We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

City Hotel

CancelonUS$ 164*
View Deal
#6 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 174*
US$ 164*
Great Deal
US$ 174*
US$ 174*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
City Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,963 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for City Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,918: English reviews
Portaferry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2015

Clean central hotel with stations close by. Was easily able to walk to and around the famous city walls from the hotel. Staff friendly and food was good. Live music both nights was a bit too loud for my poor hearing. 2 golf courses 5mins. by taxi.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David P
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David P Thank you for your review, we are pleased the location suited your needs and the staff impressed, we hope you choose to return soon. Yours sincerely Conor Friel Guest Relations Manager

Dublin,Ireland
Reviewed 29 July 2015

Stayed here for a family wedding. Parking is TIGHT ...tightest I've seen. Even though we arrived well after the agreed arrival time our room wasn't ready and we agreed to leave our bags behind reception who assured us that they would be waiting for us in our room when we returned . Hmmmm...well ...they were half correct...on returning hours later...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HappyIrishGolfer
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HappyIrishGolfer Thank you for your review, we are pleased you found the staff to be friendly and Derry a nice place to spend a night, we hope you weren't inconvenienced too much by the time your room was ready, it was a particularly busy check out day with some not leaving quite on schedule beyond our control. We do...

Dublin
Reviewed 27 July 2015

Just back from a wonderful week in the City Hotel in Derry. Could not say enough about our stay food was fantastic room was great and the staff were amazing, we were especially looked after by Thomas at dinner every night so thanks we will be back again for Sure.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sally K
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sally K Thank you for your review, “Fantastic week in Derry”, We are happy to be of service. I'll be sure to pass your thanks on to Thomas in the restaurant. We look forward to your next visit. Yours sincerely Conor Friel Guest Relations Manager

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2015 via mobile

Just love this hotel. Staff are ever so friendly and can't do enough for you! Special mention to our wee waitress Maeve. We were able to book the summer sizzler deal....bed breakfast and 4 course evening meal for £109! The food is amazing! There was a 2 piece band on in the hotel lobby....they weren't to our taste but the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jomca
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jomca Thank you for your review, and for your continued support and kind words, I'll be sure to pass your thanks on to Meave in the restaurant. We look forward to your next visit. Yours sincerely Conor Friel Guest Relations Manager

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2015

Rooms were lovely with great facilities. Very comfortable and some has great views of the River Foyle and the Peace bridge. Breakfasts were mongst the best i have ever had, choice was great and the standard was excellent. It is a great hotel for people watching, busy and bustling at all times of the day. However as a party we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 451pamc
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 451pamc Thank you for your review, we hope you enjoyed some success during the Foyle Cup. We do try to accommodate all guest requests in relation to room allocation of groups together whenever possible, I trust you understand that we have a limited number of "Family Rooms" per floor and therefore if all rooms required are of the same...

Cumbria
Reviewed 25 July 2015

Lovely hotel, very friendly staff, gorgeous food and brilliant with my gluten free diet. Nice pool. Wasn't prepared for the compulsory swimming cap thing but we had a lovely stay. Central and busy with lots on the doorstep.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JockBCumbria
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JockBCumbria Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed the location and staff, we cater for all dietary needs and pleased we were able to help on this occasion. Yours sincerely Conor Friel Guest Relations Manager

Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 July 2015

We stayed here Tuesday as part of our C.I.E. tour. Tea and coffee were available in the lobby upon arrival. We could grab a cup at our leisure since it was self serve. The decor was dated but that's understandable given the area has been economically depressed. Our room was clean, spacious, and had a nice view of the river....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicole H
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nicole H Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us during your tour with CIE, we trust the rest of your travels were as successful. Yours sincerely Conor Friel Guest Relations Manager

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 23 July 2015

We stayed two nights at this hotel while in Londonderry. The hotel is in dire need of an upgrade. The furniture was cracked and peeling. Bathroom was alright but could have been cleaner. There was a wedding each night of our stay. Our room was about three floors above the venue which made it very loud with the band and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kathy K
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kathy K Thank you for your review, we apologise if any noise intrusion affected your stay, we try to ensure this does not happen through management of room allocation as you state, we do hope it will not dissuade you from making a return visit so that you may experience our true high levels of service. Yours sincerely Conor...

Ireland
Reviewed 22 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed over last Friday night for our aniversary, great room, fabulous meal, breakfast and 'craic' at the bar. Band in the bar was very good and the pool steam room and jacuzzi are excellent. Will definitely be staying over again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hotel_Sampler
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hotel_Sampler Thank you for your review, we appreciate the lovely review and the biggest compliment of all - a returning customer, we thank you for your continued business and support, especially from such a prolific traveller and top reviewer. Yours sincerely Conor Friel Guest Relations Manager

Seaforth, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed 21 July 2015

Reception was busy as they had a large number of international cricketers staying with them but the soon got to us, check in was painless and very efficient, they had our bags sent up to our room, chatted about the town and sights and offered to book a table for us too. the room was first class, clean, well laid...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tony M Thank you for your review, we especially like the title of your review, we are proud to be of service and hope you make a return visit soon. Yours sincerely Conor Friel Guest Relations Manager

741 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (443)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (96)
Viewed
Bathroom (34)
Viewed
View from Room (41)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (196)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (269)
Viewed
Amenities (54)
Viewed
Junior Suite (26)
Viewed
Pool (20)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Single Family Room (85)
Viewed
Superior Room (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.4 km away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.5 km away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
504 reviews
2.2 km away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 11 in Derry
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
1.8 km away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
2.8 km away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 11 in Derry
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Contemporary hotel located on the bend of River Foyle, 200 yards from Guildhall - Many rooms overlook these points of interest. ... more   less 

Additional Information about City Hotel

Address: Queens Quay, Derry BT48 7AS, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Price Range: ₹ 6,917 - ₹ 14,286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Derry
#5 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#6 Business Hotel in Derry
#7 Family Hotel in Derry
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from City Hotel staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago
3 months ago
County Tyrone, United Kingdom

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from City Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for peace bridge view”
LLCanadianGirl, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“River View”
123jonl, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Room 301 for size and space”
Misskia10, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“Floor 7 is rather special”
Leamaguire, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view. Some rooms have a great view - maybe ask for a view of the "Peace Bridge"!”
hawthornslaura, 2 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Cancelon
US$ 164* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 174
PricelineUS$ 174
Expedia.com
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates