We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Enniskeen Country House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newcastle
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Enniskeen Country House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

192 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Enniskeen Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 190: English reviews
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Stayed one night to attend an evening wedding function in Newcastle. Booked online and opted for an executive room which promised panoramic views. The views didn't disappoint, however the room was not what I would consider executive standard, considering the size and very traditional furnishings. The bed was very comfortable and both slept extremely well. Shower was very disappointing and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank taylorvernon34
Eileen J, Front Office Manager at Enniskeen Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write of your recent experience at Enniskeen Country House Hotel. We are sorry that we were unable to meet with your expectation in terms of furnishings and shower power. Please be assured that we have taken note of the points you have highlighted. We will use your constructive comments as part...

Broughshane, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2016

I was looking forward to visiting this hotel with my husband for one night while our children were away. According to the hotel website their Oak Restaurant is "one of the finest in County Down" and their Deluxe double room which we booked had "warm furnishings and luxurious textiles". I certainly didn't expect a 5 star hotel but what we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Slemish106
Eileen J, Front Office Manager at Enniskeen Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed description of your views of Enniskeen Country House Hotel. I am very sorry that we were unable to meet with your expectations in terms of product and decor. I refer to the old maxim: In matters of taste, there can be no disputes. The entire team are...

Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2016

Just returned from 3 lovely days of great food, quiet atmosphere and spectacular views at the Enniskeen Hotel. Breakfast is excellent - fresh fruit, cereals, sausage, bacon, eggs and all the trimmings served to your table - and everything piping hot. No scrambling at a buffet for a lukewarm breakfast here! Lots of tea and coffee, homemade bread and homemade...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank violets88
Eileen J, Front Office Manager at Enniskeen Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind compliments following your recent visit to Enniskeen Country House Hotel. It was our pleasure to welcome you. It is great to know that you enjoyed a relaxing break in our hotel. We appreciate your high recommendations and look forward to welcoming you on many return visits. Kind Regards Eileen and Team

England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2016

This is a very traditional hotel set in a beautiful situation at the edge of the Mourne Mountains. The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. The staff were very friendly and attentive. The breakfast was lovely with a traditional Ulster Fry and homemade wheaten bread. I would definitely recommend this hotel and wouldn't stay anywhere else when visiting Newcastle again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eatongirl
Banbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2016

we had a beautiful meal in this lovely quaint hotel. The staff very friendly and the views are stunning of the mourne mountains. They also offer afternoon tea, which has to be booked in advanced. so will have to go back to try this out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brendalenaderg
Reviewed 14 July 2016

Absolutely beautiful property. Room was clean, spacious and bathroom updated. Great location to town and the breakfast service was wonderful. While we only stayed one night as we began our journey thru Northern Ireland, we would have gladly stayed here longer!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jen P
Eileen J, Front Office Manager at Enniskeen Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write of your recent experience at Enniskeen Country House Hotel. We really do appreciate your positive feedback , we of course share it with the team, happy customers make happy work force! Looking forward to welcoming you on your return. Kind Regards Eileen and Team

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

A delightful dinner in a lovely setting. We enjoyed a drink in the bar before our meal, and had great views of the Mournes during our visit. I particularly enjoyed the lamb shank and the pavlova (and my boyfriend thought the scampi was very good).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank desigoodall
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Stayed with family 1 night last week as part of a walk up Donard. The service was excellent. I haven't given it full marks as the rooms were a bit dated and the bathroom was a bit grubby with very noisy plumbing. Dinner was good as was breakfast. The hotel was very quiet though. It's about a 20 minute walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ceclowry
Reviewed 13 June 2016

Excellent accommodation. Very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast very good. wonderful views. Would highly recommend. was ideal for visiting Downpatrick and Belfast for the Titanic Experience. The two bedrooms we occupied were very good an d sitting out on the terrace in the evening was a great pleasure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrick R
Portadown
Reviewed 10 June 2016

This stunning hotel is set just outside Newcastle and is one of my favourite hotels. From the moment you drive in,the surroundings are fabulous with views of the Mournes. My daughter and I had "High Tea" tonight, Kiara had the gammon and I had a steak both cooked to perfection, so tasty and served with tea, bread and butter. Eileen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arlenemcclelland

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
1.4 km away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
114 reviews
0.8 km away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#6 of 16 in Newcastle
144 reviews
29.5 km away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.5 km away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
26.6 km away
Mourne Country Hotel
37.0 km away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enniskeen Country House hotel; a mountainside hideaway, this family-run hotel rests in the lush Shimna Valley just outside Newcastle Co Down; Explore the hotels stunning 12 acre estate and winding woodland trail down to the Shimna river; And enjoy the striking views over Northern Ireland's highest mountain Slieve Donard and the Irish Sea. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Enniskeen Country House Hotel

Address: 98 Bryansford Road, Newcastle BT33 0LF, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Price Range: ₹ 4,704 - ₹ 10,233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Enniskeen Country House Hotel Newcastle, Northern Ireland
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Newcastle
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Enniskeen Country House Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Antrim, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Belfast, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Enniskeen Country House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room with views of the Mournes.”
MarkCarrick, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Balcony bedroom costs 20 pounds extra but worth it for views of mountains”
762oliverh, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you're not in Room 11”
Slemish106, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“this hotel is set in its own grounds. did not stay in the hotel, but I was I would opt for a room overlooking the mountains,”
brendalenaderg, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Probably a room overlooking the mountains”
ceclowry, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5