We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel ibis budget Newport

Show Prices
#11 of 19 Hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel ibis budget Newport
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

506 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 484: English reviews
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Hadn't stayed in an ibis Budget hotel before but was pleasantly surprised. Room was clean and functional with own shower and toilet. Bed was comfortable. There was a selection of snacks and drinks available downstairs and all the staff were very helpful and accommodating of me and my dogs. Would definitely book again if I am called to Newport again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sophiejwallace
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and my boyfriend came to stay at ibis for a couple of nights as we were up here watching a gig. We were welcomed and given our key for the room. Got to the room which was on the forth floor it was basic and clean. There was no kettle but we got one from the recepetion. The first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank x_Amethyst_x
ibisbudgetNewport, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Newport, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis budget Newport. We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every day. Thank you for your...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stay here quite often. Go to watch Welsh rugby/football. Very cheap. Good nights sleep. Could save literally £100 by staying here instead of Cardiff. £4 in a taxi from the train station. Thanks very much

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
ibisbudgetNewport, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Newport, responded to this review

Dear Lisa B, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis budget Newport. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our...

England
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in this hotel because Cardiff was booked out. Just our luck. For a start, £79.00 room only.... Our room overlooked the motorway. You would have thought that in their wisdom Ibis would have recognised that the rooms that overlooked the motorway might be subject to a little bit of road noise. Only to the extent of fitting some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mmaid
ibisbudgetNewport, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Newport, responded to this review

Dear mmaid, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis budget Newport. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Ibis Budget, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us....

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When we arrived we were given room 401. On entering the room it was very cold and noisy, we soon found that the window seal was missing leaving a gap all around the window. We complained to the staff and after initially being told they were full, we were after much complaining given an alternative room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David W
ibisbudgetNewport, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Newport, responded to this review

Dear David W, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis budget Newport. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Ibis Budget, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to...

Borth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

used this hotel as a stop over for an early morning flight from Bristol. in fairness only spent 8 hrs here. good windows keep out noise of motorway, beds hard and comfortable, showers in room are spacious and good hot water. a little bemused by the extra £5 paid at reception for no apparent reason that made it £42 a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank seewlh
ibisbudgetNewport, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Newport, responded to this review

Dear seewlh, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis budget Newport. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services....

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked a couple of last minute rooms for two nights as the hotel was handy to the M4 and close to Cardiff (where all the cheaper rooms had sold out). The rooms were clean but exceptionally basic, breakfast (continental) was fine. There was some noise from the traffic on the M4 which passes within 50m of the hotel Certainly value...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LaCitron
ibisbudgetNewport, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Newport, responded to this review

Dear LaCitron, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis budget Newport. Ibis Budget is the smart, modern and budget-friendly hotel offering a limited service for customers looking for a no-frills accommodation. Our award winning “cocoon rooms” are designed to maximise the limited space in an ergonomic setting. The atmosphere is distinctly cozy, with soft, relaxing...

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

I didn't even get through the front door I simply rang up to enquire about a twin room for the night and was greeted by a horrible man on reception who was very rude answered the phone with a grumpy hello like I'd just woke him up I asked about a room to which I got a no fully booked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bullaaaa
ibisbudgetNewport, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Newport, responded to this review

Dear bullaaa, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis budget Newport. However we did explain to you that, your first call was to a different number than the second time, and the service you have experienced was not from Ibis Newport. At Ibis Budget, we strive to provide a superior service experience...

Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Stay here regularly. Rooms basic but clean. Great shower. Free wi-fi. Great for the price. Only 20 mins walk into city centre.Rooms quite even being next to M4. Staff always friendly and helpful. TV could be better.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 823ianl
ibisbudgetNewport, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Newport, responded to this review

Dear 823ianl, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis budget Newport. We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every day. Thank you for your...

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

You literally pay for what you get. And all we needed was somewhere to get out head down. Cheap and cheerful. But this had no reflection on the staff, they were all very helpful, attentive and friendly. Would defo book with ibis again whAt ever city I travelled to and would recommend to friends and family.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mazimoo83
ibisbudgetNewport, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Newport, responded to this review

Dear mazimoo83,, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis budget Newport. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services....

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
5.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
1.6 km away
The Queens Hotel, Newport
5.7 km away
Premier Inn Newport Wales (M4, J24) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
5.3 km away
Holiday Inn Newport
Holiday Inn Newport
#10 of 19 in Newport
473 reviews
1.7 km away
Gateway Hotel
Gateway Hotel
#16 of 19 in Newport
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Newport

Address: 164 Malpas Road, Newport NP20 5PP, Wales (Formerly Etap Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Newport
Price Range: ₹ 1,796 - ₹ 4,446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Newport 2*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ibis Budget Newport Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel ibis budget Newport staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Brighton, Sussex, England
6 months ago
Wisbech, United Kingdom
3 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel ibis budget Newport staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we stayed on 2nd floor opposite residential homes, very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles seewlh, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“my room at the rear was quiet...on 2nd floor”
 of 5 bubbles Bonio, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a north wing room further from the motorway?”
  • view of M4 & Newport tunnel entrance from room, feeling close to traffic
  • that's the area which became a puddle - lucky I put my bag by the window
  • basic, but OK
 of 5 bubbles Daf1, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Find a different hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles moorem99, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Good for a budget stay”
 of 5 bubbles Nuttytartlet16, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay