We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel

Agoda.comUS$ 76*
View Deal
#16 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 152*
US$ 76*
Great Deal
US$ 77*
US$ 77*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

902 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 849: English reviews
Start your review of Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
 Click to rate
Thessaloniki Region, Greece
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here in April and was quite satisfied with it. My room was rather small,but it was fine for one person and to be honest I just needed a nice,clean place to sleep, since I was out for most of the day, and I got exactly that. Overall it was a good hotel with extremely polite and helpful staff! The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ValiaEf
sebastienbrunet2016, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ValiaEf, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel. I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay in particular the staff and breakfast that we offer. It is always a pleasure to get positive feedback and I will be sharing your comments with the rest of...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 30 March 2017

I organised a hen party here last month and everything was flawless. Although I used a third party to do the booking, I was in contact with the hotel once or twice prior to the event and they were very friendly. On the night, the staff were extremely inviting, our dining room was beautiful and we were able to decorate...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SAT1112
About Hotel's Favourite Review
sebastienbrunet2016, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SAT1112, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel. I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed the Hen Party that you held with us, particularly the staff and food. I have passed your comments onto the rest of the team which is very much appreciated. Thank you...

Angus
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for the second time in May. First stay was average but the second stay was excellent. Lovely room at the front which was clean. Spacious with a. Dry clean bathroom. Beautiful view of the union row gardens

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dragonfly080808
sebastienbrunet2016, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dragonfly080808, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and I will be passing your comments onto the rest of the team. Once again thank you or your great review and I look forward to welcoming you back to the...

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

What you want from a hotel when on business is decent room, good shower, good bed and a decent nights sleep, I got all this when staying here. As an added bonus the breakfast buffet was very nice as was the evening meal. All in all a good stay. Staff all very friendly, room cleaned daily, the room had tea...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
sebastienbrunet2016, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Richard H, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel. I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay especially the amenities we provide in our Deluxe rooms. Once again thank you for your kind words and I will pass your feedback onto the rest of the...

Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

While the hotel is old and a bit tired in some areas we had a pleasant stay. Located in the city centre it is ideal for shopping and eating out. We only used it for breakfast which was nice. We had a laRGE ROOM WHICH IS TYPICAL OF THIS AGE OFE HOTEL

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JAMES P
sebastienbrunet2016, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JAMES P, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in particular the breakfast and location of the hotel. Once again thank you for your comments and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed for one night while I attended an appointment at the local hospital. My first impression was of a very nice Hotel with clean rooms good facilities and a welcoming staff. We found the rooms a bit warm overnight and were glad of the supplied fan. We stayed for breakfast the next morning and we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mike_milne
sebastienbrunet2016, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mike_milne, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian. I am extremely sorry to read that your breakfast experience prevented you from fully enjoying your stay. I will address this with the team as your experience is certainly not the one I would expect any of our guests to receive....

aberdeenshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is my hotel of choose when I need to stay over in Aberdeen. Not many 4 star hotels available for the rates you can get here! Staff are always excellent and the rooms are to a high standard. Would happily recommend to anyone. Even have a small car park.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gigfan
sebastienbrunet2016, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear gigfan, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel. I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed your comments on to the rest of the team which i'm sure they will all appreciate. Once again thank you for your great review...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked this hotel as it appeared to be of a high standard. Unfortunately this was not reflected in our experience at all. The minor complaints being that there was only one towel in the bathroom and the quality of the room was far lower than expected. The main complaint we have regards the attitude of the staff. On Saturday...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bezzastezza
sebastienbrunet2016, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear bezzastezza, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian. I was extremely disappointed to read your feedback as this is not the standard of service we would normally work towards. I will be speaking to the member of staff directly to make sure this doesn’t not happen again. I do...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I seemingly booked a room with a single bed I didn't realise these still existed. The room itself was quite small and on a slope which was quite disorientating. Housekeeping was kit and miss one day they completely forgot to replace my towels and another they didn't empty any bins. The staff were very friendly and keen to offer advice....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicola R
sebastienbrunet2016, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nicola R, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian. I was disappointed to read that we didn't exceed your expectation on this occasion, I have passed your comments onto the rest of the team to stop the issues you encountered arsing again. I do apologise that we didn't meet...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 768ahe
sebastienbrunet2016, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

319 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (138)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Other (48)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (139)
Viewed
Executive Room (35)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)
Viewed
Twin Room (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Other (5)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.4 km away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 64 in Aberdeen
1,887 reviews
0.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
6.2 km away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 64 in Aberdeen
955 reviews
0.7 km away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 64 in Aberdeen
714 reviews
0.5 km away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 64 in Aberdeen
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, is perfectly placed for exploring handsome, vibrant Aberdeen, known to the world as the Granite City. Located in the centre of Aberdeen, overlooking Union Terrace Gardens and five-minute walk from the railway station, The Caledonian Hotel is a grand example of the city's distinctive Victorian architecture. It's close to many local attractions, and an excellent base for touring the Highlands. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel

Address: 10-14 Union Terrace, Aberdeen AB10 1WE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Price Range: ₹ 4,485 - ₹ 7,724 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Caledonian, Aberdeen Hotel Aberdeen
The Hotel Aberdeen
Caledonian Thistle
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel Scotland
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#14 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Glasgow, United Kingdom
11 months ago
Fife, United Kingdom
2 months ago
Chicago, Illinois, USA

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Presumably some rooms have king size bed?”
shonadharris, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“4th floor is quiet”
wooly0000, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Those with a view over Union Terrace Gardens, 4th floor preferably.”
513scott, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Apparently the upgraded rooms with views of the gardens are nice.”
Escotland, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had a room ar the book and it was very quiet.”
kaysy123, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$ 76* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 77
MercureUS$ 77
AMOMAUS$ 152
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates