We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chainbridge Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Chainbridge Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

769 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 768: English reviews
Start your review of Chainbridge Hotel
 Click to rate
New Ferry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have just returned from a quick stay in Berwyn at this wonderful hotel. The staff were so friendly and helpful , the view were stunning from the hotel bar & outdoor area and from the room balcony. We had Sunday Roast lunch which was also tasty and well presented. The views to the bridge and river were great and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fineogs
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review

Many thansk for your great review - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were impressed with the staff, setting and food. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards Seamus

Staffordshire, England
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We've just returned from a 2 night stay earlier this week which we really enjoyed. The hotel is lovely and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Special thanks to the young waitress at breakfast who was very pleasant and efficient and the breakfast was lovely both days with plenty of choice.I love hotels that are a bit different to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hadleys
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay - we're very pleased you enjoyed it. The waitress will be particularly pleased with your comments, as will all of the staff who served you so well. We're delighted that you enjoyed your breakfasts and meals, and of course made the most of our wonderful location. It's...

Brownhills, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed last August and loved the Hotel but had a less than perfect experience with another guest. We were very generously offered another night which we booked as part of a 3 night stay. This time we had a smaller room than our first stay (number12) but it was no less comfortable and as we didn't spend much time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan F
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your extensive and detailed review - most informative to all! We are very pleased that on returning to the hotel for a second visit you have seen further changes and improvements, and most importantly, that you enjoyed yourselves. We will look forward to welcoming you back later in the year, and thanks once again for your generous...

Lancashire
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from a lovely Easter break at the Chainbridge. We were in a canal facing room which appeared to have been recently renovated. It was spacious, comfortable and very clean as well as being quiet. Only one minor issue - there wasn't a wardrobe or any hanging space in the room. However plenty of drawer space so not really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 50isthenew40_9
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the review - we are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and that the meals you had, and the real ale, were well received. We're grateful too for your kind - but most deserved - praise for the staff. We're very pleased to know that you'll return in future and we look forward to welcoming...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff were friendly, hard-working and polite without exception. The view from the bedroom and restaurant, over the river towards the steam train station and bridges is superb. The hotel is also a very short drive, or pleasant walk along the canal path, from Llangollen. Negative points are very minor - it would help to have stronger wifi throughout the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Setter40
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your stay with us. The staff work incredibly hard and will be delighted with your comments. We are of course very glad that you enjoyed the hotel's location, and we are trying to work to improve the WIFI we can offer guests. We hope to welcome you back in future. Kind regards Seamus

Penzance, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed a couple of weeks back for two nights, along side a friend who is a regular visitor to your establishment, and found your staff very polite, helpful and a joy to be around. The hotels' position benefits views and interest from all angles, especially if you venture around the area for walks and sightseeing. In addition to this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank skinpirates
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your very kind review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed so many aspects of the hotel and to read that you will return to the hotel in future is wonderful! All of the staff work hard to give our guests the best possible time with us, and your comments will be much appreciated by all. Kind...

State of Mato Grosso do Sul
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First Visit and I have to say the last!!! No very pleasant front of the house to start !! VERY NICE MENU but bad executed bland and over cooked food !!! That's say all , and the staff never came in our table to check if was ok !!! wrong cutlery for the dishes ... very disappointed experience such a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank pinkypanther2001
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were disappointed by your visit to the hotel. If you would be kind enough to email reception@chainbridgehotel.com with details of when you came to the hotel, who you were served by, and what you ate then I will have a little more information to work on, which will allow me to deal with the issues...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel has the most amazing location and views of the River Dee and heritage railway line. The staff in the restaurant are upbeat and friendly. We stayed for 2 nights and had a meal in restaurant on first evening, which was OK. When we sat down for breakfast on first morning we had odd jobs being done right behind...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Caroline W
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review

I'm very sorry for the issues you encountered during your stay, which I am disappointed to read about in your review. We often use a buffet for breakfast and of course the choice of items should not have been cold in any way. On Sunday, as we had 120 people coming to the hotel for lunch, we did try to...

Bucknell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

We booked the suite (room 19) which is a lovely room overlooking the river with a double balcony, although half of the balcony is blocked off. The room has a king size bed, comfortable settee and 2 upright chairs. Plenty of storage and a very clean and good sized bathroom with shower over the bath. The only downside was a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan F
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. I am very pleased that so many aspects of your stay were enjoyable and I'm also grateful for the comments you provide that will allow us to further improve the hotel. We always endeavour to listen to our guests, and make changes that will further enhance their time with us. We hope to welcome you...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Situated overlooking the rushing river Dee, this is an ideal spot for a hotel. The chain bridge itself, closed off for many years, has been reopened and provides easy access to the railway station for the steam railway. The hotel itself is looking great too, and the meal we had in the restaurant was excellent. Lovely room facing the river....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynn T
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your positive review following your recent stay with us. We are very glad that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel and our wonderful location here on the banks of the Dee! It's very pleasing to know that you'd highly recommend the hotel, and we hope that we will welcome you back in the future. Kind regards...

316 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (298)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (84)
Viewed
View from Room (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (49)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (85)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
0.8 km away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
740 reviews
2.0 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
433 reviews
5.3 km away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
254 reviews
2.1 km away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#4 of 10 in Llangollen
376 reviews
1.4 km away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Chainbridge Hotel

Address: Berwyn, Llangollen LL20 8BS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Price Range: ₹ 7,886 - ₹ 8,920 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chainbridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Chainbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chain Bridge Llangollen
Hotel Chain Bridge
Chainbridge Hotel Llangollen, Wales
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Llangollen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Llangollen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chainbridge Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Chainbridge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“1st or 2nd floor rooms with balcony overlooking river ideal”
kevinr97, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Front rooms are river facing with the view across and to the railway station, the rear rooms are canal facing.”
Rogersmax1, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We chose a room with a river view. Which we were more than pleased with. There are also room with views out onto the canal.”
324wendyt, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“excellent if you like sleeping in a sauna”
IanAlton, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Be sure to book a riverside room.”
Gowyholy, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5