We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Cefn Goleu Three Crosses, Swansea SA4 3HS Wales
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline$108
Vio.com$108
eDreams$108
Agoda.com$109
Etrip$108
StayForLong
View all 8 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (123)
Room & Suite (39)
Dining (16)

About

#14 of 24 hotels in Swansea
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Gower Golf Club occupies a commanding location high above the Loughor Estuary on the North side of Gower Peninsula. Our rooms are located in 2 traditional stone barns and while we have no formal reception area,you can be assured a warm welcome by all our staff. We welcome golfers holidaymakers walkers and cyclists and business travellers.We take pride in our undisturbed sleep,comfortable beds and generous showers. We are ideally located for access to M4, Swansea City Centre, Gower Peninsula, Round Wales Cycle Path and the local railway station is just 5 minutes away
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Free breakfast
Golf course
Hiking
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Public wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
420Reviews4Q+A78Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 136
  • 118
  • 73
  • 48
  • 45
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Steve wrote a review Nov 2022
The Royal Town of Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom4 contributions
The lack of breakfast was only one of the issues with our stay. We had pre booked an evening meal for the day of our arrival, but when we got there the manager stated that he was on his own and would not be able to cook an evening meal for us, and also that his daughter was ‘playing up’ and he had to close the bar at 8.15 pm. We therefore had to get a taxi to the nearest town and buy a meal at a restaurant. When we returned to the hotel later we were unable to order drinks as the bar had remained shut. The following morning there was no one there to provide breakfast as the manager had left to take his daughter to school and there was no one else available. We could not wait for him to return after 09.15 when we had to leave as we were going to a wedding. The room we stayed in had a dirty bathroom, and the tv did not work. Overall the day and evening were completely spoilt by the service and accommodation. In total we had to spend £30 in return taxis for our evening meal at a restaurant, £130 for the evening meal in the restaurant for the 4 of us, £40 on the morning for breakfast at a restaurant as the accommodation did no provide one as mentioned, and £6 in cash for a coffee at the accommodation as there were no staff and we had to use the coffee machine. We there spent £206 in total, and if you subtract the £80 that we would have paid for the evening meals had there been one, we are still £126 out of pocket. We are therefore not willing to accept £75 refund that was offered as we want a full refund for what has been a terrible stay. When I spoke to the manager to discuss the issues before I contacted yourselves he said ‘I don’t give a damn’ and ‘I’ve had bad reviews before and I don’t care’
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: I would advise never to book this accommodation under any circumstances.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Adrian Richards, Owner at The Gower Golf Club
Responded 21 Nov 2022
I did inform you that i had an issue at breakfast time early that morning. You said you didnt know who sent that...I dont know of anyone else who was discussing breakfast for that morning! Why didnt you say you had dinner booked that night! Our correspondence says please book ahead to ensure full service! I would certainly have accommodated you once we saw the booking mistake. As it was i stayed open 2 hours longer than we expected bearing in mind i had made commitments to my family. A meal could have been provided if you had told us it was booked. Thank you for drawing attention to our faults in the bathroom. I accept a combination of holiday catch up and sickness has shown up some few faults. In contrast, i presume the rooms must have been warm,comfortable and clean. The TV is not a chargeable item. Unfortunately we have provided part of the B&B contract and accept that the only time you could make breakfast was in that 30 minute window. I was here both sides of that but accept that you missed breafast. That doesnt entitle you to a freebie. I have offered 50% reduction when breakfast is only 25% of the value so I have been fair in my offer of compensation but you have to pay for what you receive.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steven W wrote a review Nov 2022
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom2 contributions
Booked a 2 night break to start playing golf properly. Really good room, great scenery as well. Unfortunately my partner hurt her back so we had to leave after one night. Adrian was unbelievably accommodating and understanding. We will definitely be booking again👍
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Tricia C wrote a review Oct 2022
3 contributions
Room was good, quiet, not too hot! Bed very comfortable, we had a great nights sleep on both nights. Shower was a bit powerful - but refreshing! Staff were great, good breakfast, great value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sarah L wrote a review Oct 2022
1 helpful vote
honestly wish I didn’t. First the room… Dead midgy flies around the window, cobwebs also around the window, carpet thread bare and stained, dressing table full of stains, spare duvet with no cover also full of stains, bed side tables thick with dust on the inside, door of room was sticking send we had to kick the base to get in whilst pushing the top. The shower room had mould on the ceiling, water was escaping from the seal when having a shower so the floor was wet, the tiles on floor are not slip proof so is very dangerous when wet and I had to clean the shower basin of somebody else’s hair before using it. Although towels were clean when we got there there were no housekeeping that came around to change the dirty towels on our 2nd day. There was no iron, ironing board or hairdryer as like in most places, no information leaflet was provided on who to contact if needed. For our evening meal we were booked in at 7.30pm but as we got there we were told that they didn’t know what time food would be served as there were only 2 people working and they had to wait for the golfers committee meeting to finish before they could start cooking, and it could be 9pm or 11pm depending on when the committee stopped drinking…. Luckily enough the cook said he would have all orders out by 8.15 (there were only 6 of us having a meal so only 6 to cook for on a limited menu…. Breakfast was served between 8am - 10am and when we got there there was very limited cold choice, there was no hot food out and we had to wait again, once the sausages, mushrooms, potatoes, tomatoes and beans were out we were told that if we wanted eggs or bacon then to just ask and they will cook it…. Bacon and eggs should also be out with the rest of the food. The only good thing was that when food was eventually served it was very tasty and no complaints on the quality of the food that was served. Gower Golf club do not make you feel like paying guests, but more like a lodger. The feeling I have for the place is that they really are not interested in having paying guests as a b&b/hotel, we felt pushed aside just because the golfers were having a meeting even though we paid for their service… the staff were friendly and just following orders, but the management of this site is absolutely awful. If anybody is ever thinking of booking a room here I would urge you to look for somewhere else. Don’t be fooled by the scenic views, because it does not compensate for the experience we, and other guests we spoke to during our stay have had. This place could be an absolute gold mine if they put some money and energy into the rooms and hospitality, it’s just a shame that they really don’t care.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Look somewhere else if you want a clean room and good hospitality. This place is a shambles.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Richard A wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
Room excellent, but no information on facilities, dining etc provided. In fact nothing other than the room! Dinner menu limited and, although food OK, plates were cold . Breakfast food good, but again service and facilities limited. Overall needs more professionalism
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mins1975 wrote a review Oct 2022
London, United Kingdom3 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
The photos on the Booking.com website and the ones on the clubs website are a misrepresentation of the reality. The bathroom was tired and dirty. I did not even want to put my bare feet on the floor. The bedroom furniture had stains and dust everywhere. The club breakfast room had bare walls and was cold and there was no one to serve us breakfast and when I asked the owner if we would get breakfast he said he would be back in 10mins. So we were left to wait in a cold, undecorated and dirty room which did not resemble the online photo at all. When he arrived and we asked where all the food was he said he had no staff and was going to make it himself. I said where are all your staff and he said 'you try keeping staff in this area'. I then proceeded to tell him about the problems with the room and he said 'you are preventing me from making breakfast for the guests with your problems'. He said 'we can call it a day and I will not charge you if you don't want breakfast either'. I said that was fine as the man had dirty fingers and the room and kitchen were dirty so I didn't want to eat anything he was preparing. I had already spoken to the other guests and they were all of the same opinion and were shocked by the reality of the club compared to the photos or reviews. The owner clearly stated in front of everyone that he was happy to provide me with a refund.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Do not go there
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ballena49 wrote a review Oct 2022
Bournemouth, United Kingdom50 contributions9 helpful votes
So disappointed. Booked 2 rooms for 4 of us. Room was warm and comfortable but very shabby. We stayed for 6 nights. The room was not serviced at all during our stay, no clean cups, we had to keep requesting milk, tea bags, toilet rolls, shower gel etc, sometimes 2 or 3 times before we received what we needed. Most of the time just one chap trying to do everything. Sometimes we couldn’t find anyone to ask. Breakfast was included but one morning nobody was there to do it, just a note saying taking the kids to school. Had to ask for butter for the toast everyday. No marmalade at all during the whole week no brandy in the bar. No lunchtime menu in the clubhouse. This place has so much potential, but is operating on a shoe string. Needs some maintenance and cleaning. The staff we did meet were very nice and friendly. Would not go back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Wendy W wrote a review Sep 2022
London, United Kingdom7 contributions20 helpful votes
Our room at the Gower Golf Club was spacious with a very comfortable large bed. We ate in the golf club on one of the evenings and had a fantastic three course meal. We would definitely stay at this accommodation again when visiting the area in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Trudie M wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
We stayed in room eight, which to be honest is looking tired and could do with some tender loving care. The television is temperamental, you might get a signal, you might not! The views as have been mentioned are fantastic. The location is a few miles out from the local amenities but it only takes ten to fifteen minutes to get to them. Breakfast was good, albeit when we asked for some marmalade we were told there was one individual pack left and that was that. I couldn’t make it spread over four slices of bread, as there were three of us at the table😟
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: All rooms are close to the first Tee.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
bonniethecat wrote a review Sep 2022
48 contributions27 helpful votes
This hotel should be fabulous. It’s in an enviable position with fabulous views. Sadly it seems on it’s knees. Dinner was surprisingly good. Breakfast was do it yourself. Our room was tired, the bathroom wasn’t clean, the TV didn’t work nor did the WiFi. The manager is incredibly rude. One of the staff said ‘oh, that’s Adrian-he’s like that”
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Adrian Richards, Owner at The Gower Golf Club
Responded 6 Nov 2022
I think you may find he reflects the attitude from the guest! You can see i worked hard to serve quality dinner. Even if it did surprise you! Breakfast must have been acceptable but at the rate you paid, it isnt viable to have multiple staff on. You didnt complain about the bed or the quality of the shower So other than the bathroom apparently wasnt clean the other essentials of your stay must have been ok. As reflected by lots of other stays. Other hotels are available but probably £50.00 more. Not sure if you watch the news about the difficulty of staffing venues? It is well known among even the top hotels. Soorry we were such a disappointment but 1 star?
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$61 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
gower golf club hotel swansea, gower hotel swansea
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesSouth WalesSwansea CountySwansea
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE GOWER GOLF CLUB (Swansea, Wales) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Gower Golf Club
Which popular attractions are close to The Gower Golf Club?
Nearby attractions include Clyne Gardens (6.3 km), Penllergare Valley Woods (6.4 km), and Caswell Bay (7.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Gower Golf Club?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Gower Golf Club?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Gower Golf Club?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Gower Golf Club?
Conveniently located restaurants include Truffle Restaurant, Dario's Ristorante, and Nomad Bar & Kitchen.
Does The Gower Golf Club offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to The Gower Golf Club?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Dylan Thomas Birthplace (7.0 km), Parc le Breos Burial Chamber (6.4 km), and Moriah Calvinistic Methodist Chapel (Presbyterian) (2.9 km).
Is The Gower Golf Club accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.