We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa

Show Prices
#12 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,306 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,247: English reviews
Start your review of Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
 Click to rate
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Friendly restaurant staff for our evening meal, who were happy to help with putting candles onto a birthday cake we brought along. I enjoyed my stay in the hotel, including using the spa - also the advertised rooms with panoramic views lived up to the hype! Wouldn't have thought the Newport Road location could be so impressive.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruesan
Wael E, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review. It was a pleasure to understand that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to play our part in your celebrations. I hope to welcome you back again very soon. Kind regards Wael Elassal

HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

Just returned home yesterday after a 2 night stay. Easy check in, when booking got to choose a preferred check in time, so we could go straight there from the train station. All staff were very polite and helpful. We ate in the restaurant on the Friday night after seeing a poster '30% off before 7pm' so we booked a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank gemma-0505
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Wael E, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review. I am delighted that you and your party enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you may choose to return again very soon. Kind regards Wael Elassal

Devon,UK
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Had a very nice stay at this hotel a couple of nights ago. Check in really speedy and friendly. Room excellent, corner position with nice double aspect views across the city to the countryside. Room was of a very good standard especially the comfy bed. Breakfast excellent, despite it being a busy Saturday morning. Only downside being the slightly expensive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TommyDevon
Wael E, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. I am delighted that you enjoyed an 'excellent stay' and that the highlights for you included the service, room, view, bed and breakfast. I hope that we may be able to welcome your return again very soon. Kind regards Wael Elassal

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Worst hotel I have ever stayed in! Beds are co uncomfortable, the rooms are so out dated, the bathroom was dirty on arrival!! And to top it off the fire alram was going off at half past 6 in the morning for 10 minutes!, I phoned reception the duty manager was very rude started shouting at me down the phone...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Josh B
Wael E, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to understand that you left the Hotel with this impression. Whilst we have a duty to evacuate in the event of a fire alarm to allow investigation and assisting departure from the building, i am sorry that this was a sour point of your stay. Kind regards Wael Elassal

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for a pit stop with husband and daughter (infant) great room - nice and big. Due to arriving late we ate in the hotel restaurant and food was amazing - good choice and lovely - we really enjoyed what was on offer. Only negative was that room service menu choice was very limited.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cgourlay
Wael E, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review. I am delighted that you and your family had a pleasant stay with us and hope that you may choose to return again very soon. Kind regards Wael Elassal

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Recommended to my friend to come for a spa weekend at Holland House as I had a great experience last time. Unfortunately that was not the case this time :( We checked in and were welcomed to a lot of noise and disruption in foyer and corridors due to a wrestling event in the hotel that we were unaware of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KimRog28
Wael E, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that on this occasion, your visit did not meet your expectations. I have discussed your comments with the relevant Departmental Managers and hope that we may be able to welcome you back and to demonstrate our usual high standards. Kind regards Wael Elassal

Swanwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My daughter and I stayed recently for work. Our room was great - large and well appointed and we were able to enjoy a nice swim in the pool. We ate in the restaurant - the evening meal wasn't great but the staff were lovely - especially Louis who was so sweet and helpful :) Breakfast was a better quality...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denise T
Wael E, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and comments. We were pleased to read your feedback and to understand that you had an enjoyable stay with your daughter. I hope that we may be able to welcome you both back again soon. Kind regards Wael Elassal

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel offers luxury at a fair and relatively affordable price. The top floor rooms offer breathtaking views over the city, but even those on the lowest floors have good views. Spa and wellbeing area are both very good. Breakfast was well worth having, too – lots of choice and plenty of fresh continental food, not just cooked breakfasts.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A A
Wael E, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review. It was a real pleasure to read you feedback and I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you will choose to return again very soon. Kind regards Wael Elassal

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen R
Wael E, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Coelbren, Neath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here in March 2017. Check in was ok but the front desk looks a bit like a decorators table rather than a hotel check in. That said, check in was quick and efficient. The bar area is comfortable and spacious and quite relaxing for an evening drink. The room was very comfortable with a good sleep. The hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eric B
Wael E, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit and that you were able to make use of the Hotel services and facilities. I hope that we may have an opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future. Kind regards Wael Elassal

586 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (486)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (129)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (46)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (60)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (211)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (100)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (35)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.8 km away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
0.6 km away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
2,100 reviews
0.8 km away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
2,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 76 in Cardiff
3,564 reviews
0.9 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.1 km away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A 4 star luxury hotel in the centre of Cardiff, 15 min walk from Cardiff Central railway and bus station and a 30 min drive from Cardiff International Airport. The hotel features 165 en suite rooms, the award winning First Floor restaurant, a stylish bar as well as a luxury leisure club and spa. 15 meeting rooms and function suites suitable for hosting conferences, events and weddings. Fibre Optic WiFi internet access. Underground parking available at the hotel at GBP 12.00 per 24 hours (subject to availability). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa

Address: 24-26 Newport Road, Cardiff CF24 0DD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Price Range: ₹ 5,155 - ₹ 17,674 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, ACCOR, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Holland Hotel Cardiff
Accor Holland Hotel Cardiff
Holland House Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel And Spa Wales
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa staff and other travellers.
35 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (35)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stayed on floor 7, only noise was the occasional police siren.”
 of 5 bubbles SevandSal, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“avaoid ones which back onto lifts.”
 of 5 bubbles maxillo, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Best views are at rear of hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 313ianj, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upper floors...great views of Cardiff”
  • Smart Bedrooms
 of 5 bubbles paulwebb50, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I think each room had a veiw, we were overlooking the back, so didnt have a very interesting veiw.”
 of 5 bubbles JoR19, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5