We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Fountain Inn

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swansea
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
The Fountain Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

41 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 41: English reviews
Start your review of The Fountain Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Called in and had lunch as we were passing, so glad we did. Lunchtime set menu £8.95 for two courses but we chose to eat from the main menu. My husband had the braised beef which was melt in the mouth that was served with home made onion rings, coleslaw and chips. I had a burger, which is always my...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alison D
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I visited the Fountain Inn with my family on Sunday to celebrate a Birthday. We had soup starters which was excellent. We all had a different main course which were outstanding. To finish three of us chose from the dessert menu and one had Lemon Cream pie from the cake display. Staff were attentive and polite. Would highly recommend and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz1427
Pontarddulais, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

Absolutely vile place. The staff are horrendous. Vicky (owners daughter I believe) is rude and stuck up. Will NEVER be going there again. Came here as I thought it would be a good evening but it was just horrific.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maddiejonesx
jasperPontardulais, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

It is quite obvious that your review is fictitious (as well as malicious) due to the simple fact that Victoria hasn't worked at the Fountain for 5 months.

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2017

8 of us ( 4 couples ) had a meal here on a Saturday night leading up to Xmas.we booked for 8.30 and despite being very busy , we were seated at our table at 8.30- an impressive start. All 8 meals were 1st class and where we will definitely come back here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NLD186466
Llangeler, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

Within walking distance of our new home. Delightful again for a birthday celebration. Excellent staff. Decent, well prepared portions. Lovely decor in the dining area. We really could not ask for better.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JG7000
Grantham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2016

On visiting family in Swansea, the restaurant was booked for a Saturday evening for a party of 15 of us ( no small feat ). We had not pre-ordered our meals, but that made no difference. All the meals once ordered arrived at the same time very efficiently with great service. All the meals looked great and well presented, needless...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart M
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2016

We've visited this establishment on a number of occasions and have always been pleased with the experience. The staff are friendly and professional and the food excellent. We shall continue to visit regularly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathrynwheel
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Another lovely meal at The Fountain, one very slight criticism is more veg is needed on a table for 4 people, the portion was very meagre, infact only 2 florets of broccoli between 4, was surprised that when we asked for more veg we were charged for it. The meat, beef and lamb was delicious and this was a decent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kim h
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

The garden area was an amazing inviting area. It was clean with a comforting feel. The entrance and decor were just beautiful; we had a warm welcome. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Our menu was full of delighting food which made choosing a meal a challenge. We both chose the Ribeye steak with the garlic prawns (surf and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vixjenx
Basingstoke
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

Went here last weekend and was really looking forward to it, to be horribly disappointed! The bread basket with balsamic vinegar dip and oil was massively over priced for the 4 "mothers pride basic type" rolls which had clearly been mircowaved to heat up.... So didn't start off great! The fountain burger was of a cheap basic standard which resembled...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Me_Him2773

13 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swansea hotels
9.3 km away
Premier Inn Swansea North Hotel
9.9 km away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#13 of 22 in Swansea
687 reviews
11.7 km away
Devon View Guest House
Devon View Guest House
#32 of 40 in Swansea
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
The Railway Inn
The Railway Inn
#2 of 3 in Penclawdd
51 reviews
15.4 km away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
152 reviews
12.0 km away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 22 in Swansea
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Recently opened after an extensive reservation program providing a pub and popular al a carte restaurant with all new friendly staff and great atmosphere. A mix of single and double rooms with full English breakfast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Fountain Inn

Address: 111 Bolgoed Road | Pontarddulais, Swansea SA4 8JP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Fountain Inn Swansea, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Fountain Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Fountain Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If very busy , car park is tight and suggest you park roadside”
NLD186466, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Never stayed.”
Dodie2002, 29 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Well, I stayed in Room 3, which is situated at the rear, nice and quiet and handy for the car park if you have luggage to carry.”
peterbY3778WT, 25 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Top floor at the back”
ianmU9731JL, 20 May 2015 | Read review
“All the rooms are good we were in 1.2 and 3 all very similar at the rear of the building.”
avveros, 9 Mar 2014 | Read review
5 of 5