We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

ML Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
ML Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

122 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 117: English reviews
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

This is a very basic room, up three steep flights of stairs. Basic needs are catered for but this is not somewhere to stay if you're looking for a romantic getaway or a treat. It's fine for a night out with easy access to town centre, preferably alcohol induced so you don't notice the finer details

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dds1990
Simon6567, Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that you have generally enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Chris

Milford Haven, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The ml lodge is terrible. It's run down, dirty , and had no running hot water in sink or shower.i will never stay here again and recommend that no one does.the room was small and just had a bed and small dresser.carpet was threadbare.my wife and I had just 1 cup between the 2 of us.theres no reception.you have to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DavidReynish
Simon6567, Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you have not enjoyed your stay. Each room has a water heater for the hot water and the one in your room became faulty. We gave you a substantial discount for this. It has since been repaired. We have only just taken over the business and we are working on improving it. Kind regards, Chris

Llanelli, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

The hotel has new owners who are currently renovating it but they need to stop rentals until they have done so, stayed there this week our room had damp walls and mould on Windows, yes it's cheap but needs to be sorted, although the bed was clean and had tea making facilities, TV, and hangers they need to sort out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roy J
Simon6567, Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Roy for your feedback. I understand your points. However the only room that had a problem with one of the walls is the one you stayed in. The damage to the drain pipe that caused the problem has now been repaired and the wall will be treated and painted next week. I hope you were satisfied with our...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2016

I don't want to leave a 'bad' review, so I will keep this 'short' and sweet. PROS * Rooms are perfectly adequate and comfortable (though bathrooms really really need an update and the drainage holes in the bathroom floors need cleaning!) *The higher up you go the better the view of Cardiff * For a City Centre location, amazingly cheap....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tim C
Simon6567, Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Tim for your review. I am glad that you generally have enjoyed your time at the ML Lodge. I realise that there are areas that we can improve on. New owners have just taken over and work is planned in the rooms this year. Sadly for the rates charged I doubt we will ever be able to afford...

Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Where do I start? When we arrived the notice on the door told us to go to another hotel across the road to check in. When we had our key and walked in there was a strange smell, a mixture of the 4 different air fresheners that were placed at intervals up the stairs and damp I think. The carpet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lizPu1966
Simon6567, Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

I am sorry that you have not enjoyed your stay. We have ordered a new bed and replaced the shower curtain. All of the rooms are getting painted over the next few months as we have just taken over the business. As communicated before to you, other hotels were available but you found them far too expensive. You stayed not...

Crediton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

We decided 5 days prior to our daughters graduation to stay the night ... As a consequence not much accommodation available ... We had room 4, which was a triple room. You have to check in at the Sandringham Hotel across the road and leave deposit for keys, which I thought a little strange. The room gave us somewhere to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracey R
Simon6567, Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Tracey for your review. We only have nine rooms so we pay to use the hotel's reception opposite us. I suppose you could call this strange but it is located very close and the procedure is listed on all booking sites. You were handed a piece of paper with the Wi-Fi code that also informs you that a...

Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

Today I returned from Cardiff from seeing a sporting event. As a group of family/friends we have returned to this place for the last 3 years. However this year we were very disappointed with the lack of improvements to the place. In the lodge the stair carpet was threadbare, the headboard on my friends bed was so loose it had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire L
Simon6567, Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you felt disappointed this year. We are new owners and are reviewing all areas. The other hotel where you had breakfast has different owners to us but I have passed on your comments. I hope you may reconsider and stay again with us. Kind regards, Chris

Cornwall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

I emailed the owner and he said the room was not that bad and that photographs have a way of making it look worse than it is They gave my daughter another room at the top of the hotel and felt that they had done enough If there had been somewhere else that had a room then my daughter would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tracy579
Simon6567, Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

I am very sorry that your Daughter did not like the first room given. I am glad that she was happier in the second room. It is a shame that you do not recommend us. There were still other hotels available at more than double our price. We try to offer value for money. Kind regards, Chris

Reviewed 18 June 2016

I needed a cheap place to stay overnight for a show at St David's Hall and this was perfect. It was quiet and a two minute walk, if that, to the hall. As I was straying one night and i have no mobility problems, the stairs at the Sandringham and the lodge itself. Plus I was in room one which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ji-s-li83
Simon6567, Owner at ML Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for reviewing us. I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay. The hotel is full every weekend so it is great to read that you found the room peaceful. Hopefully we shall see you again in the future. Kind regards, Chris

Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 June 2016

I needed a quick hotel for one night I literally used it for a place to sleep and a shower Everything seemed to be good, average Only problem was the banging of people coming up the stairs and the fan not working (it was extremely hot day) apart from that i cannot complain

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emma G
Simon6567, Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Emma for your review. I am very happy that you have enjoyed your stay. I am sorry that the fan was not working. I shall get it replaced immediately. Hopefully we shall welcome you again when next in Cardiff. Kind regards, Chris

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.0 km away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#19 of 75 in Cardiff
859 reviews
0.1 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#20 of 75 in Cardiff
1,081 reviews
0.3 km away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#24 of 75 in Cardiff
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
0.4 km away
Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street
0.2 km away
Travelodge Cardiff Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about ML Lodge

Address: 108 St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1DX, Wales (Formerly Millennium Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Price Range: ₹ 2,978 - ₹ 7,580 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — ML Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your ML Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Hotel Cardiff
ML Lodge Cardiff, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from ML Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There is no lift. Room 9 is very high with no staff on site to help with luggage. Room 9's TV does not have channel 4 or 5.”
 of 5 bubbles 270TimC, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
“go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles lizPu1966, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Get a room at the back if you can”
 of 5 bubbles ji-s-li83, 18 Jun 2016 | Read review
“no suitable for disabled”
 of 5 bubbles C3314TJemmag, 6 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Basic, good deals, single room at back nice and quiet,”
 of 5 bubbles darrenwhite577, 15 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay