Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking to time to review your stay with us. I am very sorry that it was not the experience you had with us previously. I can not excuse any of the issues you have pointed out and I have certainly spoke with the staff to make sure no one goes through the same experience. We do pride...

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
5.9 km away
Cults Hotel
Cults Hotel
#47 of 64 in Aberdeen
145 reviews
3.1 km away
The Mariner Hotel
The Mariner Hotel
#34 of 64 in Aberdeen
157 reviews
2.1 km away
Rox Hotel
Rox Hotel
#52 of 64 in Aberdeen
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Aberdeen Airport
2.2 km away
Carmelite
Carmelite
#44 of 64 in Aberdeen
637 reviews
3.6 km away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#15 of 64 in Aberdeen
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a family friendly Hotel based 5 minutes from the town centre and 20 minutes on route to the airport. We have 32 on suite rooms, restaurant, bar and function/conference rooms. We pride ourselves on our locally sourced food and friendly customer service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Northern Hotel

Address: 1 Great Northern Road, Aberdeen AB24 3PS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Price Range: ₹ 4,236 - ₹ 5,482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Northern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Northern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Northern Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Corner rooms are quite spacious”
Jacqui06510, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“Don't chance this hotel, book elsewhere.”
grantleonard, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“room 202 reclining chairs good bathroom and bed”
philbin65, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I believe most rooms are well serviced by natural light”
bhfams, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“Sorry vague on the rooms I didn't stay there I'm local”
bagpuss28, 21 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 77* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$ 85
Hotels.comUS$ 85
TravelocityUS$ 85
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates