We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel

Show Prices
#17 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

891 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 840: English reviews
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 May 2016

We booked a standard double room for a Friday night on a room only basis and were really pleased with the price - very reasonable for Aberdeen city centre. Our room overlooked Union Terrace Gardens and was very cozy and comfortable. Some noise heard from the street late at night, but can only be expected at the weekend. Check in/out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsTpd
bourqueMrs, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MrsTpd Thank you for spending the time to review our hotel following your recent trip to Aberdeen. I am glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you again soon and next time look to get a 5 star rating! Best Regards Jane Bourque General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 May 2016

cold room, no hot water, no shower cap, no toothpaste, no view, nice bed. staff were v nice particularly the poor duty manager who I complained to. The breakfast sausages were nice but I will never forget this hotel as the only one I have ever been in with no hot water.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank benitac279c
Management response:

Dear benitac279c, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience following your recent stay with us at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel. Please accept my sincerest apologies as I fully appreciate that the unforeseen maintenance issues which affected the hotel during your stay impacted your experience negatively. I am pleased to report that these issues have been...

Roosendaal
Reviewed 6 May 2016

Good service staff- who did all they could in the restaurant/bar area to look after me. When a part of my meal was not to my liking- they immediately addressed the issue - no questions asked. My request for a table/coffee for a private business meeting was also dealt with professionally and sweetly- I was offered the lounge and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra_BT_Hannon
bourqueMrs, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sanda_BT_Hannon Thank you for your feedback following your stay. Firstly please accept my sincere apologies, as you mentioned at 6am we experienced an issue with our water system that was out of our control, whereby all of our rooms were effected by some degree. We had contacted emergency response from contractors and our emergency response team to support with...

Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 May 2016

What a lovely warm welcome. There are a number of comfortable table seating areas to relax and enjoy drinks, afternoon tea or just read. The open fires make it very inviting and homely. A short walk towards the spa which offers treat,ends or just laze in the sauna, jacuzzi or enjoy a swim. The only suggestion I would make is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank naila h
Management response:

Dear naila h, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience following your recent stay with us at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel. I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay with us and very much look forward to welcome you back on property during your next visit to Aberdeen. Yours sincerely Sebastien...

Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 April 2016 via mobile

The restaurant has very limited food choice and is quite expensive. Also every other song is Adele, which is a bit grating after a bit. One of the foreign receptionists working fri 29th morning could do with retraining on how to use system, as, when she couldn't do a simple job of charging to our company, i had to pay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mrjelly1983
bourqueMrs, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrjelly1983 It is extremely disappointing to hear your feedback and I would always encourage guests to let us know if they are not happy so we can look to resolve the issues straight away, it is regretful after a week of staying with us you did not mention your issues at the hotel. If possible I would appreciate it...

Scotland
Reviewed 28 April 2016

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank k1sra
bourqueMrs, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 April 2016

everything was just great staff excellent room king suite brill tons of room nice touch with the wine and gift hamper food was great well cooked and presented congrats to the chefs Would I stay again BIG YES they have got everything spot on ,well worth every penny

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
bourqueMrs, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brian R Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at The Mercure Caledonian Aberdeen. I am delighted your found your stay outstanding from your room to dining in on restaurant. Myself and my team look forward to welcoming you again soon. Best Regards Jane Bourque General Manager

Reviewed 25 April 2016

Celebrated here on Boxing day from my mum's 75th birthday. Lovely location overlooking the Union Terrace Gardens and Christmas Market. Lovely Afternoon Tea with plenty of sandwiches and cakes. Added bonus of mulled wine for the non drivers.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pauline M
bourqueMrs, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pauline M Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent experience at afternoon tea at The Mercure Caledonian Aberdeen. I am delighted to hear everything was to your liking and with our cakes and scones changing seasonally and all fresh baked in house I look forward to welcoming you again soon. Best Regards Jane...

Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2016

I had a business meeting in the centre of Aberdeen so chose this hotel as it was a short walk to the office. It is also close to the train station has very good bus links nearby, and Union Street is only round the corner. It was very comfortable and the staff were attentive and couldn't have been more helpful....

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
bourqueMrs, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Caroline B Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at The Mercure Caledonian Aberdeen. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. If you are staying on a regular basis our Le-Club offers excellent benefits for our guests and is easy to sign up....

Seville, Spain
Reviewed 25 April 2016

It has been a bad experience. Standard room wasn't a four star hotal room at all. Futniture was old and bad maintained. With regard to the bathroom, it was terrible: mold, plastic floor, flish didn't work,... Parking free was unaccesible given that it was mostly used by staff so there wasn't park places for clients. Reception team seemed upset to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank De la Fuente J
bourqueMrs, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear De la Fuente J Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at The Mercure Caledonian Aberdeen. It is very disappointing to hear you did not enjoy your stay. Our standard rooms are due for refurbishment in July so I am confident we can resolve this for your next visit. With regards to...

319 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (138)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Other (48)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (139)
Viewed
Executive Room (35)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)
Viewed
Twin Room (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, is perfectly placed for exploring handsome, vibrant Aberdeen, known to the world as the Granite City. Located in the centre of Aberdeen, overlooking Union Terrace Gardens and five-minute walk from the railway station, The Caledonian Hotel is a grand example of the city's distinctive Victorian architecture. It's close to many local attractions, and an excellent base for touring the Highlands. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel

Address: 10-14 Union Terrace, Aberdeen AB10 1WE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Price Range: ₹ 4,310 - ₹ 7,709 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Caledonian, Aberdeen Hotel Aberdeen
The Hotel Aberdeen
Caledonian Thistle
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel Scotland
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#14 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Glasgow, United Kingdom
10 months ago
Fife, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Chicago, Illinois, USA

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Presumably some rooms have king size bed?”
shonadharris, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“4th floor is quiet”
wooly0000, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Those with a view over Union Terrace Gardens, 4th floor preferably.”
513scott, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Apparently the upgraded rooms with views of the gardens are nice.”
Escotland, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had a room ar the book and it was very quiet.”
kaysy123, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5