We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

New House Country Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
Panoramas (16)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

542 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 535: English reviews
Start your review of New House Country Hotel
 Click to rate
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A superb wedding venue. Excellent food, attentive staff and lovely large bedrooms. We were lucky to have a beautiful sunny day so the Canales and drinks were taken outside near the fountain. The views are spectacular. Such a wonderful location.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank aperry54
Great Missenden UK
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I booked a four poster room online and duly received my e-mail confirmation by return. On the day of check in, however, I was disappointed to discover they had no record of my reservation. Not what I wanted to hear, after an early start, a 140 mile drive and a day of sightseeing in Cardiff. The hotel was busy as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RandJSmith
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your most recent stay with us at The New House. I do apologise once again for the error which was made in your booking not being in our PMS system, although as you quite rightly say we were able to find your details from our channel manager...

Nottingham
Reviewed 1 week ago

It is an old property with plenty of character which stands on a hill so it has a wonderful view out to sea over Cardiff. The rooms are large and nicely furnished with spacious bathroom with shower over the bath. There are tea and coffee making facilities and they also gave hot chocolate but the biscuits were not very impressive....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blacktrunk
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us, we do appreciate all comments. We have within the last week changed our bedroom biscuits to lovely Tan Y Castell Shortbread due to feedback.

Cardiff
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed there night before getting married. Staff were helpful. However hotel wasnt in the best condition. They could have offered complementary drinks on arrival as i was staying in the bridal suite and i had to ask for bathrobes

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 709melanien
Cardiff
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel staff were very friendly & helpful. The evening meal in the restaurant was exceptional. The rooms was spacious and very clean. fantastic views across Cardiff bay. I will definitely be staying here again in the future.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 560kristianm
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us at The New House, I am glad you enjoyed all aspects of your time with us. I do hope you will be back to visit in the future.

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed here on Business, Hotel was not at all helpful with getting to local places. I was told. Breakfast was included in the Rate upon booking. But once I then arrived at the Hotel they explained that this would be an extra charge. I have come away extremely disappointed

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathleenandjohn50
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for writing a review regarding your recent stay, and I am sorry you did not feel the hotel was helpful in assisting you. If you would like to contact me on my email alix@newhousehotel.com and advise me how you booked your accommodation I can then look into why breakfast was initially included and then not on...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Both my husband and I stayed for a night last week as a birthday treat. We were both blown away by the views, room and service we had. All the staff are amazing, the rooms were excellent. Boasting wonderful views overlooking Cardiff, from our balcony ( the bed was so comfy-best night sleep in ages..) The new menu is lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikea1970
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review regarding your recent stay, it sounds like you had an enjoyable time and you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. It is lovely to have hear good feedback regarding the new menu and I am so glad you enjoyed the food, from what I have seen...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a wonderful afternoon tea on Saturday. The best one I have had. Have been to many including some in top hotels but this was by far the best. We asked for the smoked salmon sandwiches to be changed to ham which they happily did. There were also an assortment of other finger sandwiches, warm scones with jam and clotted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RMR64
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for writing a lovely review regarding your afternoon tea, I am glad you had an enjoyable afternoon. I do hope you will be back for another visit soon!

Welshpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

So, we stayed for two nights in a beautiful, clean, well appointed room with a hypnos bed ( just dreamy). I detest uht milk and on arrival asked housekeeping if I could have proper milk and Earl Grey teabags in our room, 5 minutes later it was there and a constant top up as and when we required more. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie M
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay for your nieces wedding, it certainly sounds like you had a memorable time. I am glad the hotel was able to cater to your requirements, and you were able to enjoy the amazing views we have over Cardiff. I do hope you will consider...

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just a quick stop on business schedule, the room was ok apart from the shower that really need some update, the dinner was very nice as well, the only negative point in my opinion was the fact that they don't offer Continental breakfast option and to pay £10.50 for a couple of toasts and a coffee is to expensive. Overall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oliveira_Vieira
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay. The point you have raised concerning a continental breakfast price is a point well made and I will be sure to raise this with the General Manager. I do hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.

509 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (143)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (39)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (342)
Viewed
Amenities (29)
Viewed
Charlotte Room (55)
Viewed
Countess Room Bridal Suite (70)
Viewed
Large Standard Room (46)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Standard Room (44)
Viewed
The Hotel (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
7.1 km away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
7.8 km away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#3 of 76 in Cardiff
2,138 reviews
7.8 km away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#10 of 76 in Cardiff
2,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
2,034 reviews
8.6 km away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
10.4 km away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 76 in Cardiff
3,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on the fringes of Cardiff nestling amongst the Welsh hills, the privately owned 4 star New House Country Hotel & Sequoias Restaurant boasts unrivalled views over the city and beautiful Vale of Glamorgan. The open fires, exquisite furnishings, fully equipped function suites, beautifully restored bedrooms and the stunning Sequoias restaurant combine to create the perfect atmosphere in which to relax and unwind. ... more   less 

Additional Information about New House Country Hotel

Address: Thornhill Road, Cardiff CF14 9UA, Wales (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS New House Country Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Price Range: ₹ 7,030 - ₹ 16,044 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New House Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your New House Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cardiff
Cardiff Best Western
New House Country Hotel Cardiff, Wales
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from New House Country Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from New House Country Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Views across the front of the hotel, or to the city are best”
  • Lounge view
  • Whole view before the weather closed in
BruceNB, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 1 was excellent.”
Traveller7979, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The rooms with southern views across the countryside are recommended”
NigelM9, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had Room 13, which faces the beautiful view at the front of the hotel. The view is fabulous, so do specify that when booking.”
JennyP415, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 12 has a balcony with fabulous views”
sandraelizabetht, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5