We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The St. David's Hotel

2.3 km from Cardiff centre
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
Havannah Street, Cardiff CF10 5SD, Wales
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,497 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 3,469: English reviews
Staines, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

I travel the world for work and stay in at least one hotel each week so I do have high expectations - however I couldn't really fault this in any way. The staff all seemed happy and always said hello, breakfast buffet was of a high quality with a lovely ambiance. The bar drinks were not to overly priced which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LERK1985
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

One night break away with work Lovely room, nicely set out View over the bay, shame about the fog Bar for a snack and a drink and breakfast the following morning Well priced and attentive service Would recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richardc1970
Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband and I stayed in a Deluxe room which was compact, comfortable and had a lovely view over Cardiff Bay. The robes provided were not generous in size, our room was missing slippers and the coffee tray had no biscuits. The restaurant is in an area at the end of the bar, we found the restaurant noisy as there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this hotel, the reception staff very efficient and hospitable. Booked a superior king room with a view over the bay, bed was very comfortable and bathroom was very clean with all the usual shampoos etc, fantastic bath towels, really fluffy and soft. Breakfast was the usual self service with plenty of choice. The spa and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Took the family to this hotel for a couple of days to relax and enjoy Cardiff. Parking at the hotel is limited but there is more parking next door at the same rate of £15 for 24 hrs. Excessive but what can you do... Breakfast at the hotel was disappointing- the cooked food and clearing of plates mostly. The beacon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
Treorchy, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My daughter bought me a stay and spa day last week. First time for us to stay in this hotel. What a wounderful hotel, from the time we checked in until we left! The room we had was a suit which was fabulous with excellent views and Maldives's balcony. with a bath and walk in shower which I had requested...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denise T
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Denise T Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us with all aspects of the hotel I do hope it is not too long before we welcome you back. Kind regards Graeme Barclay General Manager

Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Having stayed here on the 17/2/17 in any deluxe suite this was very poor state the carpets were stained shower was like a pool as water everywhere? Hotel has really gone down hill and needs major up dating ? Won't be returning at this cost of £300 per night

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fisherpro
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear fisherpro Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am sorry that the hotel did not live up to your expectations, please accept my sincere apologies for your disappointment, we will soon be embarking on major renovations to the whole hotel so the issues you have identified will be addressed. Kind regards Graeme Barclay General Manager

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Don't get me wrong, it is a nice hotel in a fantastic area with lots to do very nearby. Not far from Cardiff bay train station at all. Even on the first floor the views are lovely. But I have to agree with the reviews on here. Incredibly dated and tired in my room. Broken tiles on the bathroom floor....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carly251016
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carly251016 Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am sorry that the hotel did not live up to your expectations in both décor and the quality of breakfast, your comments regarding breakfast has been forwarded to the Restaurant Manager to discuss with his team and action accordingly. The hotel will very shortly be embarking on...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Have stayed here several times and now out of the hotels in Cardiff I have stayed in Cardiff (we have stayed at Park Plaza, Marriott, Jolyon’s Number 10,Jurys Inn, the Royal over the last few years) this would be our preferred choice. Rooms are comfortable (although not huge), and it is nice to be away from the main mayhem of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IncognitoJones
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear by IncognitoJones Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am sorry you were allocated a room next to a noisy lift and would like to apologise for the obvious upset caused to you. You mention that you are coming back in a few weeks’ time, please contact our Guest Relations department on stdavids.guestrelations@thestdavidshotel.com and give...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I had great hopes for this hotel, and the view from the room was definitely met. Absolutely lovely view from the big windows, you cannot beat that. The location is nice, close to some restaurants and interesting buildings such as the parliament. Other than that, this is not really a five star hotel. Our room was spacious but run down...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria M

1,423 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1169)
Viewed
View from Room (138)
Viewed
Room/Suite (197)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (191)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (570)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (248)
Viewed
Amenities (47)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Bedroom (48)
Viewed
Executive Master Suite (72)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
2.6 km away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 75 in Cardiff
2,074 reviews
2.6 km away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 75 in Cardiff
2,814 reviews
1.8 km away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
1.0 km away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.9 km away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The St. David's Hotel is situated on the waterfront of Cardiff Bay. Dynamic and contemporary in style, the hotel incorporates an impressive floor-to-ceiling, glass-backed atrium that provides a vision of space and natural light. All bedrooms have private balconies and waterfront views. Just five minutes from the centre of Cardiff, St David's Hotel is adjacent to Mermaid Quay with a wide range of entertainment including The Wales Millennium Centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The St. David's Hotel

Address: Havannah Street, Cardiff CF10 5SD, Wales (Formerly The St. David's Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Price Range: ₹ 7,255 - ₹ 19,012 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. David's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The St. David's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. David`s Hotel Cardiff
St Davids Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff St Davids Hotel
St Davids Cardiff
The St. David's Hotel Cardiff, Wales
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#21 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The St. David's Hotel staff and other travellers.
37 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (37)

Questions? Get answers from The St. David's Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in room 401 which was a suit excellent views and facilities”
 of 5 bubbles 940deniset, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from lift area”
 of 5 bubbles IncognitoJones, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Request a bay view”
 of 5 bubbles jonathanh929, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors for the best views. Not sure if all rooms have a bay view.”
 of 5 bubbles MikeRB186265, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“just ask for the view of Cardiff Bay”
  • View from room 209
 of 5 bubbles Alicearmy, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5