We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Armagh City Hotel

Hotwire.comUS$ 119*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 122*
US$ 119*
US$ 122*
US$ 122*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Armagh City Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

560 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Armagh City Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 552: English reviews
Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2015

Check in friendly and quick. Room was large but not as modern as reception area. Bathroom was fine. Bath had some chips in it but the water was hot and plenty of it. TV Large flatsceen and wifi worked fine. Evening meal was served with a smile and was good. Bed was hard but I selpt well. Could hear some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SteBrizz
Kinross, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2015

This was an enigma of a hotel. Great facilities for business and pleasure. Really good day area with a self service cafe and a really good pub at the back. The pub had big screens for watching football\sports. Then came the disappointingly tired room. Good size, I felt I was sleeping in springs. Bathroom was dirty with black mould around...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thethreecees
BJD75, Manager at Armagh City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed the facilities at the hotel, and for your kind comments regarding our Deli and bar. I can only apologise for the lack of attention to detail in you bathroom, and assure you that steps have been taken to redress this immediately. I...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2015 via mobile

Decided to visit here for some food with teenagers as everywhere else very busy. Found the staff young but very good, efficient and friendly. Good full menu for the whole day and we found it to be fresh and tasty. There was a lot of it too. The price was good. The atmosphere in the place is pleasant, not really...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
BJD75, Manager at Armagh City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your first visit to The Armagh City Hotel, and that our food, service ambience met your expectations, so much that you have now decided to return. We can think of no better compliment to our hotel than that comment. Many thanks. Kind...

Reviewed 27 August 2015 via mobile

Been here a few times for food now, and I've never been disappointed. Steaks here make it into my top 5 ever anywhere. Excellent quality. Sometimes I've found them a little slow after the meals been over to clear the plates, but that's not the biggest deal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire H
BJD75, Manager at Armagh City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Claire Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. Its great to hear you really enjoyed your steak at The Armagh City Hotel. Our Head Chef, John Whyte sources only the best quality local beef, and ensures it is adequately aged and prepared so that you enjoy it at its very best. We hope to see you...

Papamoa, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 August 2015

We stayed in this hotel for a night while looking up family heritage in the area, we found the hotel great for parking and in a good location where we could walk to everything. The rooms were clean and of average comfort but the service from the front girls at the desk was fantastic which really adds to a hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eddiefredie
BJD75, Manager at Armagh City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Graham Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed our hotel, and the friendliness of our great team at reception. I do apologise for the waiting staff at breakfast not delivering the same level of friendliness and exuberance, and we hope to welcome you back to the Armagh City Hotel next...

Drogheda, Ireland
Reviewed 12 August 2015

From All @ Bagatelle .........A belated Massive " Thank you " to the Night staff @ Armagh City Hotel for helping ous out , while waiting ( & Waiting & Waiting !! ) on AA Roadside assist a few monhts ago . Thanks for the coffee & sandwiches , & most of all for letting ous in from the rain...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bagatelle2015
BJD75, Manager at Armagh City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bagatelle Nothing is ever a bother with you guys! Glad we could be of assistance! Hope to see you all again soon. Kind Regards Barry Donaghy Operations Manager

N, Ireland
Reviewed 11 August 2015

Stayed here for a relaxing long weekend & enjoyed every part of it, from the magnificent breakfast buffet to the beautiful, comfy, quiet, clean rooms! All staff are so friendly & helpful, always willing to please, great service guys n gals!! <3 (Y) The pool was a great bonus to the young teens we had with us, although they griped...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aly965
BJD75, Manager at Armagh City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ali Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I am thrilled that you enjoyed each and every aspect of our hotel, in particular "All staff are so friendly & helpful, always willing to please, great service guys n gals!!" I will pass on your comments to our team, who strive to evoke in our customers your...

Newry
Reviewed 10 August 2015

Had an overnight stay for the Blues Festival - great hotel - very welcoming the receptionist was friendly and informative about all going on in the hotel and times etc. The room was big and very comfortable with a lovely bed, the room was very clean. Great sleep, very quite no noise. Had a meal in the bar in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roonski
BJD75, Manager at Armagh City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Roonski Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I am extemely glad that you enjoyed each and every aspect of our hotel, from check in, through to check out, and thank you so much for your kind comments regarding the friendliness of our staff. We hope to welcome you back to The Armagh City Hotel in...

Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2015 via mobile

Normal city centre hotel. Generally very clean and pleasant. Only minor criticisms - Ran out of newspapers, when UK newspapers are supplied on 'sale or return'. - Incorrect room directions signage. Otherwise very adequate.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michaelinderry
BJD75, Manager at Armagh City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michael Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I apologise for the hotel running out of newspapers on your visit, and hope that the positives of the hotel, as you point out, ensure a return visit, maybe at the next Blues Festival? Kind Regards Barry Donaghy Operations Manager

Reviewed 8 August 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights and cannot fault the accomodation and breakfast. I had 2 excellent nights sleep and found the location brilliant for my business purposes in Portadown. I had been worried that my negative experience with the dry cleaning service would ruin the whole stay. I entrusted my faith in the "same day" dry cleaning service only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dean V
BJD75, Manager at Armagh City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dean Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I apologise for the issue with your dry cleaning, and I hope that the positives you point out regarding our service and facilities ensure a return visit to The Armagh City Hotel. Kind Regards Barry Donaghy Operations Manager

79 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Armagh
22.6 km away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
11.6 km away
Charlemont House
Charlemont House
#1 of 6 in Dungannon
31 reviews
27.6 km away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.1 km away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#2 of 8 in Dundalk
630 reviews
15.8 km away
Castle Leslie Estate
Castle Leslie Estate
#1 of 1 in Glaslough
1,408 reviews
9.3 km away
Dundrum House
Dundrum House
#1 of 14 in Armagh
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
No photo provided
Armagh City hotel
Cuisines: British, Bar, Pub
Friary Restaurant
Friary Restaurant
Cuisines: Irish, British, European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Armagh City Hotel

Address: 2 Friary Road, Armagh BT60 4FR, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Armagh > Armagh
Price Range: ₹ 6,787 - ₹ 9,373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Armagh City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Armagh City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armagh City Hotel Northern Ireland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Armagh City Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Armagh City Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“i was in room 127 and i had a fab view of Armagh Rugby Club an Pitch if there had a being a game on it was ideal view to sit and watch”
_mary_gormley58, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The rooms to the rear of the hotel have less traffic noise and a good view of the rugby pitches”
grumpy-wench, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Large doubles are lovely.”
davidbO9753WU, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“go and enjoy one of the many nights of entertainment scheduled most nights”
derekf37, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Restaurant only open for dinner from Thursday - Sunday. Outside these days you need to eat in the bar area (not a problem btw).”
JGSF5, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotwire.com
US$ 119* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 122
Expedia.comUS$ 122
TripAdvisorUS$ 119
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates