We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Denvir's Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Denvir\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

102 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 100: English reviews
Start your review of Denvir's Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here with friends and found nothing but a pleasant service, especially from a staff member named Aoibheann who always made sure we had everything we needed with a pleasant and friendly service. Our room was very clean, very homely and looked exactly like the pictures. Will definitely go here again! 5/5 for service, food, the bar, staff and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yasmine H
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Yasmine, Thank you very much for such a positive review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will certainly make Aoibheann aware of your kind comments. Hopefully we'll see you again soon. Chris

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The whole place does not compare to the online appearance . The general feel is that its dirty and not run well with cobwebs and dust everywhere. The signage is terrible as well as you tend to miss the man bar entry and walk around as it looks like a broom cupboard door. The staff are friendly but the whole...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fatherted1745
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this review

Paul, I know you were disappointed with the room you were allocated, but I did offer you the choice of two other rooms which you declined, and I did repay you in full even though you had paid Booking.com and not us. I had to phone them on your behalf to make this happen even though there was no necessity...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Was in for food, no reservation so thought it would be a no go. Daryl was very accommodating with a table as it was busy. 1st class service from Daryl and the food was great. Steak cooked to perfection. Even my 2 year old son loved the food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _armstrongmufc
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you armstrongmufc, We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and we would have expected no more from Daryl. Our staff always try to please. Hopefully we'll see you again soon, especially since you're a MUFC supporter! Can't get enough of those. We'll make sure Daryl is aware of your kind comments. Kind Regards Chris

Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

What can you say about this property. Alot of history. Very comfortable rooms, food was good and staff very accommodating and friendly. Only reason I didn't go to Excellent on the ratings. Was for 1 reason i had to book 2 rooms for 2 adults and 3 children, now I didn't mind that until I got there to find out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gavin R
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Gavin, Let me answer the negative first. I note you say that one room would have been more than adequate for your full family, but to be honest, we think it would be a bit cramped. Hence the reason for two rooms, we wanted you to be comfortable, and as you also say, we did give you a good...

Pelham, Alabama
Reviewed 24 September 2016

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at Denvir's. We were staying in Downpatrick due to its proximity to Castle Ward and the Game of Thrones experience there. They have done a nice job of renovating the rooms, and the food at the restaurant was very good. I highly recommend the pancakes and caramel sauce for breakfast...although I think my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aaron W
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Aaron, We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope we see you again soon. Good luck with the pancakes in the meantime! Kind Regards Chris

Aberdeen (Scotland)
Reviewed 11 September 2016

We stopped off here for an overnight stay while on a cycling trip. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had an issue with one of our rooms being a double instead of a twin (it was all that was available when we booked) but the staff managed to swap us over with a twin room which was excellent. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hayzer
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Hayzer, Thank you for the review. We're actually not a Hotel, although we can't get Trip Advisor to accept this. We're a Coaching Inn dating from 1642 and licensed as a Guest House. Not that this is important, but just to explain. I'm really sorry that the television was on so loud. Normally the television isn't on in the...

Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2016

We had a drink and evening meal here on a brief visit to Downpatrick. What a great building - would have loved to have seen a bit more, but all we saw was the splendid lounge bar. Very friendly staff, who managed not to be too offended when we failed to finish our typically Northern Irish vast portions. (Did nouvelle...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sanz1820
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Sanz, We are so delighted you enjoyed your visit to Denvir's but also really disappointed now that you didn't get to see around. You really must come back and, when you do, we'll make a point of showing you round and filling you in on some of the local myths and legends. Kind Regards Chris

Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2016

amazing food at old school prices.duck dish was as good as ive had nice crispy skin on a bed of sauted wild mushrooms.roast beef dinner with all the trimings for £8.95 cant beat it.lovely old fashioned bar/restraint with great good value food and good selection of drinks.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 86liam
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Liam, Thank you for leaving such a kind review. We're delighted you enjoy Denvir's and hopefully we'll see you again soon. Kind Regards Chris

Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

All too often locals are reluctant to talk up their hometown or what it has to offer. I am not without guilt in this regard. However, I frequent Denvir's as a regular and a local to enjoy the warm ambience, the Guinness and the craic with friends & family frequently. This place is steeped in history and folklore from times...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this review

Paul, You're too kind. Thank you very much for the kind comments, I will make sure the team see them. You are always very welcome in Denvir's as you know; you and all your family and friends. Hopefully you'll all continue to enjoy Denvir's for many years to come. We will certainly do all we can to try and make...

Sixmilebridge, Ireland
Reviewed 1 August 2016

I stayed one night here. I liked the atmosphere, it was a little old world and very down to earth. The food and service were both excellent. The rooms are simple but clean and comfortable. The hotel is in an excellent location in the centre of the town, close to everything. Parking seems to be an issue, but I found...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SixmilebridgeMan
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave this review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Denvir's. You are correct in that we are in the centre of the town and therefore parking is difficult, but, as you say, parking is available just up the hill from us outside the museum, and you do get...

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downpatrick
16.9 km away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
115 reviews
16.9 km away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#6 of 16 in Newcastle
144 reviews
12.3 km away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.2 km away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
0.8 km away
Number Nine Bed and Breakfast
Number Nine Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 10 in Downpatrick
87 reviews
16.6 km away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A country home away from home! Established in 1642, Denvir's Hotel is steeped in history and is the perfect setting for a relaxing break. Offering old world charm in the heart of Downpatrick, Denvir's has a long tradition of sheltering travellers and will endeavour to ensure that your stay will be a memorable one. Now part of the award winning Botanic Inns group, Denvir’s is the oldest surviving coaching inn in Ireland and is now a grade ‘A’ listed building. The building itself has been extensively and sympathetically renovated while retaining its original character. With six attractive and beautifully restored bedrooms, a restaurant, lounge and snug bars as well as two function rooms for hire; there are many reasons to visit Denvir’s. All of Downpatrick's best historical attractions are located on the same road as Denvirs. St Patricks Grave, The Catherdral and the Gaol are all located on English Street. So we're in the heart of the action! We look forward to welcoming you to Denvir's Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Denvir's Hotel

Address: 14-16 English Street, Downpatrick BT30 6AB, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Downpatrick
Price Range: ₹ 5,468 - ₹ 6,368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Denvir's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denvirs Hotel Downpatrick
Denvir's Hotel Downpatrick, Northern Ireland - County Down
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Denvir's Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I stayed in room number 2. Double bed and single. Nicely furnished and very cosy.”
rugbyref13, 13 Dec 2014 | Read review
“Be aware that they do have live music on some weekends, so it could potentially be noisy if you are directly above.”
FizzM0, 17 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Room 6 is farthest away from the bar”
ceclowry, 8 May 2013 | Read review
“If you are in the historic town to visit St.Patrick's grave, you'll pass the Hotel on the street heading towards the church yard. So drop in and sample the fare. The lunch is certainly value and the quality isn't compromised. Try the cheese board instead of a sweet desert.”
LeoM751, 8 Apr 2013 | Read review
“We didnt have a choice so we were at the front overlooking the road”
sassyO64, 5 Apr 2013 | Read review
5 of 5