We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa
BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

665 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 657: English reviews
MERTHYR TYDFIL
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Lovely welcome. Very warm room 15 uncomfortable in the evening. Pool area lovely. Felt 25 min treatment rushed as ladies finishing work at 7pm. Evening meal was awful, raw fish put on top of oily salad and extra deep fried croutons, Rosti hard and tasteless the sweetest carrots I've ever tasted so I didn't opt for desert Yuk!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DEBBIETHOMAS
Heronston01, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, I am please to read you had a lovely welcoming and you thought the pool area was lovely. I am sorry to read your room was hot and you didn't enjoy your evening meal. I hope you will return in future so we are able to improve your perception of the hotel especially...

Chester, UK
Reviewed 19 August 2016

Spent four nights here as a family with two small children during school holidays. We specifically chose this hotel on the layout of the family bedroom. Most family rooms are just a bit larger with a couple of small beds virtually next to the double. Room 75 was a large room and the layout made it feel like it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PGTips1206
Heronston01, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review, I am very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay, especially the pool area. I will pass your kind words onto the team we will be very happy. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future. Kind regards General Manager

London(Wimbledon)
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Came to the hotel, having booked a spa package. Our room was ok and the bed was fine. It did smell a bit musty The spa is very good, I liked the lighting. The package included a half hour beauty session. I opted for the head massage, which was in my opinion a waste of time. The young lady just...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wimbledone
Heronston01, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review, I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay especially your dinner. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards General Manager

Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2016

stayed here on 16/08/2016 , for mine and my wife's anniversary night and had asked for exactly the same room ,as we had stayed here 3 years previously , on our wedding night , and i asked for a bottle of champagne in the room ready at a specific time and it was there , the staff couldn't do enough...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank whooper316
Heronston01, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your very kind review, I am very pleased to read you had such an enjoyable stay and enjoyed every part of it. We look forward to welcoming you back for future anniversaries. Kind regards General manager

South Wales
Reviewed 16 August 2016

We live locally and have heard mixed reports on this hotel, I must say I was a little hesitant to the whole experience when we were given a gift voucher as a present but were pleasantly surprised, room was comfortable but without a view but .The evening meal was much better than expected, breakfast was good the following morning and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Team_Flappa_2010
Heronston01, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay including your evening meal, breakfast and treatments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards General Manager

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2016

Good hotel which was clean and comfortable and our stay there was greatly enhanced by the helpful, friendly staff who went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The breakfast was very good and really appreciated.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NormaH39
Heronston01, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review, I am really pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay, the team will be thrilled with your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards General Manager

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

We arrived later than anticipated due to work commitments and unfortunately had already made a reservation for dinner. On entering our room I was so happy and excited about our stay. The bathroom alone was incredible Complete relaxation in absolute comfortable idyllic scenery. We honestly couldn't of asked for anything more...breakfast was lovely & fulfilling; the spa completed our stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sianmorgan3
Heronston01, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review, I am pleased to read you enjoyed all areas of your stay including your bedroom, meals and the spa. We look forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing stay. Kind regards General Manager

london
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

We 2 nights for a family event and were happy with our stay. We were in a superior room which was very large and easily accommodated 2 fold up beds for our small children, our huge bed and a sofa etc. Not all rooms were newly renovated as ours was. We ate in the restaurant and it was ok not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Newlyweds22
Heronston01, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your review, I am pleased to read you liked the superior bedroom and thought the hotel was good for a three star. You also like the location - close to the beach. I am sorry the breakfast sausages we have chosen were not to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back in the...

Reviewed 7 August 2016

I booked a room as a relative was using their hall for an anniversary party. I stayed for a total of 2 nights and thank god I didn't stay any longer. Their Service in general is alright, they are attentive and deal with any problems promptly but they really could use a decent chef. The food could not even earn...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shareen B
Heronston01, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, I am please to read you thought the rooms and spa were good and the service was attentive. I am surprised at your comments concerning your relatives anniversary hot fork buffet, especially as it was requested to take all of the food home that was left and I have personally spoken to the...

Caerphilly County, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Stayed here for two nights , rooms and general deco need up dating , rooms extremely hot and stuffy , could be noisy could hear the television on in other rooms and a lot of noise from the people on the upper floor . Staff friendly and helpful however , I did want a soft drink from the bar on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhianjackiewelshladi
Heronston01, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, I am sorry you were not fully satisfied with your bedroom. I can confirm the hotel is currently going through a refurbishment programme and all the standards rooms are part of this refurbishment plan. Hope you will stay again in the future, in one of our newly refurbished bedrooms. Kind regards General Manager

291 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (85)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (24)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (200)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Bridal Suite (28)
Viewed
Pool (2)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Standard Double and single (22)
Viewed
Standard Family Room (23)
Viewed
Superior Kingsize (26)
Viewed
Superior Queensize (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridgend hotels
1.5 km away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 9 in Bridgend
344 reviews
4.2 km away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#4 of 9 in Bridgend
624 reviews
4.3 km away
Premier Inn Bridgend Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
The Great House Hotel
The Great House Hotel
#5 of 9 in Bridgend
268 reviews
4.4 km away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#3 of 9 in Bridgend
367 reviews
5.0 km away
Days Inn Bridgend Cardiff M4
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa is the ideal location for both business and pleasure. The hotel is located in a semi rural area, but only half a mile from Bridgend town centre and minutes from Junction 35 of the M4. We are within easy reach of the dramatic Heritage Coastline and equidistant from our vibrant capital city of Cardiff & the cosmopolitan city of Swansea. The hotel boasts 75 well appointed non smoking bedrooms including Standard and Superior rooms and Suites. Ewennys Bar & Grill is the perfect place for pre dinner drinks or to order a light snack or bar meal. Our Crane Restaurant offers a Seasonal Menu and all food served is sourced locally and prepared and cooked freshly. We are able to offer a range of conference facilities from a small meeting for 2 up to a conference for 200 with all audio and visual requirements catered for. We have several banqueting suites which can cater for 8 up to 240 guests and our coordinators would be delighted to help assist you in organising your event. Our Herons Leisure Club offers an indoor heated pool, sauna, steam room, spa pool and fully equipped gym. The pool area has been fitted with mood lighting, the ideal area to relax after a busy day. Our new Hotel Spa offers a range of male and female spa and beauty treatments at very competitive prices. Here at the BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa, we are always mindful that 'our aim is to welcome you back'. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa

Address: Ewenny Road, Bridgend CF35 5AW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Bridgend
Price Range: ₹ 4,581 - ₹ 7,461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HRS, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cardiff
Bridgend Best Western
Best Western Bridgend
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bridgend
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms appear a good size.”
 of 5 bubbles elainethomas012015, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles pamR423, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms are not yet refurbished at the time of writing. I paid a small fee to upgrade, well worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles L737FXchristiner, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“19 is a good twin bed room opposite the spa.”
 of 5 bubbles reddoggolfred, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 63 excellent, large suoerking bed and modern bathroom, quiet”
 of 5 bubbles vlloyd03, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5