We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Vagabond

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Vagabond
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Vagabond
See the most recent reviews
Showing 165: English reviews
Malvern, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I planned a weekend away mountain biking with a group of mates for my 40th birthday. The Vagabond is in a great location and it's easy to get to some of the trails in North Wales. We rode out on the Friday to do the Marin Trail Saturday we went to Coed-Y-Brenin (about 35mins away) Sunday we did Antur Stiniog...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DStar-LED
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We've stayed in many hostels across the UK and Europe and were disappointed with the Vagabond. There are a few misleading points on the website. The general cleanliness and upkeep of the place is poor. The kitchen is large, but not well equipped for self catering and has no personal food storage facilities. The bar and evening meals are probably...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ManyAplace
vagabondbetwsycoed, Owner at The Vagabond, responded to this review

Hi manyAplace, thanks for your review are deeply sorry we did not come up to your expectations. Still shocked at the dirty remarks as we clean top to bottom most days. I do all the cooking for the Vagabond and I must say that it has everything required to cook for 36 people. We have a large fridge in the...

Reviewed 22 August 2013

Having stayed at the vagabond last weekend I have to say the place was fantastic, the manager was very pleasant and couldn't go enough for us all. The rooms were comfortable and clean and other guests friendly and considerate. The bar was a little noisy but that's what bars are isn't it? Wasn't in my view that bad it needs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dazinbrum
vagabondbetwsycoed, Owner at The Vagabond, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review Daz. Kind Regards Neil

Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Initially looking at the reviews it seemed that they are either great or poor. Having visited The Vagabond I can now confirm that everything complained about in the poor reviews is correct. The place is dirty, with poor facilities, cheap sheets that bobble and cheap matresses. There are only a few sockets for charging things. It is very noisy, and...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank mandyw66
vagabondbetwsycoed, Owner at The Vagabond, responded to this review

Hi Mandy, Sorry to see that you did not enjoy your stay at the Vagabond. We take all complaints very seriously. Please feel free to ring me and let me know what further improvements you would like. The Manager did say it was noisy that evening so on behalf of the Vagabond we are sorry you did not have a...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Fabulous location. The staff couldn't do enough to help. Great atmosphere. Helpful suggestions for things to do in the local area.I felt very welcome from the moment I arrived. I will certainly be returning, hopefully before long. I would recommend this place without reservation to people travelling by themselves or in groups.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 949travellingJo949
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Stayed here over 2 nights as a base for climbing Snowdon. Our group consisted around 15 kids and the same amount of adults. All ages for catered for brilliantly. Full English breakfast was excellent. Kitchen facilities were great. The rooms were clean and tidy as were the shower facilities. Mark the Manager looked after us all brilliantly. Great place to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pam G
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the vagabond with a couple of my friends. We were on a mountain biking holiday and we found the vagabond bunkhouse a brilliant place to stay, with very friendly staff and a lovely atmosphere. The rooms were very clean and tidy. Wash facilities, also very clean and always a hot shower to come back to after the days...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ivankendellen
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This was my first experience of bunk house accommodation. The bottom line is that for two nights, one dinner and two breakfasts the bill was £60, great value. Against that, we were 6 to the room, there are no ensuite facilities etc, etc. However, what do you do get is a very sociable bunch of people, good storage for your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas G
Sidmouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 May 2013

As the organiser of a group of 14 and having never stayed at the Vagabond before you can imagine my apprehension on arrival. However I very quickly realised that I had nothing to worry about, Mark the Manager could not do enough to help us settle in and on quick inspection you could easily see that the place was nice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richard B
Devon, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Stayed here with a large group of fellow mountain bikers recently. Hosts were very friendly and helpful, rooms were clean and tidy and the food was excellent. The bar was also good value and welcoming (we never made it to any of village pubs!). At £30 pp including breakfast and dinner it was very good value. The surrounding area is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DorsetCakequeen

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.2 km away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
604 reviews
0.4 km away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
482 reviews
0.6 km away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
435 reviews
0.3 km away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
623 reviews
0.6 km away
Craig-y-Dderwen
Craig-y-Dderwen
#4 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Vagabond

Address: Craiglan Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 OAW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: ₹ 1,930 - ₹ 4,700 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Vagabond 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Vagabond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vagabond Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Vagabond staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't accept room 1-grim! 2 & 3 are nicer and refurbished.”
 of 5 bubbles rachelt390, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Top floor room have best views.”
 of 5 bubbles lushy4, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“You don't really get a choice of room but rooms at the top and front of the building have the best views... and the most stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles jamiea672, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“front rooms in the house give you fab views”
 of 5 bubbles jacquelinesmith99, 5 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Room 1 & 3 (I'm told) don't have electrical outlets. Dont know about the others. Room 1 has a noisy faucet.”
 of 5 bubbles Becks19, 25 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay