We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Jolyon's Boutique Hotel

Show Prices
#27 of 75 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Jolyon\\
Jolyon's Boutique Hotel
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

339 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Jolyon's Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 332: English reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

A rare combination of sophisticated antique rooms and modern luxurious bathrooms. Each room with its own signature feature would be a pleasure to stay in. Friendly, generous and helpful managers. Recommended and look forward to staying again. Thanks

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cands22
Rome, Italy
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Ideally situated in Cardiff Bay. We received a very warm welcome from Jolyon on our arrival. He even lent us an umbrella as we had come ill equipped for the South Wales climate. We had a comfortable room with a generously proportioned en suite. Breakfasts were fantastic - very thoughtfully prepared and presented. Staff were friendly and helpful. Thank you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paulo508
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2016

I picked this hotel (its really more of a B&B) for it's closeness to the WMC and it really is super close. Receptionist was super friendly, room was decent size and in good condition although the bedside tables need some tlc. Free wifi, tea, biscuits and water in the room However - the room (No 4) had a corner bath...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rolly12
jolyons, Owner at Jolyon's Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon thank you for your comments I totally agree with what you have said. We are now in the process of a refurb through the hotel from rooms to our guest lounge. We hope to be putting in a honesty bar I would be delighted to offer you a drink when you stay next time I can also show...

Dublin
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

A group if us stayed here on a business trip booked on the understanding that this was a 4-star hotel. In reality, it is a 7 bedroom B&B. It is however in a great location, close to all the restaurants and bars of Cardiff Bay. We arrived at 12pm and couldn't get in! There is no reception and no response...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Paul_41LD
Carl J, General Manager at Jolyon's Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul_41LD, Thank you very much for your review. It is with great regret and disappointment that at this time you did not experience our usual high standards. Rest assured I have taken on board your comments and where possible we will endeavour to improve. We don't advertise the hotel to be a 4* property, however we run the hotel...

Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

We saw Jolyon's online and thought that it looked lovely and worth spending a couple of quid more than we needed to if staying at a premier/ibis/travel lodge. First impressions weren't great. The hotel looks a bit tired on the outside and that follows into the interior. The photos online look lovely, but in reality the room needed some tlc....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Matt C
Carl J, General Manager at Jolyon's Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Matt C, Thank you very much for your feed back regarding your recent stay. I'm happy to read you had a comfortable nights sleep, and a nice soak in the bath. Regarding maintenance I have taken on board your comment and where possible changes will be made. I do hope to see you return soon. Kindest regards, Carl Davies...

Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

Although the room was very spacious I was very disappointed that the room wasn't clean. There was dust everywhere and I found hair all over the bed😷 if you're using a sat nav to get to it then good luck, it takes you the wrong way and parking is so expensive! I definitely would not recommend this place

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Megan C
Carl J, General Manager at Jolyon's Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Megan C, Thank you for sharing your feed back regarding your recent stay, its quite alarming to read of your comments our rooms are usually cleaned and checked to the highest possible standards, however I apologise that at this time you didn't experience this. I have shared your comments with our House Manager and where possible improvements will be...

South East England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Stayed in this hotel for one night whilst visiting Cardiff for the weekend and couldn't recommend the hotel enough. We stayed in room six which was a very good size and a very spacious bathroom and it also has it's own private veranda which was a lovely little touch to be able to sit out on and watch the world...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank em_246
Carl J, General Manager at Jolyon's Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear em_246, Thank you very much for such a lovely review. Jonathan is thrilled of your comments. Its lovely to see that you had an all round good experience and both Jonathan and I do hope to see you return soon. Kind regards, Carl Davies General Manager

Wales UK
Reviewed 11 September 2016

Wasn't entirely certain where the hotel was so followed my map app! On leaving the train station it is a 5 min walk only to the hotel. App took me one route but the easiest is to aim for the Millenium Centre and the hotel is directly opposite! Ideal if you are either going to the Centre or on business...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Commz
Carl J, General Manager at Jolyon's Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Commz, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. I do hope to see you return very soon. With kind regards, Carl Davies General Manager

Ahmedabad, India
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Stayed on 22-08-16 in suit room. Checkin was friendly and prompt. She explained all ammenities and the suit very nicely. The room was well appointed, cozy and good in size. Bed was very comfortable.Most admirable things were the staff and receiptionist. Overall its really a boutique hotel. Wish them a good luck.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CNJ-007
Carl J, General Manager at Jolyon's Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear chetanmaruti, Thank you very much for your review, I am thrilled you had a Memorable stay with us, and thank you for the good luck wishes. Kindest regards, Carl Davies General Manager

england
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

This is 1/2 hotels in same area under same name. Do check if you are booking the converted unmanned guest house or the staffed reception. We stayed here at the boutique one where a reception is manned between certain times and outside of this you are 'buzzed in'.despite some initial confusion on arrival with this , Ryan (FABmanager) arrived to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fluffycloud9
Carl J, General Manager at Jolyon's Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear fluffycloud9, Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry that you didn't receive one of our pre arrival call or emails, rest assured we have taken on board your comments to ensure this doesn't happen again. I am thrilled to read that Ryan and Jonathan ensured you were looked after well. I do hope to see you...

169 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (95)
Viewed
Double Brass Room (27)
Viewed
Double Oak Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (12)
Viewed
Twin Room (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.6 km away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.5 km away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 75 in Cardiff
3,397 reviews
0.3 km away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
1.4 km away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
10.1 km away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#3 of 75 in Cardiff
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This elegantly restored Georgian town house is situated in the oldest terrace in Cardiff Bay, opposite the millenium centre. We offer superb luxury accommodation, comprising of six lavishly furninshed, luxury bedrooms. Facilities include king-sized beds, Wi-fi facilities, free-to-view television, beverages, some with views of Cardiff Bay. Sumptuous en-suite bathrooms, include one with a whirlpool bath and one with a wet room appointed to the highest standards, with extra large fluffy towels, bathrobes and toiletries.Delicious full welsh breakfasts or a generous seasonal buffet are served in our Bar Cwtch. Relaxed days can be spent with a coffee or a glass of good wine or a speciality beer sitting on leather couches, with a newspaper and enjoying the cosy warmth of a wood-burning stove.Arrive with us as a customer, leave as a friend. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Jolyon's Boutique Hotel

Address: 5 Bute Crescent, Cardiff CF10 5AN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Price Range: ₹ 4,901 - ₹ 11,094 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jolyon's Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and HRS so you can book your Jolyon's Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolyons Boutique Cardiff
Hotel Jolyons Boutique
Jolyon's Boutique Hotel Cardiff, Wales
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Jolyon's Boutique Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Melbourne, Australia

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Jolyon's Boutique Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room 2 is amazing”
 of 5 bubbles emma12452016, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The managers are very helpful in providing the particular room/feature you would like.”
 of 5 bubbles Cands22, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I would guess rooms to the rear would be quieter but there is a main road there - keep your window closed!”
 of 5 bubbles Commz, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't waste your money.”
 of 5 bubbles Wanderluster1998, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't have the room on the ground floor on side of hotel number 7 I think”
 of 5 bubbles Madapple13, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay