We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Wynford Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Wynford Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

148 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Wynford Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 144: English reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed here over the weekend of 29th July for a friends stag doo and I have to admit after one of the lads booking it I was very sceptical of what to expect especially after reading some of the reviews on here. I have to say though those ppl moaning and complaining are completely must not understand its primary...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank RParry88
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2016

I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE IF YOU WANT TO SLEEP We only stayed at this hotel for one night, and my god am I glad that we weren't subjected to it for longer. We got back to our room at around midnight. Our room was literally shaking with the bass of the nightclub below. You could hear every single...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank natpalit
andrew1963, Owner at Wynford Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. We go to great lengths to tell everyone about the noise. I note you booked thru Booking.com. All our bookings made via Booking.com clearly state about the nightclub on your booking confirmation. We are nearly always full to capacity every weekend so we wouldn't have had any room available to move you....

Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

Okay so this wasn't the ritz. But it was exactly what we were after. £40 each and a few minutes ride in a cab to the centre which cost a max of £5 a time. Lovely HOT HIGH PRESSURE shower and even a flushing toilet. Beds seemed to be fairly comfortable as i slept like a baby! We were able...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank dotty f
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

Having a nightclub on site is fine, only if it does not fundamentally undermine the concept of a hotel (i.e. a place to sleep). The room was literally vibrating most of the night, making the mere thought of sleep impossible. Oh, and the shower wasn't working either

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James A
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

I don't think this hotel is trying to be anything other than a cheap hotel but it does that very well. A great place for stag and hen do's or a cheap stay. Very close to the Quay and other attractions. There is a nightclub attached to the hotel open at the weekends, popular with the locals. The bar downstairs...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael I
Reviewed 18 July 2016

We stayed here for a hen weekend easy to find private secure parking easy walking distance of the town centre. Amazing warm friendly very helpful staff couldn't do enough to help us during our stay. The breakfasts are a must! Thankyou for looking after us we hope to see you again!

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Karen Y
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 July 2016

We stayed here for one night whilst visiting Cardiff for a stag night. The rooms were basic but clean, the bar was OK (despite the lack of good single malts!) and breakfast was good. There was a free car park but it was full when I got there and street parking was difficult. The wifi didn't seem to work well...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Yanitch
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel recently for a hen do. Really clean rooms, decor is nice and up to date, shower was powerful and warm, there was an iron in the room, breakfast was lovely. Was a ten minute walk from cardiff centre so perfect for shopping and a night out. If your feet hurt then the taxi was about...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Rebecca S
andrew1963, Owner at Wynford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the review. We really appreciate it when guests take time out to write positively about the hotel. I am glad you had a good time and I will pass your comments on to the two Nathans! We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 29 May 2016

Booking a hotel for a stag do, is a difficult task. Not one that takes the usual things I would be looking for, like sleep and amenities. More a case of having a working bar open very, very late. A night club nearby, close enough to the city centre's bars and a banging breakfast. This one fits the bill for...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Julian S
surrey uk
Reviewed 25 April 2016

On a stag weekend. Group of 12 of us over the weekend! Clean and tidy, bedrooms recently decorated. A couple of problems with the rooms were sorted out without fuss. It felt like the staff were really trying to provide a service as best as they could to make the hotel work.. The area was not that great but only...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank holidayspecial33

7 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.3 km away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
1.3 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#37 of 75 in Cardiff
120 reviews
0.7 km away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#20 of 75 in Cardiff
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#19 of 75 in Cardiff
1,081 reviews
0.8 km away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#24 of 75 in Cardiff
747 reviews
1.2 km away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#25 of 75 in Cardiff
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Wynford Hotel is very conveniently located within a few minutes walk of the city centre and all its facilities. Located on Clare Street which is one of the main arterial roads in and out of the city. This is a 40 bedroomed hotel with a range of different room styles. We have a residents bar open everyday from 10.00am until 5.00am the next day (residents only). As well as breakfast we offer a range of freshly prepared bar meals every evening. At weekends the hotel becomes the place for party people and a warm welcome is extended to Stag & Hen groups as well as everyone else. A word of warning though, if you are looking for a quiet weekend away then this is not the place for you. Throughout the week the hotel offers an excellent base for tourists and business travellers alike, with the City centre on our doorstep. With a range of recently refurbished rooms with Plasma TVs, a good standard of accommodation is offered with the benefit of free wireless internet. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wynford Hotel

Address: Clare Street, Cardiff CF11 6BD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Price Range: ₹ 3,168 - ₹ 11,795 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Wynford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wynford Hotel Cardiff, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wynford Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quiet rooms are available.”
 of 5 bubbles Rygbigogledd, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stay away from the whole hotels, but if you have to stay here, ask for a room away from the nightclub.”
 of 5 bubbles natpalit, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Get away from the club, if you can!!”
 of 5 bubbles holidayspecial33, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
“More of a b&b then a hotel”
 of 5 bubbles dclee1968, 27 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles rolandc991, 3 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay